WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
 
Your review has been submitted !

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted !

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

USD INR

₹ 66.62

USD PHP

₱ 48.35

USD MXN

Mex$ 19.91

MoneyGram Money Transfer Reviews

Useless Customer
Posted on November 10, 2016, 10:57 am

I had an online MoneyGram account and because I did not use it for a few months got locked out. I called the Customer No Service line 50 times only to be rerouted to India or the Philipines where they will read you a canned script and then tell you to try in 24 hours to request a new password. When you ask for a supervisor or manager you are informed there is none and try to call in 24 hours. Online MoneyGram accounts sucks big time and Customer Service (or lack of) is a million times worst!

 
Eetta_9
Posted on May 17, 2016, 10:23 pm

Very poor Customer support and all from foreign countries with no understanding of how to talk to a customer. Be careful because they can hold your money for a very long time and will not send it

 
mngangalur
Posted on February 13, 2016, 12:36 am

I have used multiple money transfer sites and have had one or other issues. However moneygram is becoming my favorite. I have gone through others' comments here but I haven't faced any problem though. Sometimes big amount transfer is declined due to security purposes. It was resolved as soon as I called them up and I didn't wait long to speak with customer rep. too. So it's been good experience with moneygram so far.

 
janny-007.93
Posted on January 27, 2016, 11:09 am

If that was possible to rate this company -5, I would. This is the WORST way for you to send the money, especially abroad. I sent some money for a gift for my mom to Russia. The policy says she can pick it up at any bank with moneygram service. Okay. So, she drives up to each and every spot there and... They say their "Moneygram program" is not working, so she can't get the money! She couldn't receive my money for TWO WEEKS, trying to find the spot with the working program. (While the moneygram says she can get it at any Moneygram bank in Russia. She lives in a big city, there is a bunch of Moneygram banks,but non if them are actually working!) After all, she finally finds one where they agree to give her my money, but... Only in Rubbles. While I sent it in $ and put a request in my order for her to receive it in the same value... She's glad they finally got the money either way, cause it took FOREVER for her to find a moneygram bank which actually works. I'm very disappointed in thi

 
champnish89
Posted on December 28, 2015, 07:51 am

This is the worst money transfer service of all. First they register you successfully on the portal by taking identity proof, last 4 digit of social. Then you transfer the money hoping that everything was alright. Suddenly you recieve a mail that the transfer was not a success. They immediately delete the online account that you created taking away a chance to erase your personal data like bank acc no, 4 digit social, identity info. They provide a number to contact through mail and then when you call the number, you would go through a worst call of your life with the customer care representatives. They hang up the phone on asking the basic question to have your login enabled. All i asked them was to send a mail that my account has been closed. I need to show a lot of patience and at last was connected to customer care supervisor. They finally agreed to send an email but not with proper wordings. Thank you moneygram for the worst remittance service you offered.

 
vipinsaini3032
Posted on December 25, 2015, 07:24 am

Really never go for moneygram...to confirm transaction i called customer care. they kept me on hold for more than 30 min and transferred for verification at least 4 people. Later they was not sure . Though I transferred to receiver account they said receiver has to go and pick money from office.Still money is not transferred..planing to cancel.Genuine advise ..never go for moneygram.

 
th_kumar
Posted on December 18, 2015, 12:35 pm

I sent money on Dec 16th and no money was transferred and I tried through credit card the payment of 2999 but unfortunately money did not reach my account in India and the users in MoneyGram have little knowledge on how transactions take place and finally the transactions got cancelled and they said it would take 2 weeks to get back the money to my credit card. I am keeping the fingers crossed and tensed up. Not sure will I get back or not. So do not send through this site and it is really very bad..

