WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
 
Your review has been submitted !

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted !

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

USA INR

₹ 64.49

USA PHP

₱ 49.80

USA MXN

Mex$ 18.50

APP
Posted on May 27, 2017, 03:06 pm

Worst experience I ever had with money transfer. I registered during the weekend and made a money transfer from Spain (Bank: BBVA) to US (Bank: Wells Fargo). On Monday the Transferwise platform informed me that Euros had been converted to USD and that the money would arrive in 2 days. It did not arrive. So on Wedenesy I contated them to get a follow up. They "requested" their US partner to trace money movements. After that point I contacted them 4 more times and got the same response: they had sent the money and their US partner was not giving them the information of where my money is. By the end of Friday my money is lost and this is causing me so much distress. We already lost a car we had reserved (1000$ reservation lost) at a car dealer because the money did not arrive on time. I wish no one else is going through this situation. It is very frustrating. If you want to sleep well keep away of this company. Lets hope the money arrives on Tuesday so that we can sleep well again. This is causing us so much stress.

 
Guru
Posted on May 24, 2017, 09:44 am

This is one of the top fraud companies available at the remittance world. They were some offers, and i referred some of my friends. All of my friends transferred the money as stated in the offer. in the end, they blocked my account and did not stated any reason. I did not get any offers money too.

 
Rizwan Ahmed
Posted on May 13, 2017, 10:48 pm

Use the below link for free money transfer using Transferwise, it is an amazing online service for money transfer with real time exchange rates. Time to get benefit from it. https://transferwise.com/u/rizwana

 
Raoji
Posted on May 13, 2017, 08:05 am

Very efficient service, my traction completed without any problem,

 
Daniel Carvalho
Posted on May 12, 2017, 08:13 am

I am reading so many bad reviews from Transferwise, I am having problems to communicate with the customer service about my money that was suppost to be in my account Thursday 5/11. I will wait until Monday 5/15 if my money dont be in my account on this time my LAWYER will contact tranferwise I wont waist my time anymore with scams.

 
Entrepreneur
Posted on May 09, 2017, 09:41 am

TransferWise has the best exchange rates and lowest fees I have seen for both personal and business transfers. I have saved so much with this service and have used them for almost 2 years now. Transfers are secure, fast, and easy. Receive your first transfer free up to $600 with this link: https://transferwise.com/u/erinc49

 
Dr.Raj
Posted on April 28, 2017, 06:13 pm

I have used transferwise quite many times now. They are certainly giving great exchange rate.. I was little worrying about to give a try but found out really well. The only painful part is they have large fee for transaction which can be avoid using sign up link transferwise.c om/u/09ee19 .I also prefer their mobile app which is super easy to access to make your transaction with super ease. Good service for your hard work savings and for your family. I will definitely recommend this to all to just give a try.

 
Gul
Posted on April 21, 2017, 07:06 am

The customer service representative responded to my feedback with a bunch of nonsense so I want to write a more detailed review of what exactly happened. When customers have concerns, transferwise customer service representatives have a tendency to lie, act as if nothing is wrong, and cover up their mistakes instead of helping with you. I realized that the person who responded to my comment below has done the same thing. Stop replying to your customer concerns with a bunch of nonsense. If you have a good and honest explanation of why your customer service representatives lied repeatedly to me (see below), go ahead and write a response. If you want proof, I can post a copy of all the emails showing that your customer representatives lied to me and told me that they successfully transferred the money even though they did not. Write a response if you have a good explanation of your dishonest and unethical practices; if not, stop writing a bunch of nonsense here. I sent four transfers; the first one arrived without any problems. The remaining three have been a nightmare. A couple days after I paid the money, they contacted me to request a lot of documents: personal information about the person receiving the money; my bank statements showing where the money is originated from; and proof of documents showing how the money will spent. Initially, I thought that this is a security check but later I felt that this is a trap they use to delay your money transfer so that they can use your money to earn money. I sent all of the documents they requested within the same day. Days passed; no response, no transfer, and no money. I contacted them to ask why they still did not transfer my money and how long it will take for them to complete my transfers. After many emails and phone calls; I was able to get some responses from their customer service representatives, who told me that they completed my transfers and they will send me confirmation within 2 days. They blamed my bank (the bank where I sent the money) for delays and suggested me to check with my bank to see why they are delaying payment. When I checked with my bank, they informed me that they never received the money; they were 100% sure that the money has not been transferred. As a result, I contacted Transferwise to request the details of transfers (e.g. confirmation number, date, time of transfers); they couldn’t provide any documents showing that they actually transferred the money. A few more days passed and I still did not receive my money. When I repeatedly asked them to send me confirmation including the date and time they transferred the money to my bank account, one of the customer service representatives finally told me the truth (he told me that they still did not transfer my money and that is why my bank couldn’t locate the payments). Because of all of these delays, lies, and unethical practices, I experienced a significant amount of distress; missed my due dates; and had to pay penalty because of late payments. Their website doesn’t provide honest information about how long it takes for them to transfer money and the type of documents they may request. When you inquire about delays, they lie to you and tell you that they completed your transfers (even though they did not) and blame your bank in a very unprofessional and unethical way. Also, it shows it in your Transferwise account that your transfer is completed even though it is not completed. When you ask them proof of transfers (after a number of emails filled with lies), they finally tell you the truth that they did not transfer your money. I experienced a lot of distress about something that shouldn’t cause any stress. I lost money because of missing my due dates. And I felt extremely frustrated by the fact that they lied to me many times and acted as if nothing is wrong instead of accepting their limitations and trying to help me. Please run away from this company; use other professional, and ethical companies.

