USA IND

₹ 69.22

USA PHL

₱ 51.38

USA MEX

Mex$ 19.13

WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

Select Corridors

Your Alerts Are Set

Chris
Posted on June 22, 2019, 08:57 am

Brilliant Service. I’ve used it a few times to move money and it’s been done fast and securely. Saved a large amount I would have otherwise lost to currency exchange fees and poor conversion rates from banks - saving money is earning money! The app and customer service are great too. I’ve received a quick and helpful responses when asking them questions. Also got £500 of my first transfer for free having joined using a friend’s link. If you are thinking of joining, please feel free to use mine and you will get your first £500 or equivalent transfer for free too. transferwise.com/u/christopherd59

 
Olga Pomerbasch
Posted on June 20, 2019, 05:47 am

CUSTOMER SUPPORT +1-8OO-648-162O.. lus a fair, low cost fee that’s clear and upfront. Founded in London and launched back in 2011, TransferWise has attracted world renowned investors and gained countless awards for its innovation in the money transfer industry. TransferWise operates in the US through licensed banking partners who are registered with FinCEN, the US Treasury Department that supervises financial institutions for compliance. TransferWise has become

 
Uchechi
Posted on June 19, 2019, 03:20 am

On the 6th of June, I tried sending €71 from Nigeria to a South African bank account. I paid using my local currency (naira) MasterCard, and I got a response saying payment received. On the dashboard, I was told the recipient will get the money by 10th. I logged in on the 7th to track the payment, and the duration shifted to 10th June. So, on the 10th of June, I tried logging in and it kept saying wrong info. I clicked on "forgot password" and I went through the password reset mail to change it and BOOM! " account deactivated ". Being that this is my very first txn with TW, I freaked out. I sent a mail and waited a few hours to get a reply and didn't see one so I Called their customer care which was expensive as per call rate and the rep said that the txn was cancelled and a refund was already processed on d 7th (Friday) and I should get it by 3-10 working days. Later j got a mail stating that I needed to submit some docs to have my account reactivated., and that my refund was being processed. Then for the first time, I decided to check TW reviews, and yes I was shocked by all the negative reviews based mostly on deactivation of accounts, the same issue I was having. I became really scared and started thinking of how to raise back the money to replace the €71 cos i already believed TW scammed me. On the 11th, I took time tobgo through my bankn statement and realiaed that tge moneynfor TW was still in my current balance, and so iwent to my bank reporting that TW was a scam site and I wanted them to revert the money from my current balance to my available balance, BUT they said they couldn't do that as I initiated the txn and them doing whatnj asked would be illegal and they could be sued. On the 14th, I sent a mail requesting that I get a txn cancelled mail as a proof I'd send to the recipient that the delay was not my fault. Well, it's 17th and no reply yet. Today being 19th (9 working days), I checked my account balance that the money has been returned to my available balance. So, I rated TW 3 starts because they didn't do the txn I, and for the lack of notice and pre-notices. But they refunded me in the window they said they would so that's a plus. I am going back to my bank to tell them I was wrong in calling TW a scam. I want to also tell people that when you take time to write a negative review, and your issue eventually gets resolved, PLS and PLS do well to come back and update ur post, bcos it helps alot, not just to the prospective clients, but also to those in trouble and the merchants. So, thanks TW for refunding me on time. Buy really work on your business structure. Thanks.

 
V. Djurovich
Posted on May 28, 2019, 06:40 am

SCAMMERS AND THIEVES, STAY AWAY! I have sent all requested documents and info and got my account verified. After that I got two payments for legally and hardworking earned money from well-known company that have impeccable reputation. TransferWise simply deactivated my account without any warning, question or explanation and stolen 680$ that I had on my account. I literary did nothing illegal, nothing wrong or against their T&C or anything that could have resulted in account deactivation. I emailed support believing that it was due to some mistake. Support replied that they do not have information why my account is deactivated, gave me the list of general reasons for accounts deactivation (none of them applicable in my case) and that I should contact Appeals department which I did. Appeals department replied that decision is final and my account is permanently deactivated. After few more exchanged emails I still did not receive answer why they deactivated my account. Both Support and Appeals department confirmed that my remaining balance at TrasnferWise will be refunded to my personal account in my home country but it is not refunded yet and it is 2 weeks since they should have issued refund. I have contacted both Support and Appeals department last week to check when they will issue refund but both departments are not replying on my emails any longer. I just spoke with my lawyer, we will be reporting TransferWise to UK Financial Conduct Authority, to The Information Commissioner's Office in UK (as I am denied access to my personal data on my TransferWise profile etc.) and other relevant EU’s authorities. Also, anyone who have similar problem and who is interested into joint lawsuit against TransferWise please feel to contact me