 
unnimk
Posted on December 11, 2015, 09:10 pm

Be very careful while sending money using debit card. In moneygram, your data are not at all secured . I lost my USD 400 today as somebody did a fake debitcard transaction (retail money gram transaction) with my card details. I never shared my debit card details to anybody otherthan Moneygram. Be very careful

 
darendooley
Posted on November 24, 2015, 05:57 pm

Money gram is by the worst money transfer service available. Not only is it going on day 50 for a refund from a transaction that could not be picked up by my receiver bc of there screw up, I had to call to inquire why the refund hadn't been made and was placed on hold 5x and hung up on before I actually got to speak to someone that I could barely understand a word that was spoken... I'll never use there services AGAIN!!!!!! I don't give it 1 star I I've it -5.....

 
reachtosai08
Posted on November 24, 2015, 05:32 am

It is the worst. I transfered my money to india. But the recipient havent received it. The money is still with moneygram. They haven't given my money back yet. The customer service is the worst. This should be sued. Never ever use moneygram to send ur money. u will never get it back

 
Dr1979
Posted on November 21, 2015, 06:58 am

Went to cvs to do money gram to India. You need to call customer service from a red phone and it takes 15 minutes to get them on line.the website says transfer is free of charge but they want 11$ for 500$ transfer. Rip-off 100%.when l tried to do online transfer, it keeps directing you to use a local location and didn't allow me to transfer. Read that Western union and money gram earn commission's from hard working Mexicans in usa who send a few dollars to Mexico. Risk of losing personal information as they lack clarity in their transactions. Caveat!

 
thirumurugan.samuthiram
Posted on November 16, 2015, 09:00 pm

Don't waste your money. This is one of very very worst Money Transfer company. You will transfer only once but they will took money from your account twice and return one of the transaction after some days. VERY VERY WORST. Irresponsible people. I don't want to give any rating for this money transfer company but here they made it mandatory to give star. Totally waste.

 
gamaharrison
Posted on October 12, 2015, 04:59 pm

After using money gram for a long time I sent money to Mexico now the reference number don't exist and after the second reference number they still can't get the money and the customer service its the worst ever I think they transfer all their customer service calls to India can anybody tell me how or where to call direct to make a complain to the head office thanks 0 ratings please change and allowed 0

 
dhawan.ishu88
Posted on August 25, 2015, 03:01 pm

Good nice service n good exchange rate

 
tglotspeich
Posted on July 03, 2015, 12:43 pm

I attempted to send a money transfer of 200 dollars within the US using my bank account. Moneygram emailed me requesting me to call customer service to provide additional information. I verified my name, my email, my address and was told by the agent (Victor, Agent XV73) to "Have the account holder call." He stated that I sounded like a female and was not the account holder. I offered to verify my banking information and provide a copy of my government issued ID but he continued to berate me. I requested a supervisor and was told to file a complaint. Then he cancelled my transaction. I have filed a complaint and have yet to receive a return call hours later. Rude, insulting, discriminating, and berating is what I encountered attempting to use moneygram.

 
ritesh_dave
Posted on May 01, 2015, 12:40 pm

If I can give them no star, I would. Customer service is a joke. They hardly pick up phone. When you call, you go thru all the loops and finally you get the message that all lines are busy so call back again. I wanted to change the name of the recipient but no luck since I couldn't communicate with them. I sent them an e-mail, but no response. I wanted to cancel my transaction but read others' review and not sure when I will get my refund so stuck with them. It took them 6 days to send the money to India instead of three days. Rate wasn't as good as others, I was charged fee for it whereas others do it for free and others do it in 1 day whereas Moneygram took 6 days. Made a mistake, but never again.

 
mayuriajit
Posted on April 24, 2015, 12:34 pm

Not sure why there are so many negative reviews about Moneygram. I have used Moneygram for few transfers now and haven't faced any issue with them. I get the best exchange rates and money gets transferred in reasonable amount of time ( 3 hrs if done with debit card).