 
Gul
Posted on April 19, 2017, 04:27 pm

The worst money transfer experience I had. After transferring the money, they requested some documents to determine where the money is originated from. I sent the documents they requested (documents showing that the money I am transfering comes from my salary and savings) within an hour but they put a hold on the money and did not release it for days. The customer service did not respond to my email inquiries regarding why they are not releasing the money or whether there is anything else I need to be doing to speed up the process. It has been a very stressful process as I waited for a long time for them to release my money and missed the due dates of my payments. In addition, because of their attitude (e.g., not releasing the money and not responding to inquiries about why they are not releasing it), I started wondering whether TransferWise is a scam and whether they will ever transfer the money. Please stay away from Transferwise and use other, more professional services

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 21, 2017, 03:21 am
Dear Gul.

Really sorry for this long process you had to go through.

Some payments may require extra information in order to be completed from our end. We must comply with all international and local regulations when delivering them. Keep in mind that local banks and their financial regulators might require detailed information to authorize a payment, e.g. in the USA with the FinCEN, in Colombia with the Superintendencia Financiera, etc.... among many others worldwide.

Regarding our system and how it displays the payment status, we're improving this feature so it can show more detailed information and to avoid any misunderstandings. Our sincere apologies for this.

We don't want to delay any payment, nor is our mission to make this process long for our customers at all. We don't make any profit by delaying a payment, since we don't play with our customers' money.

Feel free to get back to us via support@transferwise.com

TransferWise Support team
Sonya
Posted on April 19, 2017, 10:08 am

I have been using transferwise for over 2 years to send money between my UK and US accounts. I've never had an issue and up until now would have rated them very highly. Until this last transfer, which started out fine, money was taken from my account in the UK as normal, then with no explanation whatsoever, the transfer was cancelled and my account deactivated. I'm thinking it may be because they tried to verify and my phone number wasn't up to date, since I changed it recently, but I honestly don't know. I don't see why they can't give you an explanation, just make you feel like a damn criminal. Absolute disgrace. Don't use them.

 
Ayodele
Posted on April 14, 2017, 12:24 pm

Worst transfer company I ever used. After sending $600 from the USA to London I was told my account was closed for no reason but yet the money was taken out of my account but my recipient didn't receive anything. I've been calling the company for a refun for over 2 weeks now and every one I spoke with told me my refund has been processed and it'll be in my account by the next day and it isn't. The last guy I spoke with today April 14th 2017 said it's still being processed. So I don't know who to believe. PLZ RUN AWAY FROM TRANSFERWISE. I used XOOM.com they are associated with PayPal same exchange rate as TransferWise and my recipient got the funds directly in their account in less than an hour. Also the last peron I spoke with from TransferWise was very rude told me to go do what ever I want and has no clue why it's taking too long whatso ever. He's words "wait until you get your money refunded if you can't you can do whatever you like".

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 21, 2017, 03:47 am
Hi Ayodele.

Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback to us. We're really sorry for this experience.

In some cases, and due to how e work, we can't proceed with certain payments and must refund the amount back. Some payment methods may take a bit longer to show the amount back in the original account where the money came from; e.g. when paying from the USA with the ACH Direct Debit system, it might take some 5 working days to show the amount back in the account. If a weekend is in between, then the process is delayed a bit more.

Really sorry for this hassle and this refund should have reached you already.

Don't hesitate contacting us via support@transferwise.com if you need any information.

Best wishes.
The TransferWise Support Team
Maiden Lane
Posted on April 04, 2017, 02:43 pm

Not sure why, but my account was deactivated even after I went through the trouble of sending my legal DL and then--get this--a selfie of me actually HOLDING the ID, as they requested. Now it's true, I'm an ugly bastard, but that shouldn't have been enough to close the account without so much as a how do you do.

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 17, 2017, 11:32 pm
Dear Maiden Lane.

As a financial institutions, there are cases where we're unable to proceed with the payments and we require further details. We're regulated by the FCA (also in every market where we receive and deliver funds), so it's a very strict process which unfortunately we cannot overlook.

Our team has been in touch via email explaining the situation. Please, feel free to get back to us should you require any additional information about it.

