WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

Select Corridors

Your Alerts Are Set

MoneyGram Money Transfer Reviews

Chemz
Posted on July 08, 2020, 12:41 pm

My experience with moneygram was horrible. You have to provided lots of information like your passport etc and even so they BLOCK your transaction and you have to call them to provide tons of information. Customer reps speaks bad English and Hindi and you have to spell eveything. Very high fees to me. Very negative experience as a custome an superb ripp-off.

 
Charmand
Posted on July 08, 2020, 12:10 am

They have closed my account for no apparent reason. I called them couple times and the operator never gave me a clear reason.

 
Jessica Woods
Posted on July 03, 2020, 12:41 pm

moneygram is a rip off. Tried to send money to someone on May 19, 2020. They canceled my transaction and I still have yet to get my money back. They keep telling me they are having technical difficulties and to call back after 24-72 hours its now July.

 
Shane
Posted on July 02, 2020, 12:36 pm

I tried to send money today, they deleted my account, blocked my ability to ever use them again, listed me as fraudulent, and blocked me form using the Walmart service also. There is no reason, i have used them many times for over 10 years even while trucking but not all the scudded I am blocked for life.

 
Roger Pettersson
Posted on June 27, 2020, 07:01 am

For no reason they canseled my transaction and my account. I`ve made same transaction a several times. No explenation, and i`ve not got my money back yet.

 
Gary Parker
Posted on June 21, 2020, 09:11 am

Do NOT use Moneygram. They took my money but never transferred the money to the receiver!!!! I’ve called 5 times in the past 10 days with no luck.

 
lisa stark
Posted on June 12, 2020, 06:11 pm

Never use Moneygram! I cancelled a transaction the same day that I sent it as my son wasn't going to be able to pick it up that day. The cancellation was successful but the credit was never received. It has been 28 business days and I am still out $140.99. The representative HUNG UP on me stating the credit was processed and there is nothing he can do. I immediately called my bank and they are starting an investigation. I then went to the Better Business Bureau and Moneygram as 698 complaints in the last 3 years. Why are they even in business? I have submitted my case to a lawyer that specialized in class action lawsuits. I hope he will be able to find a case. I would feel vindicated. Since, my son has signed up with Paypal. It is a MUCH safer way to transfer money. Venmo is also good. Don't trust this horrible company.

 
Nasir
Posted on June 04, 2020, 09:57 am

Worst remittance customer service I have ever come across? It costed more to call international number, stay call for 30 minutes, costs more than sending the money itself. I have sent three emails for nearly 3 weeks - no response. All I have is a case number. They have not been answered. They will not call back either! All I can view online is that the transaction is withheld. The total amount is less than $50 I will not recommend, find alternative!

 
Gary Clyburn
Posted on June 01, 2020, 04:42 pm

Accepted transfer then canceled my account saying it was fraud and banned me from using service. Called to find out why and got rude and unclear response for call center.

 
80gp
Posted on June 01, 2020, 06:05 am

I sent to Transfers My Bank approved. Next Day they Blocked me and would not give me a reason. My bank said Transfers where made and Funds where available. Dont trust this Company.

 
Amethyst
Posted on May 29, 2020, 11:16 am

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE COMPANY. I purchased 2 money orders, the one in February has yet to be received by payee and the March money order was cashed in May. I wanted to get a copy of the cashed money order so that I could deal with the payee. Wow, was I in for a surprised. In order to get a copy of the money order for $25.00, MoneyGram wanted me to pay them $18-25. WHAT A RIPOFF. From this day forward if I need a money order it is worth paying the fee for one at the US Postal Service. The replacement fee and getting a copy is much much cheaper. Using MoneyGram is not worth the hassle and cost of using their services. If it goes wrong, you end up paying through the teeth (so to speak). Never, Never Again will I use their services. AS I STATED EARLIER, DEFINITELY DEFINITELY NOT WORTH THE HASSLE.