 
V. Djurovich
Posted on May 28, 2019, 06:39 am

SCAMMERS AND THIEVES, STAY AWAY! I have sent all requested documents and info and got my account verified. After that I got two payments for legally and hardworking earned money from well-known company that have impeccable reputation. TransferWise simply deactivated my account without any warning, question or explanation and stolen 680$ that I had on my account. I literary did nothing illegal, nothing wrong or against their T&C or anything that could have resulted in account deactivation. I emailed support believing that it was due to some mistake. Support replied that they do not have information why my account is deactivated, gave me the list of general reasons for accounts deactivation (none of them applicable in my case) and that I should contact Appeals department which I did. Appeals department replied that decision is final and my account is permanently deactivated. After few more exchanged emails I still did not receive answer why they deactivated my account. Both Support and Appeals department confirmed that my remaining balance at TrasnferWise will be refunded to my personal account in my home country but it is not refunded yet and it is 2 weeks since they should have issued refund. I have contacted both Support and Appeals department last week to check when they will issue refund but both departments are not replying on my emails any longer. I just spoke with my lawyer, we will be reporting TransferWise to UK Financial Conduct Authority, to The Information Commissioner's Office in UK (as I am denied access to my personal data on my TransferWise profile etc.) and other relevant EU’s authorities. Also, anyone who have similar problem and who is interested into joint lawsuit against TransferWise please feel to contact me

 
iars
Posted on April 25, 2019, 10:36 am

Long wait, no money! I paid for the highest fee to have it in 4 hours. and its been 2 days since. I read many complaints on their fb page as well. I connected with them and the answer was" we cannot do anything, is just an estimative" well... so IT'S A SCAM. because is sold as and you dont get it. Dont use this crap.

 
abbas
Posted on April 12, 2019, 06:44 am

I have been used TransferWise. Normally I transfer 100k EURO per month but suddenly they deactivate my accounts with money inside for no reasons. After I keep sending mail to them they asked for extra documents. I have sent all the invoice and all the requirements. I was waiting for them for more than 2 month and during this period they ignored my emails. Today they sent email and inform me they will refund my money within 60 working days. To whom wants use TransferWise never trust them. They are a financial company that if you get any problem with them nobody will response you. You cannot talk with headquarter, you cannot complain. Try alternatives or keep your money safe and go directly to bank. Today I got message from their skype number :they asked me if want get money faster I should pay 750$. can you believe that !!!!!!!!!

 
David Frost
Posted on April 02, 2019, 11:58 am

I am a regular ebayer and i had recently engaged myself with this twat of a company. I have a paypal account where I thought i would use transferwise for my banking transactions. One fine day it was deactivated wihtout prior intimation. My word and promise to the team of these scums that if i do not get my refunds and my cash back as promised by them i will ensure to bring them down via legal route and TV news channels. I am forming a petition to be signed by customers who has been cash robbed in broad daylight andwill send it to my parlimaantarian friends and also senators in the US. Let these scums know they have messsed with the wrong gentleman.

 
SAM
Posted on April 01, 2019, 01:41 am

I have been used Transferwise. Normally I transfer 100k EURO per month but suddenly they deactivate my accounts with money inside for no reasons. After I keep sending mail to them they asked for extra documents I have sent all the invoice and all the requirements. I was waiting for them for more than 2 month and during this period they ignored my emails. Today they sent email and inform me they will refund my money within 60 working days. To whom wants use transferwise never trust them . they are a financial company that if you get any problem with them nobody will response you. you cannot talk with headquarter , you cannot complain. Try alternatives or keep your money safe and go directly to bank.