Best wishes.
TransferWise Support Team.
Maiden Lane
Posted on April 18, 2017, 05:41 am
Transferwise, your team hasn't said crap via email aside from the canned rote response that I violated the agreement, which is unusual since I never had a chance to even use your service. I know all about FCA compliance; I'm a central banker.
TransferWise
Posted on April 20, 2017, 06:37 am
Hi Maiden,

We´re really sorry for inconvenience. We have sent you an email on April 10th with further information. We would be more than happy to get it sorted, but we would need some more information from you. We would appreciate your call, you can reach us from Japan: +8 134 589 4624 or US: +1 888 908 3833 Or alternatively, please get back to us on support@transferwise.com and let us know when would be a good time for you to receive a call.

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Best regards,
TransferWise Support Team
Dinoz
Posted on March 09, 2017, 10:04 am

Trying to send money from US to Germany. First time I tried they took over five banking days to may small deposits to verify my account. Had to cancel that transaction due to delay. 1. Sent them feedback and they promised if I tried again that they would make sure to monitor the transaction and ensure timely deposits. Deposits were faster. Completed the verification process by entering the numbers. They a stated "transaction complete" but is WAS NOT! 2. Then they sent a new email requiring a copy of my passport. This is NOT required under US banking rules; maybe under Estonian rules where they bank. A new, certified, US drivers license should be accepted. There was nothing in their ads about these ongoing verification requirements, nor on their website, or in their initial emails. 3. Reluctantly, tried to scan and upload passport. Used every format they suggested. Each time I get message "this file is larger than 10MB, try another format. Even using iPhone with reduced format it would not accept file, even with drag and drop. 4. The first person that answered my call with problem was rude and unhelpful. Kept quoting banking rules and regulations that I know are not true. 5. After two unanswered phone calls, 35 rings and 45 rings, a talked with a nice lady who was very polite and sympathetic, but wasn't sure what the problem was. She suggested email, but warned it was not as secure. 5. After several emails another person said to email it to him. It would not go through because their email system filters out all attachments. At this point all I can say is that there lack of full disclosure of verification requirements is tantamount to fraud. Their claim of 2-3 working days to complete transactions is false advertising. This company has potential but their lack of integrity and tendency to gloss over problems makes it very questionable to use their services for the near future.

 
TransferWise
Posted on March 13, 2017, 07:08 am
Hi Dinoz,

Thank you for your feedback, it´s much appreciated as it helps us improve. We´re very sorry that the process has been inconvenient for you, this is definitely not our intention.

We follow strict regulations and take the security very seriously. Therefore we need to verify all the customers. You can read more about it here http://bit.ly/2eXz6Es This is only to make sure that TransferWise is safe for everyone.

We´re sorry that this took longer than expected for you. Good news is that once the verification has been completed, your future transfers will be much faster.

We hope you consider giving us another chance and if you have any questions, please don´t hesitate to contact us on support@transferwise.com, we´re happy to help.

With best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Natalia
Posted on March 02, 2017, 04:05 pm

I live in Australia and I sent some money to mum mom in Brazil. The money was transferred 11 days ago, or I mean, the money was debited from my bank account 11 days ago but my mom still hasn't got the money. I called a transferwise customer service and he told me that everything seems to be ok and the money should've arrived on the other side on Tuesday 21st feb. I wonder, WHERES IS MY MONEY??? Where's is my moms money???? Is it fair that my mother is paying late fees because you guys didn't deliver the money in the right time? What am I supposed to do now? Pay the extra costs of the failed transaction????

 
TransferWise
Posted on March 13, 2017, 06:55 am
Hi Natalia,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback, we appreciate it. We have sent out the money 21st of February and it normally takes 1 working day to reach to the recipient. However, it´s possible that the recipient bank had some trouble to locate the funds for some reason. We have forwarded you the proof of payment, so that your mother can contact the bank and seems that it has been sorted.

However, if you have any questions, please don´t hesitate to get back to us on support@transferwise.com, we´re happy to help.

With best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Tarush
Posted on March 01, 2017, 02:57 pm

You guys are terrible. No information is provided on timing of what part of the process will take how long - and to top it all up the customer service assistant was rude and told me it is my fault for not understanding how things work.

 
TransferWise
Posted on March 12, 2017, 04:07 am
Hi Tarush,

Thank you for reaching out to us. We´re very sorry for any inconvenience and that the information wasn´t clear enough. You can check out a bit about the transfer speed from here http://bit.ly/2aFHa0z Unfortunately I was not able to locate the transfer, but feel free to contact us on support@transferwise.com, so we can have a closer look.