 
Akshay
Posted on May 16, 2020, 04:57 pm

NEVER EVER TRUST THIS MONEYGRAM, NEVER EVER..!! NEVER EVER TRUST THIS MONEYGRAM SERVICE. I'm writing a genuine feedback here which I just experienced with moneygram. I made a transaction of $4000 sending to overseas and while the transaction is in progress, they terminated my account permanently without providing any reason and they are saying they cancelled the transaction and I'll get refund within 3-4 business days but they are not providing any email confirmation that transaction has been successfully cancelled. They already took my money from my account and now they're just saying over the phone that you will get money back but they are not giving any email confirmation while other side they permanently closed my moneygram account so I cannot track the transaction as well. WORST TO WORST AND VERY BAD, UNTRUTHFUL SERVICE. I WOULD HONESTLY SUGGEST THAT DO NOT TRUST ON MONEYGRAM. NEVER TRUST..!! NEVER TRUST..!!

 
Christian
Posted on March 29, 2020, 06:25 pm

Absolute rubbish customer service. DO NOT USE MONEYGRAM.

 
Chantell
Posted on March 19, 2020, 09:06 am

Just the worst experience. Representatives..agents..supervisors all gave me misinformation. I am at a loss for my money and no one is helping me.

 
brett
Posted on March 07, 2020, 08:00 pm

i tried to send my wife who is stuck in china in a pandemic corona virus, 2000.00 dollars ,moneygram would not let me send but 1000.00, i have been back 4 times to send the other half and they tell me they will not ,moneygram are liars they said 10000.00 limit till you go to send then give you trouble and limits other than what they advertise ,who are they to limit what i send my wife that is trying to make it thru a pandemic,never use moneygram useless service

 
Yuri
Posted on February 18, 2020, 09:01 pm

Absolutely useless service. You can't receive cash anywhere in Canada - they can only issue a money order cheque, which will be placed on hold by your bank for 5 business days. Literally any other service will cost you less and will take less time. Customer support is slow and incompetent - took them a week to respond with a template email.

 
Cedric
Posted on January 10, 2020, 02:00 pm

From experiencing issues with them for over well a month calling them multiple times and even showing up to the Moneygram location with my receipt in hand and a customer service agent on the phone they still did not pay me back, even if it is a couple of hundred of dollars, it is still my money! I gave them all the information they could need, then when that did not work I tried to fill out their refund request form on their website, funnily enough, when I put the Moneygram location zip code it did not work but for my home zip it did. So there again I call them (end of December) and show up at a Moneygram location, providing them with all the information requested. The agent on the phone finally tells me that they will escalate it and that I should receive an e-mail shortly with the next steps. It has been well over a week I should have received it. From reading nearly all other reviews, Moneygram is giving me the appearance of a failing company that is using their policy agreements to simply hold the money in their coffers. Terrible support, I called them today and when I was explaining the agent hung up on me!!!! I would give 0 stars was it a possibility.

 
DAVID CORNELIUS
Posted on January 02, 2020, 10:37 am

Zero rating. Always blocks my money grams for no reason. If a attorney reads this all of the complaints about money gram we need to file a class action lawsuit again moneygram. A very crooked company.

 
Unique
Posted on December 30, 2019, 05:36 pm

wish I could give it zero stars.. money gram is nothing but a rip off and a scam.. I tried to send money Dec 24th online. These people sent me the reference number so I send it to the receiver. 10 mins later I get an email saying that they canceled my transfer!!!!! The receiver is at the money gram location looking stupid because its saying the transaction has been flagged. Now mind you the receiver is my AUNT!!!!! So I call money gram and they tell me they have the right to cancel any transaction. Never gave me a reason why. So I'm asking for a refund!!! They lied and said it's at my bank. My bank says money gram has a hold on the funds so they can't release until money gram takes the hold off. They also took a holding fee which put my account in the negative!!!! Now I'm basically out of 611.99!!!! Run from these people, they steal money and needs to be investigated and shut down asap.

 
Terrible incompetence company
Posted on December 16, 2019, 06:30 pm

Don’t use this service! If there was a 0 star I would rather than 1. There are tons of other such companies, don’t use this one. They close your account with no explanation and keep your money for two weeks before refund it! The same night that MG rejected my transaction I used another company, guess what, it went through with no problem! It is just terrible customer service company!