 
Ahmad Hassan
Posted on March 12, 2019, 04:07 am

I sent money to USA in august 2018. As per TransferWise it reached to recipient on time. Whereas, it never reached, and it was stucked somewhere between TransferWise partner bank and recipient bank and this details I got after follow up for a long time. After one or two months I begged TransferWise to cancel the transfer and return my money and they always replied they cannot do that. Then later my friend who was recipient in USA got the letter from OFAC USA about the blocked funds which means TransferWise use some suspicious method to transfer the money. When I asked about this letter from TransferWise they simply replied that I would apply to release my blocked fund and they can only provide their company details and rest I must do it myself. Which I did and after 45 days I guess I got the letter from OFAC for the release of my blocked funds and I immediately forward this letter to TransferWise. TransferWise did nothing except forwarding it to their partner bank which itself took further time and nothing happened and no feedback from transfer even until today I didn’t get a feedback. After I tried all possible solutions I finally logged a complain on the portal of recipient’s bank and they further call me back to get the complete idea. I shared all my details and everything including letter from OFAC, etc. In the end by mid of January 2019 my friend received a money. Whereas, TransferWise even until today didn’t reached me as a follow up even. Please note that I sent the same amount to same person using same bank account to send the money through western union. That amount reached successfully to recipient in agreed time which clearly indicates that TransferWise use some suspicious or different method to send money to USA.

 
Sarah
Posted on February 13, 2019, 03:35 am

decided to go with this company because everything seemed so simple and transparent. I feel like such a fool. I transferred money (a substantial amount!!) and the next day I tried to log in I couldn't. My account was deactivated but the funds were already withdrawn! No way to track the progress or anything, just poof gone. I contacted the CS by phone and was told that they couldn't do anything for me or see anything of my account (Honestly I don't see the point of having a CS if they can't do ANYTHING of a serious matter!!) I was told to email a specific department instead. sure enough they say they have the right to deactivate any account at any time for any reason AND they legally don't have to tell you the reason why. They said that I will be refunded my money in 2-5 working days. Now I'm stuck. I can't try another service until(if?) I get my money back AND I can't pay the person I need to. I'm completely stuck. My live savings just stuck in limbo due to an incompetent company that likes to mess with people's money. I have never seen a company with such poor customer service and actual services as this one. DO NOT USE THEM UNLESS YOU LIKE TO PLAY ROULETTE WITH YOUR MONEY!!!!

 
Chris
Posted on February 02, 2019, 02:21 am

Brilliant service, my money was moved fast and delivered safety. Good alternative to the banks and their high extortionate fees. I used a friends invite and got my first £500 for free. Please use my link below to your first £500 transfer for free too. https://transferwise.com/u/christopherd59

 
Rajesh Kumar
Posted on January 30, 2019, 08:15 pm

Not upfront and transparent about the documents required for transferring money. They first say you have sufficient documents for the transfer then after I give my money they claim to require more documents. Wasted my 1 week time after which they say they cannot transfer the funds because they need more documents. I was able to easily transfer the money in 1 days time using my local bank with just 25% more cost. Very bad experience. Not Recommended.

 
Alex
Posted on January 22, 2019, 05:17 am

If you make such an easy to do mistake as you enter your receiving bank account even just one digit wrong, your money will be gone! I was looking for a quick way to transfer a considerable amount of money (9000€ is considerable to me) from my bank account in Sweden to my bank account in Vietnam. Decided, most unfortunately, to try TransferWise. I was tired and in bad light I entered one digit wrong in my bank account. When I discovered it later I was sure the money would just bounce back. But no. Apparently TransferWise doesn't make such a simple check as matching the customer name and bank account. So all I got from them is that they said the receiving bank accepted the money and the account holder has withdrawn the money. Somebody got lucky. No responsibility from TransferWise. I believe a financial operator shouldn't be allowed to be on the market if they don't provide such a basic security to their customers! Extremely bad!

 
Lola
Posted on January 19, 2019, 10:57 pm

I would not recommend it. I used tranferwise to make a payment. But after two weeks the money was not received by the recipient. First they said that the error was due to my location - that I cannot hold USD in my borderless account, then they told that the SWIFT code was wrong. At the end, lost my money.

 
Martin M, USA
Posted on January 18, 2019, 02:08 pm

RISKY. No protections for sender of funds. Transferwise is not set up in a responsible manner to safeguard the sender of funds. My experience using them one time basically caused me to lose $50. Details: I sent money to a recipient in Indonesia, however, the recipient claims to never have received the transfer. Transferwise says it was sent. I don't know who to believe, but Transferwise DOES NOT HAVE A MECHANISM to withdraw or take back the funds, and they also refuse to contact the recipient. So, I didn't get the items I ordered from the Indonesian seller, and I am also out the $50! I called them (888) 908-3833, and their only remedy was to offer me a free future transfer, but I am afraid that I will get ripped off again. They need to rethink their business model, so that this can't happen to people. Good thing I wasn't sending a larger amount. There should be some way to retract the funds in order to guarantee sender safety. They basically took no responsibility.