Best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Archie MacKinnon
Posted on February 28, 2017, 03:54 pm

I have not used Transferwise but have compared their conversion rates versus Canadianforex and the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) who I do use frequently. The transfer rate today for $2500.00 Canadian dollars to US dollar was as follows: RBC CND $2500 converted to US $1847.88 TRANSFERWISE CND $2500 converted to US $1859.66. CANADIANFOREX CAN $2500 converted to US $1867.75. I did not compare Knightsbridgefx which operates in Toronto. RBC had the most expensive conversion but not by much and the funds are immediately available! Transferwise was in the middle and Canadianforex was the best conversion by say $20.00. However, when funds are transferred to the destination account there is a US $15.00 charge by RBC. In this example RBC looks the best as funds are there immediately if you are transferring to your own US account

 
doug
Posted on February 22, 2017, 02:28 pm

I just sent money and all these terrible reviews have me worried, good lord thank god I alny sent a test amount.

 
Rajiv
Posted on February 12, 2017, 03:32 pm

I have used transferwise quite many times now. They are certainly giving great exchange rate. I was little worrying about to give a try but found out really well. The only painful part is they have large fee for transaction which can be avoid using sign up link transferwise.c om/u/09ee19 .I also prefer their mobile app which is super easy to access to make your transaction with super ease. Good service for your hard work savings and for your family. I will definitely recommend this to all to just give a try. view less

 
A.Ruiter
Posted on February 08, 2017, 10:57 am

It is not holding the Guaranteed exchange rate for 48 hours At step one when you push 'send money it is guaranteeing you the exchange rate given at that moment for 48 hours. This is not true! It is only holding it for 30 minutes but you won't find out till after you completed everything! It is only holding the rate at step 4! This is misleading and can end up costing you a lot of money when you sit on the guaranteed exchange rate waiting for the right moment to exchange your money.

 
TransferWise
Posted on March 12, 2017, 03:14 am
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback and we´re sorry for any inconvenience. We use the real mid-market rate that is updated on our web page every minute. We do offer the guaranteed rate for many currencies, however, it will be fixed once you have confirmed the transfer. We have also been in touch with you via email and if you have any further questions, don´t hesitate to get back to us, we´re happy to help.

Best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Amin Shah
Posted on February 04, 2017, 03:59 am

Always awesome as expected, keep it up

 
Randy Brent
Posted on December 22, 2016, 07:37 am

I did a total of 5 transfers recently and 4 out of 5 were disasters. Rather than dwell on the problems each was plagued with as I don't think there is room to write the total experience I would like to offer some suggestions to make the service better. When it works, it's a good service. First would be to make the bank account you are about to wire money to verifiable as a Transferwise account. I called the bank and asked if the account I was about to wire a large sum of money to was indeed a Transferwise account or is this a scam. The bank was unable to verify the account was Transferwise so I was uncomfortable wiring more money than I could afford to loose to an unverified account. Just leave a note with the bank that anyone who calls to see if it is a Transferwise account, just forgo the security BS and just say yes. There needs to be security on the sending end that your money is indeed going to a Transferwise account and not some hacked website account that looks like Transferwise. Second, when doing the ACH, take the money. Just talk the money when the ACH is done and the e mail is sent confirming the money is received. If you don't take the money at least do not send an e mail saying you did. If I do a debit to my account and you confirm you received it, whatever money in my account 2 days later should not include the money you say you have. Third. Most everyone understands or at least thinks Transferwise needs to hold the money a few days to make money on the money flow. Stop advertising the money will be there in 1 to 2 days. It's never happened. Just be honest and say; We use your money for a few days and when we feel we have made enough, we send it on hopefully before you're too upset. This way we can keep our transfer costs low to you. Just realize we have to make money to save you money and I at least will be happy with the delay and I can tell the people receiving the money,,I'm using Transferwise, it takes a few days longer but I'm saving enough on my end to make a little inconvenience on your end OK. Just be patient, it will be there eventually. It goes over a lot better than it will be there in 1 or 2 days and a week or two later,,, nothing but a series of unfulfilled promises. Fourth, Transferwise has a good support staff. Easy to talk to and very professional. Just tell them to be honest. When Transferwise screws something up. Don't cover it up, don't pass it off. Just tell them to say we have a shortcoming here and we see it now. We'll get it fixed. Covering up promises and not coming through are disturbing. Let me add. There's are many scams out there. When you go to the bank and are about to wire a large sum of money don't think for a minute that you're not in a Hot Seat. You have to listen to the bank's speach about fraud, you have to acknowledge you are comfortable sending the money to instructions given over the internet. When you do this and things do not go as advertised. It creates stress like no other in your customers. The feeling you sent money, that's not where it's supposed to be when it was supposed to be is heart attack material. Don't put your customers through the stress. Fifth, Make everyone aware they may be investigated in the transfer process. Make them aware their transfer may be delayed as they are required to provide details where the money came from, what it is being used for, and they may have to provide personal information about the people sending and/or receiving the money. Also make people aware the details of their purchase may be scrutinized and their transfer be delayed while Transferwise determines if what they are sending the money for is a good value or sensible purchase. I was questioned and had to explain why the item I was sending the money for costs so much before the Transfer would go through. I wasn't aware Transferwise was an expert on the value of what I was buying and their opinion of the value of what I was buying had to be OK before the money would go through. Just tell people somewhere to be prepared to justify their expense, provide personal information about other people as a part of the transfer.