 
Patricia Phillips
Posted on December 12, 2019, 10:10 pm

my sister took a taxi cab to Walmart to send me money Walmart to Walmart I took a taxi to pick up money there was a mistake on their part it was a wrong number they just told me that my sister needs to go in and fix it I had to explain to them that she shouldn't pay for another taxi cab they don't care they still didn't give me the money this is a scam along with this review I have also tried to file a grievance against them they didn't have a grievance form they are a bad luck company unprofessional unethical pure scam

 
Andre
Posted on November 18, 2019, 04:05 am

Their incompetence is so high that they make the customer pay for their mistakes. I sent money to my wife and the same documents we use to get the money from other companies were refused by this company. The best part is they take 3 to 10 working days to give my money back, already passed 6 days and im still waiting for my money. This is a scam who uses the money for other purposes. I DONT ADVISE THIS COMPANY

 
Laila
Posted on November 17, 2019, 09:53 am

**In English & German / auf Deutsch unten** Please read it carefully before you embroiled in MoneyGram. I've transferred 1200.- EUR to my wife (within Germany), but when she tried to receive the amount, MoneyGram agent claimed that someone else has already received it. So that, I complained & escalated to MoneyGram that an unknown person has taken the amount. Unfortunately, their investigation was neither professional nor serious as it implemented something else. The outcome said that the one who received the amount gave them the name, transfer Reference number verbally & received the amount accordingly. How come they never scanned nor copied the receiver’s ID !! What I’m pretty sure about is that there are robbers inside MoneyGram. Certainly, someone from MoneyGram team permeated into system & gave my data to one of his/her acquaintances & stole my money like this way. Anyway, I've reported that to police about a possibility of leakage of confidential information within MoneyGram team that leads to such fraud. As a customer I don’t trust MoneyGram anymore & will not dealing with such a company in the future. Laila ____________________________________________ Bitte hier sorgfältig durch lesen, bevor Sie sich in MoneyGram einmischen. Ich habe 1200,- EUR an meine Frau (innerhalb Deutschlands) überwiesen, aber als sie versuchte, den Betrag zu erhalten, behauptete der MoneyGram-Agent, dass jemand anderes ihn bereits erhalten hat. So dass, ich beschwerte mich & eskalierte zu MoneyGram, dass eine unbekannte Person den Betrag genommen hat. Leider war die Nachforschung weder professionell noch ernst, da sie etwas anderes umsetzte. Das Ergebnis sagte, dass derjenige, der den Betrag erhalten hat, ihnen den Namen gab, die Referenznummer mündlich übertrug und den Betrag entsprechend erhielt. Wie kommt es, dass sie nie die ID des Empfängers gescannt oder kopiert haben! Was ich ziemlich sicher bin, ist, dass es in MoneyGram Räuber gibt. Sicherlich ist jemand vom MoneyGram-Team in das System eingedrungen und hat meine Daten an einen seiner Bekannten weitergegeben und mein Geld auf diese Weise gestohlen. Wie auch immer, ich habe das der Polizei über eine Möglichkeit der Weitergabe vertraulicher Informationen innerhalb des MoneyGram-Teams berichtet, die zu einem solchen Betrug führt. Als Kunde vertraue ich MoneyGram nicht mehr und werde mich in Zukunft nicht mehr mit einem solchen Unternehmen beschäftigen.

 
Alaba Michael
Posted on November 16, 2019, 08:28 am

I was flag because I'm sending money to myself

 
Tania Sinnaeve
Posted on September 27, 2019, 01:00 am

WORST COMPANY EVER !!!!! BAD COSTUMER SERVICE !!! NEVER USE THIS COMPANY !! We made one small mistake online and they blocked our account , blocked the money on our creditcard , so no money can be send but we have to wait 5 days to get our money back SCAM !!!!

 
Norman
Posted on September 15, 2019, 01:29 am

Whoever started this company called money gram I have no I dea. Worst service in the whole world. First they complain about how you arrange your name, secondary their system is always offline, thirdly their security is fucked. They will ask ridiculous questions to give you your money. Even if it's something that simply needs common sense. I don't want to go into details but they have to rebuild their system from scratch so it can match with customers needs.