 
Lotfi A
Posted on January 13, 2019, 12:35 am

They stole me 6000 euros ! All was ok with my business account. They said refunding back money all my turnover from hard work, but my clients are without news. SCAM 100% Don't trust them SHAME ON THEM I've made a complaint on european union's website, european people as me must do the same here I invite others victims to do the same. Check their website for complaints ec.europe.eu the europe must now the scam.

 
N J
Posted on January 10, 2019, 11:56 pm

One of the worst user experiences I have had with any product. I am extremely disappointed by the Multi-currency MasterCard. I was charged in the wrong currency, and charged fees for this - and customer service treated me like an idiot rather than trying to understand what was not working with the product. The transaction was via PayPal - which I had used before, and it had worked a few times - and on the PayPal side I was charged in USD, however TransferWise then charged my EUR account in GBP (thus collecting extra fees not once but twice). I contacted customer service; the first response was "the integration with PayPal does not always work, this is a known bug, you should have been aware of this"; the second response was "PayPal charged you in GBP" - I have a receipt from PayPal where they charged me in USD - and so the third response was "maybe you made a mistake on the PayPal site and did not select the transaction currency as USD" (I am not an idiot, I have done this before, and this was not the case). I can only recommend that you stay away from this product until they either fix it or improve their customer service.

 
PATRICK
Posted on January 07, 2019, 08:36 pm

These people are crooks and how they are still allowed to do business in the USA. They are currently holding my money for for no reason, not only my account was suspended but their customer service is not any better than an Indian help-desk service. Recipient will not receive the fund they wouldn't refund my money neither. please do yourself a favor and runaway from those scammers.

 
Walker
Posted on November 30, 2018, 03:14 am

My account was deactivated without notice or explanation. Apparently we violated their Acceptable Use Policy, but I can't figure out any way in which we might have actually violated their policies.

 
Drew
Posted on November 27, 2018, 07:28 am

Horrendous experience with this company. They took a week and a half to complete a transfer, not the 3-4 days they advertise. Their customer service is the worst I have ever experienced. Do yourself a favor and don't deal with this company.

 
Eric
Posted on November 27, 2018, 05:21 am

Why is ZERO not an option. These people are crooks. They will hold your money for months alleging some 'enhanced due diligence' after months and months of service without any problems. They are worse than PayPal anad in fact the company was started by ex-employees of paypal, so these scum have learned from the best.

 
Marko Jazbinsek
Posted on November 10, 2018, 06:02 am

TransferWise is an inexpensive online wire service, but it comes with a bag of administrative regulations that make sending money from from point A to point B unnecessary complicated. Strongly suggested to use a different wiring service even if it's a little bit more expensive. Sometimes the cheapest is not the best option. Not recommended.

 
Ashish
Posted on November 01, 2018, 05:31 pm

Really great experience. Their UI is very streamlined and transparent. Plus I didn't had to wait for my account approval as for some other sites. The money arrived in about 3 hours they said it will arrive in 2 but that much leeway is acceptable. I liked it.

 
Joao Salgueiro
Posted on October 11, 2018, 04:01 am

ransferwise is a SCAM. I’ve transferred 20GBP on the 19.sept.2018 (confirmed by my bank as it has actually reached Transferwise account) and NO money has never showed up in my Transferwise account. Please, don’t use it. You’re risking to lose all your MONEY!

 
Istok
Posted on October 02, 2018, 10:23 am

Transferwise was adviced to me by my friend. I trusted him and started to use their service to send money from my rent to India where I am staying. Since they are offering accounts in more countries I wanted to use also business account for my e commerce. This application was refused and my all accounts were blocked. My business as well as personal account without any explanation. I was shocked since it was just the time when I should receive my rent to account. Really service they are offering is good BUT, really I don't advice anyone to use them because just over night might happen your account will be blocked and your appeals will reach deaf ears.

 
Sinatra Wijaya
Posted on September 29, 2018, 03:48 pm

Registered on TransferWise and sent $700 on Aug 27, 2018. Got an email telling me the fund will arrive same day. The next day, the money has been taken from my checking account, the recipient hasn’t received the money, and my TransferWise account has been deactivated. I contacted TransferWise and told them they can deactivate my account but give my money back. They say they can’t refund the money because they’re doing a customer due dilligence check and this may take 60 working days. I don’t understand what kind of due dilligence they need to do when they can just refund the money back to the same checking account. I’ll write here again if I get my money back or not after 60 days.