 
TransferWise
Posted on December 23, 2016, 05:35 am
Hi Randy,

Thank you for giving us your feedback. We´re always trying to improve, so your feedback is much appreciated.

Unfortunately we are not able to make sure that all the banks are aware of our service. However, you can always double check our bank account details from here http://bit.ly/2ijURo3

We are always trying to be as fast as possible and we´re not able to hold the money longer than it´s necessary to make the transfer. Please note that it can take up to 4 working days for the funds to reach to our system when using ACH direct debit.

Due to the way we are regulated, we sometimes require some extra information and unfortunately it´s not always foreseen. This is only to make sure that TransferWise is safe for everyone. We are very sorry that this process has been uncomfortable for you.

We hope you consider giving us another chance, if you have any questions, let us know on support@transferwise.com, we´re happy to help.

Best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Randy Brent
Posted on December 19, 2016, 01:05 pm

This transfer took forever. Paid 12/3 and sent 12/16. First problem was I initiated the payment 11/24 and funded it 12/3. By that time the rate lock had expired and the exchange was shown to be close on the day the money was sent. They don't tell you that the rate is not locked even though it is shown the time you send the money. It floats or something but it never left anyway. It was cancelled to my good fortune and I initiated another transfer the same day and the rate was significantly less. Received the confirmation the money was received and on it's way and it took longer than it was supposed too.

 
TransferWise
Posted on December 21, 2016, 07:43 am
Hi Randy.

First of all we'd like to thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience.

In some cases we're required to contact the customer to get further information about the payment and it may delay the payment process. We're working on making it as fast as possible.

As for the exchange rate we automatically stop any payment if the rate drops more than 3%, so that we wouldn't convert the money if the rate is not convenient. This is to help you avoid losing money and have more control over the payment. You can also add a rate limit to the transfer so that any percentage change won't affect you and we'll be able to stop the payment.

We hope to help you more with your next transfer so that you don't have to go through this process and to make sure that the transfer is done with a rate that's more convenient for you.

Please, feel free to reach us via support@transferwise.com so we can help you further.

Best wishes,
Juan from TransferWise Support.
Susan
Posted on December 10, 2016, 11:58 pm

I've been using Transferwise for more than a year. Lately their service is getting poor. I sent $ to my sister in December 2nd. After5 days they already debited my money from my bank account and still transfer is pending for "converting $". Customer service email instructed me to get the 6 number code from my bank account information and enter in Transferwise website, but there is no 6 number code whatever. I just requested my transfer be cancelled as my recipient is no longer needing it. The savings I could have saved is not worth the stress I got.

 
TransferWise
Posted on December 15, 2016, 04:06 am
Hi Susan,

Thank you for your feedback. It´s much appreciated as we´re always trying to improve. In most cases when you pay for your transfer with ACH Bank Debit, the money reaches to us in one working day. However, it can occasionally take up to 4 working days.

In some cases, we provide a 4 digit 'speed code' that will appear on your bank statement. This is not necessary for your transfer to be completed, but it can make things faster.

We hope you consider giving us another chance in the future and if you have any questions, let us know on support@transferwise.com, we´re happy to help.

Best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
AA
Posted on December 08, 2016, 08:51 am

Worst customer services, I sent a payment on Nov.29 and they are showing it has been transferred, but it never received on the other end. Calling everyday for three days, but they do not have any update. Moreover, no supervisor available to escalate the service, no email confirmation that they have received my complaint.

 
TransferWise
Posted on December 15, 2016, 04:02 am
Hi AA,

Thank you for leaving us the feedback, it´s much appreciated. We´re sorry that you had some hassle with your transfer. We have been in touch with you over the email and it seems that the issue has been solved now.

However, if you have any questions, please let us know on support@transferwise.com, we´re happy to help.

Best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Jessie
Posted on November 16, 2016, 11:53 pm

It has been over a week since I have tried to send money and of course they have taken the money from my account and told me it would be transferred in 0-1 business days and it has listed this status for over a week. This is ridiculous. Don't use this service. They don't contact you with any kind of updates.

 
TransferWise
Posted on November 18, 2016, 05:13 am
Hi Jessie,

Thank you for your review. We always try to improve, so your feedback is much appreciated. We try to make the transfers as fast as possible. However, it can take a bit longer sometimes. When you are sending money from USD with ACH direct debit, it can take up to 5 working days for the money to clear to our system.

We are sorry that it has taken longer than expected. Your transfer has been completed and sent out, we have also notified you via email. Hope you consider giving us another chance in the future and if you have any questions, let us know on support@transferwise.com, we´re happy to help.