 
Jeff
Posted on August 30, 2019, 05:19 pm

The worst customer service and transaction support I have ever experienced. 30 plus years in business. Travel and work in over 50 countries. This company took my funds and stated that the funds were available to the recipient. Then, after about ten minutes, Money Gram cancelled the transaction and stated that the company would hold my funds. The customer service department was completely unwilling to take any steps of any kind to provide support. At first, I was sure that I could address any caution or concern since I was sending a small amount of money to Africa ($80). I called my credit card company and learned that there were no issues of any kind from their standpoint - they had approved the transaction completely. I simply want to avoid Money Gram completely in the future and will take any steps I can to ensure my funds are returned without fees. HUGELY DISAPPOINTING!

 
Nicole
Posted on August 20, 2019, 01:17 pm

If I had a choice of picking no stars I would. Never make a mistake and put the wrong address on a money gram money order. They are quick to take your Money but wait. You have to pay them to give it back. So called processing fee. Not only fo I have to be shorted I have to wait 3 weeks to get it back. I have a 3 wk old baby and a sin turning 13 next week. Thanks to Money Gram my son wont get to go out and eat and my newborn will be low on diapers and milk. Thanks a lot Money Gramm

 
Richard
Posted on August 10, 2019, 07:08 pm

This company sucks. Don’t use it if you value service. Son needed money, so I get the app, set up the profile and off it goes.... I get an email stating transferred successful only to have son calling stating it was rejected.... thinking it might be that’s it’s a new credit card I proceed to send via checking account...once again it states it was successful...... wrong... same story...rejected.... but both accounts now show a charge.... I call them.....they say they closed my account because their security system detected something but I could go to a store and still do it....I asked them...so online I am a security threat but in the store I magically transform to the upstanding citizen you want.... agent hangs up.... classic...all this for $150.... they suck

 
Nicole
Posted on August 10, 2019, 03:33 pm

I have not had any issues with MoneyGram in the past until here recently. I was trying to send my aunt a minimal amount of money via their online app and it appeared to be successful and the money was deducted from my account. When my aunt went to go pick it up from Walmart she was told that the transaction was rejected. I called Moneygram and they told me that it was an issue on their end in which MoneyGram is reviewing every transaction and they it was auto rejected. When I asked for me details all he said was "I apologize for the inconvenience and we will refund your money in 3-10days. Once I got my money back I tried to resend the money. It was deducted from my bank account again. I provided the new reference number to my aunt and yet AGAIN the same thing happened when she tried to go pick it up. I called Moneygram and for the same lame BS of an excuse. They agent wasn't understanding or helpful and kept overtaking me as he read from his script!!! I never got the reason as to why they kept rejecting the transaction when the money had already hit my bank account Smh! I'm so over it and will be uninstalling their app!! I have not had any of these issues with any other services such as Walmart or Western Union!

 
Armaani R
Posted on July 24, 2019, 07:24 pm

I’m actually so pissed at how terrible the service is!!! My uncle sent me money 4 days ago I still have no reply and as I track my payment it still shows as “Processing”. Terrrible fu**ing service!! “Your cash can be ready for pickup in as little as 10 minutes” - THATS BULLLS***

 
Brett
Posted on June 13, 2019, 04:18 pm

Absolutely horrible, unreliable service. I'll guarantee that any reviews over 1 star are by new customers that haven't been banned yet. I was permanently banned for no reason and the customer service agents continually told me to try at a physical location again. When I finally found an email address, they would not help me restore my online account. I even sent a passport photo of my girlfriend from Ukraine and pictures of us together. Moneygram almost cost me my relationship, as I moved my girlfriend and her parents to a better apartment that they cannot afford on their own. Check out the stock price of this company before relying on them. They are TRYING to take a 900 million dollar loan because they keep banning all of their legitimate customers. Don't help these losers stay in business with the few transactions they will allow you before banning you. They are currently dying a self inflicted death. W U had questions about my transactions as well, but they are a normal company and have no issues after talking to me and reviewing my documentation. I feel sorry for all of the employees Moneygram has. They genuinely sound horrified at how customers are being treated. These cowards just give you a "we've encountered an error" message when you try to log into your account with no explanation. Then the customer service agents are instructed to lie to you that you should keep trying at physical locations.

 
William
Posted on May 20, 2019, 04:21 pm

I completed a transaction via MoneyGram online the 15th of May 2019. Today, the 19th, 4 days later I am informed that my transaction has been cancelled. I call MoneyGram only to be informed that it was cancelled due to their internal policy but would not give me a reason. Now, I cannot log in to my account. I have used MoneyGram no less that 100 times in the past and never a problem. User beware. Take some friendly and wise advise DO NOT USE MONEYGRAM!!!!

