Rate it
Your review has been submitted !

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted !

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.


₹ 66.86


₱ 47.29


Mex$ 18.24

Western Union Money Transfer Reviews

Posted on October 23, 2016, 08:43 pm

I had a bad experience with this service! You can only transfer money first time, later it goes to the error page. Customer service and whole process is worst! I use remitly, and go best service and rates so far! Website is slick too! You can use this link if you want to get a special rate and some credits on your transfer http://remit.ly/@39veq5

Posted on October 23, 2016, 08:24 pm

Worst money transfer service I have ever used! Website is bad, customer service is bad, I was able to do only one transaction successfully out of almost 10 times! My money transfer was kept on hold, they asked for IDs but it didn't stop there! I got calls and emails on random hours (4 in the morning) and transactions were cancelled if not responded. I spent hours talking to customer service to authenticate my account but it didn't work as well! I won't recommend it to anyone!

Posted on October 21, 2016, 09:45 am

Very fast (10min) USD to Inr transfer to bank, I am happy to recommend the service.

Posted on October 02, 2016, 10:10 pm

Never use there service, they are cheating people on the name of money transferring service. They deducted money from my US account and my indian bank account was not credited even after the promised delivery date. After multiple follow ups they say we released funds from our side, please follow up with ur local bank. I went to indian branch and figured out that the funds were not released from WU. When i call WU customer service they say funds were not released and will process refund and for that i need to wait for another 48 hours. I kindly suggest friends, not to get into this trap and use other trusted services like ria and remitly.

Posted on September 14, 2016, 07:48 pm

I have been WU customer for the past 2 years. It used to be my favorite service provider. Since others are providing better rates in the market, for the past few months I didn't use WU. Today I noticed they are giving a better rate so did a transfer. But the transaction was kept on hold and later got declined email. I called them to find out reason. They said I need to provide few personal details such as full name, dob, phone num etc. which are already there with my account. They asked me to send those details again to a different team thru email. I was told for every transaction there will be review and need to go thru this process. Who will do all these nonsense for every transaction? It was not the case few months back. Since the transaction is declined they said it may take up to 7 working days to release my money back in my account. Very frustrating. Can't believe a company working like this (for existing customers) when there is huge competition in market. This would be my last transaction. I wish this review should be read by their sr. folks to take corrective action.

Posted on September 14, 2016, 09:10 am

1st transaction was fast, but after then Online WU transactions couldn't be completed. refer a friend link poses error always

Posted on September 01, 2016, 11:34 am

Even last month transfer was slow and took until 5-7 business days. This month, it is very fast and received money within a day. Currently, western union is providing best exchange rates. Compare all the exchange rates before sending money.

Posted on August 21, 2016, 02:18 pm

Have used western union many a times now. The transfer is absolutely free upto $2999 (to bank accounts). Always get my transfers done within 24 hours. Really fast service and you get whatever money they show you during processing. No hidden fees. Really impressed.

Posted on August 16, 2016, 11:27 am

Mention its free for transfer, but Transfer fee is $5, Bad customer Service, very rude in call, Not going to use WU

Posted on August 11, 2016, 06:16 pm

WORST MONEY TRANSFER SERVICE EVER. I got charged penalty and hit on my credit because WESTERN UNION made delay in transfer and the customer rep was rude enough to not to answer my direct question. NEVER EVER USE WESTERN UNION. They DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE CONCEPT OF SERVICE TO CUSTOMER. I just got off from the phone with your customer rep. She said Western Union is not liable for anything. Even if the transaction is not completed in 3-5 days as committed THIS IS WORST SERVICE EXPERIENCE EVER. I FEEL LIKE TALKING TO ATTORNEY TO SEEK THE WAYS AS I DO NOT FEEL I SHOULD PAY PENALTY BECAUSE OF MISTAKE OF WESTERN UNION I get email to say transaction is complete. See below chain. This is FRAUD MONEY TRANSFER ORGANIZATION

Posted on August 08, 2016, 12:28 pm

I have have used WU for at least 4-5 times. Overall the process has not been too painful. Sometimes you may get calls to confirm the transfer. Once that's done, I have seen my money in my ICICI bank within a day. Overall a good rate with a large enough company.