Best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Warren
Posted on November 16, 2016, 02:10 pm

I set up an account at TransferWise, foolishly gave all the sensitive information, and authorized to take $1000 out of my bank account. I was surprised that no confirmation arrived in my email, so the next day I tried to see what was going on accessing my account; I received a message "The user is deactivated". No reason given. Hmm... Undiscouraged, I attempted to call TransferWise but, surprise, surprise, no phone number is given anywhere on their website. However, one may click on "Help". I did and was told to sign in. I can't because my account was deactivated. So, I finished the grand circle. My money was taken, no confirmation, no way to contact Transferwise in ANY manner. It looks as an elaborate scam. I called my bank to block any TransferWise transactions. Beware!

 
TransferWise
Posted on November 17, 2016, 10:50 pm
Hi Warren,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We are very sorry for the inconvenience and for the unpleasant experience. We would be happy to check what may have caused the issue. However, unfortunately I was not able to locate your profile with this information.

If you go to https://transferwise.com/contact, you can simply select "I don´t have an account", if you can´t access to yours at the moment and you will find our phone numbers there. Alternatively, you can send us an email to support@transferwise.com.

We are looking forward to hearing from you to have a closer look and sorry again for all the hassle.

Best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Mukesh Rawat
Posted on November 16, 2016, 06:35 am

Dear Team, I have transferred £ 9000 on the exchange Rate 1 GBP=85.11 INR with transaction number#11920717 via transfer wise site on date 14-NOV at 7:45 AM.. The Money was sent on reduced rate that is 1 GBP=84.45 INR on 15-NOV without prior notification to the sender. Could you help me and get refund my money from Transfer wise? Here is my details: Transfer wise Membership Number: P1161820 Transaction Number: #11920717 Thanks & regards, Mukesh Rawat

 
TransferWise
Posted on November 17, 2016, 10:49 pm
Hi Mukesh,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review.

Firstly I'd like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. I understand you've already been in contact with our customer support also and if you have any additional questions or concerns you're very welcome to reach out to us again.

Your transfer #11920717 was set up on November 13th at 7:45am UK time. We did not receive your deposit until 7:54am UK time November 14th. For GBP transfers, we offer a rate lock for 24 hours, meaning as long as we receive the deposit within those 24 hours, you will receive the rate live at the time you set up your order. Since we did not receive the deposit until after the rate lock expired, your funds were converted at the mid-market rate live at the time of conversion. You can read more about our guaranteed rate here: https://transferwise.com/help/article/2200504/rate/guaranteed-rate.

Do reach out to us if you have any other questions.

Regard,
Silver from TransferWise
Bhushan
Posted on November 13, 2016, 09:46 pm

Great Service , transferred money without any issues.

 
Dr KenLEY
Posted on October 27, 2016, 10:49 am

I had similar experience with "deactivation" and was not made aware of this or the reason. So after several days of waiting, I wanted to see if money was received by my brother...and thats when use( but was never emailed nor called) that there is is mystery deactivation and impotence of money transfer....BAD BAD business procedures. I am CEO of a non-profit and spend 80 % of my time overseas and do a lot of transfers as well...DISAPPOINTED

 
TransferWise
Posted on October 31, 2016, 09:08 am
Dear Dr. Kenley.

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Please, rest assured that it isn't our goal to leave our customers pending or without notifying them of any issue surrounding their payments.

Our team has been in touch with you via support@transferwise.com with all the necessary information required to proceed in this case.

Please, feel free to get back to us at any moment so we can have it sorted in no time.

Best wishes,
Juan from TransferWise Support.
malini
Posted on October 11, 2016, 02:02 pm

I have used them 3 times, and they have given me the rate promised and sent the money in 2-3 days. I like the feature that once you send money, the next time you can just click on "repeat" and not have to enter all the information again (if you are sending money to the same person).

 
Honestopinion1
Posted on September 04, 2016, 11:28 pm

As most of us, I took a lot of time to review the top transfer services for remittance. Transferwise stood out because of their aggressive marketing on forums. Their website is neat and professional. And the process if pretty easy to use. I registered, provided my personal info and THEN, they deactivated my account. Even before using the service at all for any transfers. Essentially they took my personal info and locked it and said that you signed our terms and conditions and so we have discretion to do this. Leave the fact that its out of left field. Whats surprised me most was all the pleasantly prior to getting the customers private info is now replaced with cold responses from emails that are written where they won't identify themselves. We are all taught when something sounds too good to be true, it probably is. This is a classic example. I am not sure what Transferwise does with customers info after roping them in but its an underbelly of what to any new customer will look like a pretty front. Unless they can enlighten or resolve such issues, its my honest opinion that each person use another service that is reasonably priced but do not fall for the switch and bait scheme where you personal info is taken and God knows what they do with that data!

 
TransferWise
Posted on November 18, 2016, 05:35 am
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback, it´s much appreciated as it helps us to improve our service. We are very sorry for the inconvenience and the for the unpleasant experience you had. We take the security very seriously and your personal details are safe with us, you can read more about it here http://bit.ly/2fCKQjA.