 
Oksana Tymchyshyn
Posted on April 25, 2019, 05:01 am

I have the worst experience with Money Gram. I transferred some money to my father to Ukraine as a gift, completed the form in the UK post office, they have checked my passport , i was given the reference number and was assured the money will be available in 10 min. Few days later my dad went to collect the money and told by the agent in money Gram office that the number is not valid and he cant have the money. He tried few other offices and was told the same. No explanation was given as to why this is. They said they simply dont know. Eventually I went back to post office here in London, and they also had no idea what is wrong and was told to call a number on the receipt. I did and the agent based in Nicaragua told me that they needs more information about my identity! He started asking me the same questions what I already provided on the transfer form and lots of additional private information. I was feeling like I am being in the court room being interrogate for some kind of crime. When I asked him why my dad was not told that Money Gram required this information and advised him for me to contact them, or why they haven't contacted me themselves- they had my tel number on the form, the agent couldnt explain it. The only explanation he could give is that they want to prevent a scam. I think to suspect someone who transferred 300£ as a gift to a father and followed all necessary procedures in a scam is over the top. And I believe if that was the case why they never contacted me in the first place? So the agent kept asking me questions such as when did I last saw my father, where he works etc. and when I said it is too much for just confirming my identity, he said I should go back to the post office and ask for my money back. So that is 10 days later after the original transfer! Basically, I believe the company either want to get private details off the people - such as passport details, date of birth etc to use them in some kind of a scam, or try to steal sender's money by blocking the transaction in hope that the sender will give up eventually. Horrible customer service- the agent couldnt answer simple questions or explain anything . I hope I will get my money back today. Will never use them again and hope my details wont be used to create a fake passport somewhere in Nicaragua. Please be aware that the way Money Gram dealing with such situations is very suspicious. Stick to Western Union or other money transfer companies. I would not give them even one star, as they wasted my time , my father's time and obviously had given me lots of negative emotions,

 
Savesh
Posted on April 22, 2019, 11:56 pm

MoneyGram is the worst money transfer company there is on the planet, in particular their agent Bank of South Pacific (BSP) in Honiara, Solomon Islands is one of the worst agents in the world. Let it be known to everyone and travellers to the Solomon Islands, never ever use MoneyGram in that country, it will take 1 week before you collect your money,and it will take 1 week just for a simple correction to be made, and everytime they give you a Reference Number it is always invalid then after 1 week you will get a Reference Number that is working, their customer service is sooooooooo horrible and shitty, what a damnest MoneyGram agent and MoneyGram is the worst money transfer company, never ever use them. Go to Western Union instead they are first class with first class customer service!!

 
Jose
Posted on February 12, 2019, 02:04 pm

Moneygram gets a one star only because it does not let me give it a zero! I am very disappointed with this company and f**king hate "Grace" (Probably not even the real name) from customer service. I sent money in October 2018 for my mother who is living in Mexico and my transaction was "frozen" and needed to be reviewed. After a week of hassling them, they finally released it. The next incident was in the beginning of December and I finally got it resolved today (3 months later). Again, my transaction needed to be reviewed and verify the sender's and recipient's identity. I was in Mexico at this time to help my mother solve this issue. They wanted a monogram agent to call them and verify that she is who she is but the problem was that none of the agents had access to the information the customer service reps were saying. We were at a dead end and getting nowhere with these idiots. Long story short, I reviewed the receipt and said verbatim of what is written on their receipt, started a dispute with my bank against them, threaten to call Florida Office of Financial Regulation, and send them to court with my lawyer. Not even 5 mins later the initiated my refund after 3 months. Here is what the receipt says for those who are having trouble; "You have a right to dispute errors in your transaction. If you think there is an error, contact us within 180 days at 1(800) 922-7146 or moneygram.com. You can also contact us for a written explanation of your rights. You can cancel this transaction for a full refund within 180 days of payment, unless the funds have been picked up or deposited. For questions or complaints about us contact: Florida Office of Financial Regulation 1-850-487-9687 http://www.flofr.com/ Consumer Financial Protection Bureau 1-855-411-2372 1-855-729-2372 (TTY/TDD) www.consumerfinance.gov" Hope this can help anyone having the same issue.