Posted on July 11, 2016, 07:34 pm

No wonder most people here have just given one star reviews. These things suck with western union service: 1. Website!! Website!! Website!! It mess. 2. There timeline of 5 days is just for luring people. Ones you are in you are trapped. Can take anywhere between 7-12 days. Good luck finding information about transaction. 3. Customer Service: At the best its like Bureaucratic office. One department passes to other and of course the other one has to be closed. 4. They will put your transfer on hold even if they have verified and approved transaction to same account multiple times before. 5. After review to get simple approval takes another 3-4 days. So if your transaction is in approval stage good luck getting that money in a week. Pros:(one star for these points) 1. Only thing is simple to schedule. 2. Exchange rate, transaction fees 3. If you have all the luck and WU god is happy with you then money gets transferred in 5 days.

Posted on June 27, 2016, 04:16 pm

Dont use westerunion for any urgency cases. Receiving successful transaction conformation mail will take 5 working days like "Western Union: money transfer confirmed". End of the 5th day you will receive the another mail like "Western Union: Your money transfer's on hold". Refund will take Maximum 11 working days. who knows the currency values after 11th day? it may go UP or DOWN... Better avoid in case of any urgency.

Posted on June 24, 2016, 04:47 pm

you guys suck. your website sucks. your responsiveness suck. money transfer timelines suck. everything about WU sucks.

Posted on June 13, 2016, 08:40 am

Absolutely terrible experience. Your money is transferred into a black hole. You'll waste hours and hours chasing it with one department telling you to to call another. Even if it works it will take DAYS not hours. The recipient of the funds will be waiting for at least several days to get the money. Find a better alternative. This firm is totally useless.

Posted on June 13, 2016, 01:11 am

I used the app on my phone and it was great, very convenient! There's an £800 limit before you have to verify your id with them. So I attempted to do that and received an email just saying they would be in touch. So I phoned customer service next day and the guy told me where to email my id documents and what's required. So I duly did that that afternoon. I was told it takes 48hrs on working days. 11 days later and several calls and emails to Western Union and I am still no closer to getting my id verified online to use my online account. All they tell me over the phone is the obvious, that I can use any Western Union agent nearby. I knew that already! Talk about stating the obvious! So no, there customer service and id verification unit are absolute rubbish! Use the online service if you just need to send occasional money, otherwise don't bother. And I still have no idea when my id will be verified now after sending the right documents 3 times now! Utter rubbish!

Posted on April 12, 2016, 07:49 am

I am looking for reliable alternative to Western Union. I have been transferring money through WU website for many years, transferring from the same bank account to the same recipient. I had an issue once before, 2 years ago. Then and now (April 6 2016) WU informed me by e-mail that my money transfer has been decline. No explanation. Calling WU is useless, they are very polite but do not explain what is the problem. They suggested to use WU agent location. The WU transfer charge at agent location is $68 versus $12 online and the promotion code that I was given did NOT work. I am looking for reliable alternative to Western Union. Please HELP!

Posted on March 31, 2016, 08:04 am

No use. Registered. Tried transfer of 2k, their website said, "Transaction can not be completed". Tried several times... same error. Tried different card...same error. Don't want to trust someone like this. If money gets stuck you will be constantly calling them... And besides you hardly ever see higher rate from them.

Posted on March 02, 2016, 08:30 pm

Please do not trust Western union for Refer a Friend program. Its just the trap to create new users. I referred my friend and he made couple of transactions with WU from last few months but still no one got the referral bonus. Even after contacting customer care they are just giving date on date. The xoom is better option for referral option.

Posted on February 18, 2016, 08:44 pm

This site just sucks big time now a days. They never pay referral money, never. And this site used to be great couple of months ago. Now a days all the transactions are put on hold and rejected.

Posted on January 01, 2016, 07:46 pm

I would like to try WU. Can anyone provide a valid referral link to me. brahmadotcvatgmaildotcom

Posted on January 01, 2016, 07:42 pm

I would like to try USforex. Can anyone provide a valid referral link to me. xxxx@xxx.xxx

Posted on December 30, 2015, 11:34 am

I have been using WU since start of this year never had problems, but suddenly they started cancelling my transactions with out any proper reason, happened more then 5 times. they would deduct the amount from my debit card and would not send it to India. and return my money after 15 days. i called them several time and even talked to their manager but still they could not help. highly disappointed and would not use their service ever.

Posted on December 24, 2015, 08:58 pm

I have been using western union for 12 years. I had been sending the same amount of money, to the same person, from the same location for about 10 times since last year, but suddenly they cancelled the transaction this time. I took time off from work again and picked up the refund and resent it, but it was refunded again. I called 7 times total, and even did the interview, explaining that I sent money to my parents in china, and I have done this for more than 10 years, but they said I could not use western union any more. They said it is internal decision, can't tell me why. My experience can't be any worse. Time wasted.