We are sorry for all the hassle, we would like to have a closer look on your case, please send us an email to appeals@transferwise.com and if you have any questions, let us know, we´re happy to help.

Best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
saranggiri
Posted on August 26, 2016, 04:59 am

Faster transfer. But dont be deceived by amount on compareremit site. Amount to be received on compareremit site is not what user gets, he gets lesser on actual Transferwise site. Be careful!!

 
edu_lesz
Posted on August 22, 2016, 07:33 am

They kept my money for more than 16 days, and they still owe me. I paid the max amount allowed to transfer, after few days I received an email form the Transferwise regarding some problem in my transaction, I did the adjusts to continue and they didn't. Immediately I canceled the process and asked for refund, then all my nightmare started. Everytime that I started to talk with "support", nobody recognised my case, most of them said that I never paid the Transferwise. I almost had a colapse.... After tons of proofs and tons of emails with all "support team", they "FOUND" my case and decided to refound my money. But for my suprise, they return an incorrect value, with a couple bucks less..... I'm still fighting with Transferwise to return all my money. In resume, Transferwise: - No support. - Nobody knows what's happening with the clients. - They keep your money as they wish. - Strange methods

 
TransferWise
Posted on September 13, 2016, 09:07 am
Hi Ed.
Thank you for your feedback, it is quite useful for us to continue improving our product and deliver better results.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience and hassle you have faced. Certain currencies have specific requirements and refund costs that escape our control. We're working on changing this and improving it for our customers, but some aspects are still out of our hands.

Unfortunately some countries and banks have an extra cost for refunding money back to the original account. Even though we sent back the full amount we receive, the original bank will still charge an extra fee for handling the incoming payment.

We understand the situation is not the most suitable one and we're working closely with local banks to avoid this from happening, so you and the rest of our customers wouldn't be negatively affected by it. However, this process can take some time and there's no ETA yet for it.

Please, don´t hesitate to contact us on support@transferwise.com if you have any questions. We would be happy to help.
alia.douglas
Posted on August 11, 2016, 10:59 am

I was really surprised to read any negative reviews - maybe it's different for other countries? I was transferring from Brazil to USA. The exchange rate was almost the same that I saw on Google (i.e. the commercial rate, NOT the tourist rate), and the fees, while they weren't truly cheap, they were still much cheaper than a wire transfer or Western Union - both of which have the same fees, but offer a much worse exchange rate (usually the tourist rate). The only downside, which is not TW's fault but a country limitation, is that I can only send R$9999,00 per month. That's Brazil's fault, though - and it was easy enough to just ask my husband and best friend to create accounts and I paid the "bill" out of my own bank account. I'll continue to use this service over and over again. The entire thing takes less than 5 minutes once you're set up in the site. I'm so totally sold. The only thing cheaper would be trading directly with someone else, which is risky.

 
gotoneelesh
Posted on August 07, 2016, 02:32 am

Everywhere they have mentioned no hidden fee but the fact of the matter is they are the one charging one of the highest fee on transfer. even on the first money transfer.

 
TransferWise
Posted on August 09, 2016, 09:22 am
Hey Neelesh.

Sorry for any misunderstanding. We have a very low fee for our currency routes and we show it upfront since the first step of the payment process, that's what we mean when we say no hidden fees for our customers.

Plus, we always use the mid-market rate to convert your money, and there are no fees for your recipient. You can check here our currency routes and fees involved for each one of them: https://transferwise.com/pricing

We're sorry if there was any confusion while making a payment or if any information wasn't clear since the beginning. Feel free to contact us to support@transferwise.com in case you need any help.

Best wishes,
akuttuva
Posted on August 03, 2016, 02:24 pm

Very user-friendly interface / website. Especially compared to cluncky interfaces like ICICI m2i. So far it was a easy and streamlined process. Will check how the transfer itself goes!

 
truancylounge
Posted on July 25, 2016, 07:10 pm

Lot of hidden costs, as you increase the transfer amount the transfer fee goes up. You can get a better deal on Remitly. I would not recommend TransferWise to send money to India.

 
TransferWise
Posted on August 01, 2016, 01:30 am
Hi LalithKiran,

We do pride ourselves on being totally transparent with our fee. We have one upfront fee which you can view according to the currency route here: https://goo.gl/2nIN4E. There are no hidden fees in our conversion rate as we use the mid-market rate which is the fairest one there is. Our rate is therefore live and updated from Reuters.com every 10 minutes.

We welcome you to reach out to our support team if you'd like to discuss the rate we use and fee we charge: support@transferwise.com
almittas
Posted on July 13, 2016, 04:05 am

Transferwise is amazing and by far the best way to transfer money abroad. I am using it all the time and gives by far the best rate that its competitors without hidden fees. In most cases my request is processed in 24 hours.

 
almittas
Posted on June 22, 2016, 02:26 am

I am an extremely satisfied Transferwise user. It is by far the best way to transfer money in a fast, reliable way and with really low fees. I have tried many different ways myself and it is really in front of all of its competitors.

 
coolraaj15
Posted on June 19, 2016, 12:49 am

High transfer fees, I dont recommend to people if you are not sending first time. for example : Today they are offering 67.07 but actual comes 66.40 when you deduct transfer fee, However Placid : 66.82, WU : 66.70, few others offering 66.60 which is far better than TransferWise. However these companies are not as transparent like TransferWise but they will provide higher rates.