 
Shino Varghese
Posted on February 07, 2019, 09:43 am

I did an international transaction on dec 9 2018 and today its Feb 7 2019, no money in account yet and no money back to my bank either. Each time I call them , customer service say have to wait 15 days. Horrible and pathetic customer service .

 
Terry
Posted on February 03, 2019, 07:25 pm

My daughter needed help financially, I go online to moneygram because Im not well. I was happy to see the opinion to send her cash by using my credit card. I called the visa company and they made sure the transaction would be approved by them without problems. Well I go through the whole process for it to be declined. IT NEVER ACTUALLY SAYS DECLINE IT RESPONDED ERROR. So like a dummy I keep trying. Probably made it worse but when I called back Visa they said no dollar amount displayed on their side and it wasnt declinded. Well Money Gram security locked me out!!! The customer service chat bot ..i think might be a real person but I doubt it said I could go into the store to send her money. No kidding but I cant!!! Thanks for a service that doesnt work.

 
Poppy
Posted on January 28, 2019, 02:41 am

Left Australia on 31st Dec expecting my money to be in my bank account on the 2nd January as promised. To my disappointment it is now the 23rd January and still no money in my account. They are now telling me I have to wait a further 15 days and that I may have to go all the way back to Australia from the UK because they didn't include my middle name so refused to send my money. After speaking to the bank whilst on the phone to MoneyGram they confirmed that the middle name wasn't necessary and would not refuse the transfer due to this. After being on the phone to moneygram for 10 mins whilst in the bank they miraculous turned round and said it's a bad line and hung up. I'm fuming about this because I have no access to my money and I have been left penniless for 23 days. I'm so sad about this because I tried to avoid paying bank charges by choosing MoneyGram and have ended up worse off. I will never use this service again and will stick to using banks which are safer and look after their customers properly. They have now emailed asking for boarding passes and a stamp of leaving Australia. They don't stamp your passports anymore as you go through electronic gates. I just want my money that I worked so hard for. Why is it so hard?

 
Yuliya
Posted on January 06, 2019, 10:22 am

SAME PROBLEM AS REVIEWS BELOW - New Account was locked after setting up new account and dsiconnecting my email address to my prior account. I previously called to set up new account and service person was helpful. Now, I need to transfer money and the account is locked the moment I hit the SEND button. Customer Service is awful and they interrogate you like you are illegally sending money to ??? Go somewhere else, this is not the company you want to send your $$$ through.

 
Jessica
Posted on November 11, 2018, 01:52 am

HORRIBLE!!!! MY Fiance tried sending me money through the service in order for us to pay for our wedding in America and they declined him and told him they didn't believe him. We are both military respectable persons with government jobs and yet they believe something is "up" and there's no one who can help either. Apparently I'm supposed to send images of our relationship to verify who I am. WORST thing about it is theyre also holding the funds from him and won't return it for 3to 12 weeeks. Thanks MONEY GRAM fro potentially making us have to cancel our wedding day!!!

 
n
Posted on October 05, 2018, 04:11 pm

I used MoneyGram one time for a small international transaction. When I tried to use it again, the website said that it encountered an error. I contacted support and they couldn't provide any help with my login and said that I should visit a MoneyGram location to send money.

 
H
Posted on September 29, 2018, 04:55 pm

This was a horrible experience using moneygram. First of all, the transaction went through and I received an email saying it was completed and that the receiver could go pick up the money. After standing in line for 30 minutes when the receiver got to an agent he was told that he could not get the money and that was all the information the agent gave him. So then I called moneygram to have them cancel the transaction which they said they did and that I would immediately get an email to verify that. I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE THAT EMAIL!!!!! So I called back and now they are telling me I have to wait 3 days before I receive that email and then an additional 5 to 10 days to be refunded my money.....DONT USE MONEYGRAM!!!!!!!!!

 
K.
Posted on September 26, 2018, 09:18 am

Just incompetent in fraud investigation. Being sending money for years. Relocated about 5 years, but within these 5 years sent over 20 transactions. Now I am being denied because of fraud. And the agent was so rude. I had my DL checked at the store, they matched my ID to the debit card being used to confirm, still was flagged fraudulent, after over 10 years of using the service, I am all of a sudden fraudulent....in the meanwhile, I have an emergency situation..They've lost their ways. will definitively inform BBB.