 
Surajul kahfi
Posted on September 21, 2018, 02:24 am

I don't know what happend with my account transferwise, sudenly my account has been deactivated after my friend from australia send me a few money from transferwise site. I tried send email to company, they are spechless. I don't know where is my money till now. I didn't recomended this company for anyone around the world.....

 
John Miller
Posted on September 09, 2018, 06:33 am

Do you notice they no longer reply to complaints. Is this company going out of business? They lost a large sum of my money and will not do squat about finding it. They say it is in the system and just wait. I've waited two months and no sign of it. When I asked for the company's address, they lied and said they do not have an office in Canada. Well, if they're registered here, they have to have an office. I will find it, and sue to get my money back. Stay tuned.

 
Sidharth Sharma
Posted on September 05, 2018, 06:06 pm

The company stopped my borderless account even after giving invoice to them which I issued to my customer . I was receiving thousands of euro per week from my customer out of UK. Don't trust this company because they don't care a damn if a company work according to UK law or not .They have block my thousands of euro , They just want to prove that they are above all. There customer service is slow , They don't know what is going on in office. SCAM

 
Richard
Posted on August 28, 2018, 07:36 am

I have been using TransferWise for more than a year. I used to use XE. Their rates and transfer times are unbeatable. It takes me 12 seconds (yes seconds) to transfer money from my US bank to anyone in the UK. Their customer service is also very knowledgeable and courteous.

 
Tetiana
Posted on August 23, 2018, 02:36 am

They closed my account without any explanations and I still haven't received balance back to my bank account. When I sent transfer from my bank account to my TransferWise account (not for the first time!) I got request from TransferWise for additional information about my business activity as well as bank statements and most recent annual report documents. All the information was provided the same day (business activity description, Loss & profit document and bank statements with all the recent transactions details), and the next day I received response from Transferwise that everything was ok after reviewing information and my incoming transfer was processed. In a day I created a wire transfer to my regular partner (it was the fourth transfer to the same partner within last 3 months via TransferWise), the transfer was sent successfully and in a day i got notification my account is closed with hold of more than 100k eur on my balance! Very unprofessional service and won't recommend it to anyone!

 
Emery Luther
Posted on August 20, 2018, 08:25 pm

I setup a transfer to a merchant for goods. Transferwise never sent the merchant my payment and they closed my account without any notice. I have already filed a complaint with BBB and disputed the charge with my credit card company. Stay away from this company!

 
Kylie
Posted on August 20, 2018, 10:50 am

I have never resented a company more than I resent Transferwise. After just one small transaction, this company deactivated my account; without notice and without reason. I emailed the appeals team, and have yet to receive a response. I called customer service, and was told they couldn't be of service. And the money they debited from my account is yet to be refunded. So not only did my money not arrive in 34 minutes as promised, but my account is shut so I can't check the status, and I do not know where my money is. I strongly suspect this company may be a scam business that uses customers' money for high frequency trading or some other quick money making venture. Whatever you do, DO NOT TRUST THIS SERVICE. If I could have given 0 stars, I would have. The founders of Transferwise should be ashamed of themselves.

 
Entrepreneur
Posted on August 07, 2018, 10:56 am

TransferWise has good exchange rates and the lowest fees I have seen for both personal and business transfers. I have used them for 4 years now and have saved so much money. Transfers are secure, fast, and easy. Receive your first transfer free up to $500 here: transferwise.com/u/erinc49

 
Anna
Posted on August 01, 2018, 07:46 am

My account was deactivated and transfer cancelled when the money was taken out of my account. Now 11 days later funds are not refunded and no one knows where my money is. This is unacceptable. Appeals said to contact my bank, my bank denied returning funds and said go back to Trasferwise. Where is my money?

 
Rita
Posted on July 24, 2018, 06:43 am

First of all the staff is rude and does not help solve problems at all, and second they decided, alone without my authorization, to canceled my transfer when I had already sent the money. It was an international transfer so not only my bank charged me an amount but also the intermediary banks also charged an amount to transfer the money. What did this platform do to inform me? They sent me an email that went straight to my trash, a single email, they have my phone number, they should have sent a text message like all the companies and platforms do nowadays, or call me. This is money we are talking about, DO NOT TRUST YOUR MONEY IN THE HANDS OF THIS PLATFORM. No wonder why you have so many bad reviews....