 
TransferWise
Posted on July 15, 2016, 12:36 am
Hi RajV,

Sorry to hear we didn't live up to the expectations. We always encourage shopping around and finding the best rate. In the end all that matters is how much money you end up receiving.

From our end we do indeed try to be as transparent as possible and we always offer you the mid-market rate. If two people trade their currencies using that, then neither side makes a profit or a loss. We believe that's fair for everyone. I hope we're the right service for you next time and should you ever have any questions we're always available for contact :)
interstellabellas
Posted on May 31, 2016, 03:10 pm

Quick Reliable and Trust worthy no hidden fees straight forward service no haggling at the bank over paperwork seamless online transaction. This is my unbiased consumer review because lord knows transfers can be a pain and this was finally the first company I have come across that was pain free :D IN-JOY

 
ildar666
Posted on May 26, 2016, 12:16 pm

I would not recommend this company at all. I have found promo code to send money at no charge using Transferwise; however, the promo code was not working. I have contacted support team: Aleksandr Kozlov and Fernando Garcia. Fernando replied to my email stating the promo code is not working stating it is for new customers only and there is no information of that promo code for new customers only. Then, Fernando Garcia emails me stating that: "Is not our fault if they are offering the wrong link and wrong information due this website is not an official affiliate". This website is in Spanish and we were corresponding in English as well I was writing him from the USA. So many unprofessional manners from Transferwise.

 
TransferWise
Posted on June 01, 2016, 09:20 am
It seems there was some confusion around the free transfer link. Its difficult to say what happened from my end without looking up the conversation.

I would also like to apologize up front for the bad communication you experienced. I would really love to give this another look and hopefully we can figure something out together. If you are willing to give us another chance, then feel free to send us an email to support@transferwise.com and address it to Mihkel Stint.

Hope you have a great start to the week regardless!
bolamichael
Posted on May 25, 2016, 04:29 am

I used TransferWise and I am happy with the rate, I will be using this service again.

 
sandipanbemal
Posted on May 20, 2016, 12:18 pm

best rate easy to set up and within 2 business day it will go to ur indian account ,if you have this below referral link then you can send 750$ without ny fees and if you calculate you will get best rate at list 50pf/1$ xxxxx.yyy use my link you will get 0 fees for 750$

 
akbarice30
Posted on May 19, 2016, 08:01 am

Excellent service, Highest competitve rate in comparision to all, Used it again

 
bobmeeta
Posted on May 18, 2016, 04:02 pm

ABSOLUTELY PROFESSIONAL COMPANY- ITS UNMEATABLE. A LITTLE LOWER RATES, BUT THAT YOU MUST WEIGH IN THE EQUATION. TOTALLY SATISFIED.

 
akbarice30
Posted on May 13, 2016, 08:23 am

Dear Friends, this is giving an awesome rate !!!!!!! 66.92 i got . in comparison to all others which are relatively low close to 66.20/30.

 
featherc
Posted on April 30, 2016, 01:17 am

Superb service! I guess I've now used Transferwise more than a dozen times over the past year or so. They are undoubtedly far cheaper than any bank that I've ever dealt with. The big surprise for me was that they are also much faster then the banks. I live in Greece and I receive a private UK pension. The pension provider's bank previously sent my monthly payments with a special currency exchange rate around half of standard bank rates and they did not apply the usual fixed transfer charge, in other words a very good deal. Transferwise now gives me a faster service at half the cost again. Last month my Euros were available in my Greek account just 6 hours after I requested the transfer from my UK bank. That is an exception but I don't think I've ever had to wait as long as 24 hours. Finally their systems are very user friendly. It understandably takes some time to link accounts the first time but from then on repeat transactions take next to no time.

 
shuklarajiv37
Posted on April 22, 2016, 04:03 pm

I have used transferwise quite many times now. They are certainly giving great exchange rate. I was little worrying about to give a try but found out really well. The only painful part is they have large fee for transaction which can be avoid using sign up link transferwise.c om/u/09ee19 .I also prefer their mobile app which is super easy to access to make your transaction with super ease. Good service for your hard work savings and for your family. I will definitely recommend this to all to just give a try. view less

 
shuklarajiv37
Posted on April 16, 2016, 08:00 am

I have used transferwise quite many times now. They are certainly giving great exchange rate. I was little worrying about to give a try but found out really well. The only painful part is they have large fee for transaction. I also prefer their mobile app which is super easy to access to make your transaction with super ease. Good service for your hard work savings and for your family. I will definitely recommend this to all to just give a try.