Posted on December 12, 2015, 10:13 am

Western union cancels remittance without a proper reason. For more than 2 years, I have used Western Union services to send money to India. Every time, I have remitted a fixed amount to the Axis bank in the India. My last two transfers are cancelled by the Western Union. Customer service can tell you reason for cancellation but can't give anything in the writing. After first cancellation, I thought there may be some mistake from my side (Axis bank clarified there are no issues with my account), made two remittances, 1 from Western Union and another from Remitly. Remittance from Remitly was successful and once again verbal reply from Western Union is "your transfer is cancelled because recipient bank is not accepting money". On top of that, we can't give written explanation as it is against our policies. Western Union seriously needs to think whether they want to be in the business or not?

Posted on November 16, 2015, 01:37 pm


Posted on November 12, 2015, 06:42 pm

THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE SEEN ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD !!!!! I currently have 5 transfers pending with them- it was a large amount that I wanted to send to India- so had to break it into multiple transfers between myself and wife. Every transfer gets flagged- put on hold-then someone calls- then says ok will clear- then get email comes saying transfer cancelled- meanwhile funds have been already debited from my acct- call cust svc- say funds will be refunded- then say - we didn't cancel- your receiving bank refused funds :)) Ya right- they don't want the money :)) PRAYING I GET MY MONEY BACK Btw, did I mention : NO ONE CAN SPEAK 2 SENTENCES OF ENGLISH IN THIS COMPANY !!!!! Used RIA and REMITLY- what a world apart from WU. And those are new players to the game - awesome!!

Posted on November 12, 2015, 10:33 am

Best Money Transfer provider.... I have been using Wu for ages and never ever ever had any issues... No hidden charges.. No nonsense... I did try few other Money Transfer Providers, experience was pretty bad - Transactions are kept on hold, additional information is required even if we had provided previously, fee is charged all of a sudden without intimation etc... I have worked in 3 different countries and never ever had any issue with WU... Keep it up WU....

Posted on November 09, 2015, 10:07 am

They are targeting immigrants from different countries. They will frequently hold your transactions and will ask you everything I.e. Driving license , Your SIN number and your valid credit card ... Now they have new security policy in place they will ask you clearification letter or they won't release your payment. You will contact customer service and your call will be transferred to security specialist who will not answer any question. I personally felt the guy was over the phone was totally jerk.###. There are few companies for money transfer and soon western union will loose all of its customers. Stay away from them...

Posted on November 01, 2015, 07:01 am

WORST experience, they have high transfer rates but they will stop your transaction saying "Federal law and the system is not permitting". I made several transactions at WU in the past when the rates are not so high compared to other companies with same bank details and personal information. It makes no sense how System and Federal law had no issues at that time. Play fair game WU.

Posted on October 30, 2015, 10:10 pm

Not a good service. I transferred my money many time, It used to go on same day by debit card. This time I did and found it didn't reach to my account in India. They said money sent to ICICI bank but you need to check if they have any holding. Why shld I check, but still I checked bank told we didnt recieve any money. Service is too bad, They have given me option to say your US bank and get money back based on debit card protection. Instead of giving service they are just making me fool.

Posted on October 17, 2015, 12:11 pm

WU seemed to be great when I used it initially. I was able to send money in a day or two. But after that, they do not allow me to send money to India. They do not provide what information is missing. The customer support just asks me to visit the WU center and send money from there. This includes around $8 fee. They offered me 50% off on that fee. But when I visited various WU centers, all of them were out of service. I don't know whats the use of sending money from WU, if you cannot send it online. They do not know how to resolve this issue, the only solution they have is to go to the WU center. Very disappointed by this. I started using xoom. It is amazing. We can transfer money within minutes and the customer support is great. They increased the sending limit within a day and were very helpful.

Posted on October 17, 2015, 09:11 am

The worst customer service I have ever seen I expected more from Western Union but I was very much disappointed. obviously I was talking to somebody in the Philippines which was incapable of helping me..I was also not happy that somebody in a different country was accessing my personal information..I have no interest in doing business with them anymore

Posted on October 14, 2015, 06:13 pm

one of the worst money transfer service i have ever seen. They were good once upon a time. But not any more. time to switch to some other service

Posted on September 28, 2015, 10:53 pm

customer804, 100ups to your review. Ran into same issue with Western Union and Ria and now phone battery is at last breath with no solution from these major Xchange service provider. I felt Ria 2 days back and today I am leaving this sticky service provider. Was not able to transfer through online and spoke to 10+ executive for no solution. Loved their unique answer try after 24 hours issue be resolved or chck with ur debit card or credit card provider:):).