 
Nick
Posted on July 17, 2018, 10:48 am

This has been a super easy way for us to transfer money from our bank account to our landlord's account while living overseas. Make sure you have all the proper information, or the transaction might not work. You are welcome to use our code if you would like to try! transferwise.com/u/nicholasp325

 
Patil
Posted on July 08, 2018, 08:51 am

I have used transferwise quite many times now. They are certainly giving great exchange rate. I was little worrying about to give a try but found out really well. The only painful part is they have large fee for transaction. But you may get your first free transfer using this link transferwise.c om/u/sagarg8.

 
RAJ KUMANAN
Posted on June 26, 2018, 10:20 pm

I made a transfer from USD to RM and I received a message that the money has been sent and I will receive it by 25th June but never received. I had a similar situation last year July and it was resolved after few days delay. I did some small amount of transfer in between to try and it all worked well. So I thought they could have improved and made a big amount transfer and got back into same situation. The most frustrating part is the standard typical response to check with the bank and the account number similar to the response I received first when the problem was highlighted last year. Last year I wasted my time calling the bank few times and they confirmed that nothing stops the fund incoming to the account. Finally after going back and forth with Transferwise for few days Transferwise confirmed that the funds were held by Compliance team as sometimes funds to Malaysia goes through random checks as required by the country and that was the reason for the delay My frustration at that point was that why the internal communication between Transferwise customer support and compliance team was so poor that I was not given the correct information the first time. It is quite frustrating that things haven’t changed even after a year with Transferwise. This is the same account number I got money transferred a month ago and this is stored in my account with Transferwise. So can see that the response from customer service team are standard responses without checking any details about the customer or past transfer or the real situation. It is similar to auto recorded voice messages you get from the phone. Why they need to have a human interaction when this human dont put in the efforts to check more details before responding to the customer? Simply asking the standard questions to check my account number or checking with the bank is not an acceptable practice to get 5 star rating when all those details are in my account. Don’t pass the bug to customer. Transferwise need to get this resolved internally or externally and let me know clearly when the funds will be in my account

 
jonell
Posted on June 26, 2018, 11:54 am

why was my account deactivated and the transfer cancelled? I did not receive a request for further documention.

 
GAbriel
Posted on June 22, 2018, 11:23 pm

I received payment of 1250 euro from a friend yesterday and it's said pending payment, today my account has been activated without any explanation, this is wrong.. I have sent several emails to the appeal department and still no response from anyone.. This is wrong. i believe this is a mistake, I an explanation why my account was deactivated.

 
Tammy
Posted on June 04, 2018, 12:32 pm

Do NOT even sign up for an account. After entering preliminary information, we decided that this was not the best option for us. I couldn't find how to delete my account online; I called the US 888 number. I was informed that they can only "deactivate" the account, but that they will keep ALL information for FIVE YEARS! They will have all of your banking information and REFUSE to delete it even if you ask and then demand that they delete said information.

 
Rakesh Dasgupta
Posted on May 26, 2018, 02:58 pm

These people are full of ego. Your transfer information will go to wrong email addresses, compromising your privacy. When complaining about it, they will use their powers to stop/block your account just to feed their own ego. The customer service operators will provide you with wrong, misleading and deceptive information in terms of your account details , such as address verifications, ID verifications etc etc. The managers will disconnect the call on your face. I realized my money was never safe in their hands as they let people transfer money via their platform without verifying their identity and details in full. You would notice that the app is too easy to use but it comes at a cost. The security of your money and the privacy of your transfer information. They will open duplicate accounts under your name and you won’t even have a clue of that and you won’t know if your transfers are going through your original account or duplicate account. An absolute horror show. An app that lets people transfer money internationally without verifying their identity in full and send account related information to wrong email accounts cannot be a safe online portal to be used for overseas money transfer. I wanted to get in touch with the head office of TransferWise to escalate my concerns but no one from TransferWise provided the contact number or email address of their head office. Thank God, I learnt quickly about their shady money transfer business. Never again…

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 31, 2018, 03:02 am
Hi Rakesh,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about your experience!

As a financial institution we do need to ask for some additional documents and information time to time in order to make sure that TransferWise is safe for everyone in it. We also contact our customers only via the registered email addresses. We do apologize if it seemed to you that our customers support is full of ego and is not understanding - that was never our intention.