 
happysky36
Posted on April 21, 2015, 05:31 pm

I tried to send money to my son. He went three times to try to receive it (with proper ID and ref#) and could not receive it. We spent 30 minutes (while he was in CVS waiting to receive the funds) on the phone with a MoneyGram customer service person who could not tell us what the problem was and hung up on us because she didn't know what else to do. That was the third time someone had hung up on either me or my son while trying to resolve this. I tried to escalate the call when I called back and I guess I must have been talking to the CEO because they told me that they did not have a supervisor!!! I ended up canceling the transaction and now must wait 3-10 days for a refund MINUS the transaction fee!!! I will NEVER use MoneyGram again! It's clear to see that they're going under fast. I almost wonder if they try to make you cancel so that they get paid their fee without having to provide the service that they're supposed to provide.

 
narendranpradeep
Posted on March 22, 2015, 11:24 pm

Awesome, seamless!

 
Sunil.Narswani
Posted on March 20, 2015, 02:00 pm

Very bad service. They cancel transaction for no reason. I ended up paying $35 fine for fund reversal in my account.

 
lifoed
Posted on March 10, 2015, 05:27 am

Summary of this review is 'Stay away from Moneygram'. Longer version: I called their customer service to track my transaction, I was told that the receiving bank rejected the inward remittance. I called my bank and they said that they did not. Meanwhile I received an email that my 'transaction was cancelled as per my request'. I called moneygram again and this time the customer support rep tells me that I myself initiated the cancellation. When I asked to be escalated, I was transferred to the 'department that handles escalated queries' and I was again told the the receiving bank rejected the transfer and there isn't any other clarification that has been logged that they can share with me. In all, they said that with this cancellation, refund would be available within 3-10 business days. This means my money is trapped and unavailable now. Dear moneygram, look at your competition, they are lot more transparent and efficient. You successfully scared me away now, forever.

 
bradtibbs
Posted on February 13, 2015, 09:46 am

I was hoping for great service from this company but received typical service. In the end, I was charged $34 and didn't even send any money. Had to navigate the phone tree directory only to be asked to hang up and dial a new number and speak with a rep who was not empowered by her employer to offer great service. She just read the employee script, saying "sorry for the inconvenience" and "the system won't let me do that".

 
munv
Posted on February 12, 2015, 05:46 am

ZERO is not enough for this service. I placed the transaction and it was declined for no reason. Customer care told me that "Moneygram is uncomfortable with your online transaction". I used my bank account and remit to india bank account (do not opted for cash payout/cheque). I asked the customer care if they can cancel my account and closed my account with them. Believe me at 6 AM I opened my account and verified all the identity before placing the transaction. At 8:30 AM i requested to close the account. This is the worst service I have used ever.

 
vikramgk
Posted on December 29, 2014, 07:54 am

I'll give a ZERO star if there was an option. I'm 34 yrs and this is the WORST customer service I've experienced on all this years. That guy has just hung the phone on me, just because he can't answer my questions about re-scheduling a cancelled transaction. Don't they understand English?

 
suman.tedla
Posted on December 26, 2014, 01:11 pm

Horrible customer service...they cancel the transactions for no reason...would not provide any details on why the transactions are denied....

 
emilym030303
Posted on December 25, 2014, 05:22 am

Worst of all. Seems fraud. Website gather all your information including last 4 digits of social security, a/c and identity, then decline with no reason at all.

 
sbjs
Posted on December 24, 2014, 04:57 am

THEY ARE WORST. THEY CAN CANCEL YIOUR TRANSACTION ENYTIME. MONEY DOES NOT REACH SOMETIMES IN SEVERAL DAYS AFTER IT WAS APPROVED. I USED RIA, WU, AXISREMIT, INDUSIND

 
catchrkagrawal
Posted on December 14, 2014, 11:46 pm

The Directed Send receive option is not available to California customers at this time.

 
essam925
Posted on October 06, 2014, 12:24 pm

Great online experience. My transaction was available immediately after I clicked submit. I was given a free call to contact my recipient and provide him with the reference number

 
essam925
Posted on October 06, 2014, 12:21 pm

I sent a transaction last week and it was available in less than 5-minutes. Also, MoneyGram has a large network in India and Philippines.