Posted on September 28, 2015, 09:43 am

I've always used this company to make my transfers, but not anymore. Had a hard time doing the transaction online, kept getting error messages for everything. They kept blaming me, though I did whatever they asked (refresh cookies, etc).They're customer service is the absolute worst, and they'll never get my business again.

Posted on September 16, 2015, 11:55 pm

Wonderful service, with in seconds the money is there. I always prefer sending money through Western Union, they branches all over in Pakistan, and with in easy reach. I will suggest every one to use Western Union.

Posted on September 14, 2015, 12:15 pm

I use to use west Union but I'm not any longer . I sent my daughter $200 she ended up not needing it so I call for refund and they said because they had it all set up I was still chargered $20 that's ridiculous! I could see half but their fees are high anyways next time I will use money gram and the two that I do send funds to will wait for me to do a bank transfer. Just makes me sick she didn't do the paper work or use the service to pick up the money and you still charge the full fee it's also a pain if you forget your password they gave me one that didn't work and said if that don't work to email so I did that

Posted on September 02, 2015, 07:45 am

Western Union is the oldest fund transferring provider, I don't know why are taking more than 5 Business Days to send funds. I have used Western Union for 3 times, all 3 times they have taken 5 Business Days to complete the transfer. Western Union being in the industry for so long years, they should not take 5 Business Days to complete the transfer. They have change this.... It is good Western Union is not charging for sending funds from Bank Account to Bank Account. Western Union is giving GOOD exchange rate comparing to other providers.

Posted on August 25, 2015, 11:59 pm

Absolutely frustrating. Money transfer keeps getting rejected every single time (tried with debit card, bank accts, etc). Called customer service who give different reasons each time: 1. Blame me for entering wrong details - Not true, verified hundreds of times. 2. Blame my bank - verified there's nothing wrong from their side. 3. Blame the destination bank - not true, other services work fine. 4. And now : "Their system rejected it". And they don't have access to any more details. And I should "Try Again next day". I am definitely done with WU now.

Posted on August 20, 2015, 04:31 pm

I have started using WU from last month and I have not seen any issues till now.

Posted on August 20, 2015, 12:43 pm

This is the best service for sending money to India in my opinion. Funds arrive on the same day, if paid using Debit card (which I anyway prefer over ACH as its safer and insured). Rates are very competitive and there is absolutely no fee, even if you send $100. Keep up the good work.

Posted on August 18, 2015, 09:05 am

Horrible experience. not worth to go with WU

Posted on August 18, 2015, 05:55 am

Send using a debit card... money reaches in a day... never had a problem Except with the first transfer which took 3 days.

Posted on August 14, 2015, 06:24 am

One thing I don't understand about the reviews... If you are genuine enough why post as anonymous? People who gave good rating have their names on and people who want to rate bad have anonymous names... I never had an issue with western union until now...

Posted on August 10, 2015, 02:17 pm

It took me "4"---as in four---calls to try and get the idiots there to spell the simple name of the recipient of my money transfer...AND THEY NEVER DID GET IT RIGHT...I ended up hoping my friend would be able to get his money, even tho his name was spelled wrong. He was, but only because he knew the guy at his end....Please, Western Union, start hiring people who aren't brain dead!!!

Posted on August 04, 2015, 09:50 am

worst service i have ever seen. All these Positive ratings are just fake to increase the ratings

Posted on July 31, 2015, 02:12 pm

I'm using western union for more than eight months to transfer money to INDIA from USA. nowadays there rate is competitive and I never faced any issues in my transactions. They even gave me Skype credit for my first transfer. I did referred my friends and got amazon gift card.

Posted on July 26, 2015, 02:59 pm

I have been using western union for almost an year now and made good number of transactions never had an issue. Referred three friends and yeah got all three amazon gift cards... Keep in mind there gift cards arrival takes a bit of time ( as stated already in their website i guess 6-8 weeks) but they generally tend to give it within 2 weeks of qualifying transaction... I find them better than xoom...

Posted on July 08, 2015, 05:36 pm

Western Union by far the best service, I have used and recommended to many of my friends all my friends are happy! Transactions accepted on debit card at free of charge. They also allow transfers as low as $50 free of charge. Nothing much to ask.