If you have any questions, please do get back to our support!

Best wishes,
Lilli
skar
Posted on May 24, 2018, 09:12 pm

I cancelled my transfer as ACH transfer, as Transferwise asks for my source bank account and pwd. I am surprised why my source bank account password is required. I used other money transfer services like remitly,Remit2India and Riya Money transfer none of them ask me for source bank userI d and password. So i cancelled my transfer.

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 31, 2018, 02:38 am
Hi there,

Thank you for the feedback! It seems that our support already explained it to you as well - the payment method you chose is ACH direct debit and in order to pull the money off your account, we do ask you to enter the details. We do not see your details from our side, but just get a signal from your bank that everything is alright with the account and there is enough funds for this transfer.

If you are not comfortable entering the details, you can also choose card payment (transfers up to $2000) or a local wire. The ACH direct debit is the cheapest option of them, though.

Let us know if you have additional questions!

Best wishes,
Lilli
Andy
Posted on May 24, 2018, 07:20 am

Works perfectly for me. I send money to my parents and the fees are super low. This is also fast. Same day!

 
Aron
Posted on May 21, 2018, 03:50 pm

AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!! i got recommended to the service and checked rates several times before sending my first transfer. All looks great and is the perfect bait to pull you in. As im paying my water bill for our house in Croatia, this seemed the perfect and simple way to reduce all our bank fee and exchange rate costs while traveling to and maintaining our second home. the debit card seemed to be the perfect solution...... with the plan to test it out this summer... So transfer made of around 4000HRK and a few days after the "your money is on its way" email i logged in to make a a second transfer to find my account deactivated... no email, no explanation, no way of confirming that the transfer was ever completed. £20 debit card fee has been refunded yet the card arrived in the post the same day some 3 days after the refund. ive no way of confirming our first transfer has been received my only regret was not transferring from a credit card. the consumer credit act would be doing me a favor right now other wise ill be contacting the FCA first thing tomorrow after the following email was received today. Hi, We have reviewed your appeal against your account deactivation. Unfortunately, following further investigation, we have taken the decision not to reactivate your account. Please note based on our Terms of Use Agreement TransferWise has reserved the right to refuse or to accept any new user or any transaction at its own discretion. I am sorry to report that we will not be able to provide our services to you. Kind regards, and it seems mine wasn't the only account they closed with no explanation....

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 31, 2018, 02:28 am
Hi Aron,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about the inconvenience.

Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual. If we received any money, it would be refunded back to the card/bank account it came from.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Adam Jones
Posted on May 18, 2018, 11:53 am

I do not recommend this company because of very poor business practice. Transferwise deactivated our company account without any explanation. We are not able to pay our suppliers because they are holding on to our funds. Transferwise has not provided us with any information of why our account is blocked or when our suppliers will receive their payment. Emails to appeals@transferwise.com are unanswered. Our invoices are past due, they hold onto our money and do not provide information when we will receive funds. Stay away!

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 31, 2018, 02:15 am
Hi Adam,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about the troubles with your account.

Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual.

It seems that you have heard back from our team by now and all the money was refunded. If you have additional questions, feel free to get back to our support.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Fenny
Posted on May 09, 2018, 05:46 am

My account was deactivated without any reason. My first transfer was successful. This is my second. I thought you guys were good, but very dissapointed. Already email your team. I can't track my second transfer even it stated in my bank that you already took out my money. Please refund my money asap cause i need it to sent for my parents. Otherwise reports to the ombudsman.

 
Drew
Posted on May 08, 2018, 05:30 am

Heed the advice of the other reviewers. It is best to avoid this company. Sure, the rate is a bit lower, but do yourself a favour and stick to better known, more reputable institutions. Transferwise will give you the run-around and make excuses. They will say currency conversion takes two days (no it doesn't). They will claim that the receiving bank is holding up the transaction (never happened before this). The one thing Transferwise will not do is give any detailed account of where your money is or how long it will take to finally reach its destination. They get an F- for performance, an F- for honesty, and an F- for customer service. They didn’t even earn the one star I was forced to give them in this review. If you have experienced any problems with this company, contact your sending bank ASAP. Also, make sure to report them here: https://help.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/help

 

Partner With CompareRemit

The world’s top remittance companies have chosen to work with CompareRemit and are already reaping the benefits. You can too. View Testimonials.
Put your brand in front of millions of active remittance users, ready to send money using your services.
Contact Us