 
Vance Robinson
Posted on August 04, 2018, 10:11 pm

I have used Money gram for several years. Sent to the same person for years. MoneyGram has NEVER had one issue or complaint about it. Nor have I until today. Today I get an error message. And it says to call. I did, talking to a wall would have been as helpful. Said they were no longer comfortable with my business. And my account was terminated. I asked the only question that matters, why. Why would they be happy to take my money all these years for the SAME transactions and than today stop? Not for thousands of dollars. Not even hundreds. I was sending 50 US dollars. And that or 100 is what I have sent for years. They can see that. They have both of our banking information. Neither of us EVER had an issue. No charge of fraud. And my request for an explanation was met with I need to find another service. I am off Sundays. I am going to comment on EVERY review board and the BBB about it.

 
Chris
Posted on July 27, 2018, 07:26 pm

Wish I could give a minus 10 I tried to send someone a mere $10 USD. They money showed as being ready for pickup and I got a confirm number. The poor guy tires to get in 2 locations and was told it was refunded. I don't see that on the MoneyGram website - it shows as ready for pickup. I call MoneyGram and they tell me in coded language that they denied because they think something shady is going on. Mind you I've never been in trouble w the law, and if I was sending money for drugs or a mafia hit it wouldn't be $10 USD. So just know that just because MoneyGram says money is ready for pickup - it might not be. It could be cancelled and the poor soul trying to get the money is running all over town, denied, denied. Do NOT use this company.

 
Ari Bond
Posted on May 25, 2018, 05:03 am

The most f...ked up company there is. The most terrible customer service, Indians which couldn't speak a word in English (I'm an emigrant too, learn the f...ing language). Furthermore, the most terrible management and the most terrible service. They canceled my transaction because they didn't feel safe to complete it, learn the f...ing English and maybe you will understand better the answers people give you. When I went to get my money back, they said money orders only and I had to go to a different location, because the one I worked with reached its refund limits. I ended up doing a normal bank transfer, which was $ 55.00 cheaper than moneygram, and my family received about $100.00 pounds more for the same money I sent. Extremely terrible, stay away from this sh..it !

 
Scott
Posted on May 17, 2018, 07:43 am

I pay tuition for 10 students in Ghana. I have sent money their regularly for years through MoneyGram. First, MoneyGram cut me off from their online services because of "security risks" and I will, according to them, never be able to use it again. I had used it 1X using a credit card. This was caused by me wanting to make my payments directly from my bank instead of a credit card. I have an over 800 credit score and have never had issues with my credit or sending money to Ghana. Now, on Sunday May 6, 2018, when sending money the manner I've done 20+ times at CVS, I was initially denied to sending money for "security risks." The service person asked me ridiculous questions that I've never been asked before such as why was I sending money, have I met the person I'm sending the money to, how many times had I met the person I was sending the money to, when was the last time I'd seen this person. I had never been asked these before. I asked for a supervisor. I was told they'd have the same answer. I waited 5 minutes before hanging up. I then called back, was not asked any of those questions and had my money transfer approved. Getting any kind of reasonable answer to my difficulties has been impossible.

 
mustapha
Posted on April 20, 2018, 09:55 am

"Sorry but money gram is sucks" the Moroccan money gram guy working in their agency said to the receiver. and I really agree. when I went to the guy working in post Canada, he did not provide even the minimum help, what he says call them I can not do anything for you. Plus when i called i couldn't understand their question and their costumer services is really in button. but thank you you refund my money back.

 
JERRY
Posted on April 19, 2018, 08:28 am

I have been sending money to my son in federal prison for months, then all of a sudden moneygram says I violated the terms and conditions and blocked my account. They refuse to tell me what I violated saying it would be a security risk. This is a crock of sh*t, I sent 25.00 every week with no problem, sending it the same way every week.

 

Partner With CompareRemit

The world’s top remittance companies have chosen to work with CompareRemit and are already reaping the benefits. You can too. View Testimonials.
Put your brand in front of millions of active remittance users, ready to send money using your services.
Contact Us