USA INR

₹ 70.10

USA PHP

₱ 53.32

USA MXN

Mex$ 18.89

WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

Entrepreneur
Posted on August 07, 2018, 10:56 am

TransferWise has good exchange rates and the lowest fees I have seen for both personal and business transfers. I have used them for 4 years now and have saved so much money. Transfers are secure, fast, and easy. Receive your first transfer free up to $500 here: transferwise.com/u/erinc49

 
Anna
Posted on August 01, 2018, 07:46 am

My account was deactivated and transfer cancelled when the money was taken out of my account. Now 11 days later funds are not refunded and no one knows where my money is. This is unacceptable. Appeals said to contact my bank, my bank denied returning funds and said go back to Trasferwise. Where is my money?

 
Rita
Posted on July 24, 2018, 06:43 am

First of all the staff is rude and does not help solve problems at all, and second they decided, alone without my authorization, to canceled my transfer when I had already sent the money. It was an international transfer so not only my bank charged me an amount but also the intermediary banks also charged an amount to transfer the money. What did this platform do to inform me? They sent me an email that went straight to my trash, a single email, they have my phone number, they should have sent a text message like all the companies and platforms do nowadays, or call me. This is money we are talking about, DO NOT TRUST YOUR MONEY IN THE HANDS OF THIS PLATFORM. No wonder why you have so many bad reviews....

 
Nick
Posted on July 17, 2018, 10:48 am

This has been a super easy way for us to transfer money from our bank account to our landlord's account while living overseas. Make sure you have all the proper information, or the transaction might not work. You are welcome to use our code if you would like to try! transferwise.com/u/nicholasp325

 
Patil
Posted on July 08, 2018, 08:51 am

I have used transferwise quite many times now. They are certainly giving great exchange rate. I was little worrying about to give a try but found out really well. The only painful part is they have large fee for transaction. But you may get your first free transfer using this link transferwise.c om/u/sagarg8.

 
RAJ KUMANAN
Posted on June 26, 2018, 10:20 pm

I made a transfer from USD to RM and I received a message that the money has been sent and I will receive it by 25th June but never received. I had a similar situation last year July and it was resolved after few days delay. I did some small amount of transfer in between to try and it all worked well. So I thought they could have improved and made a big amount transfer and got back into same situation. The most frustrating part is the standard typical response to check with the bank and the account number similar to the response I received first when the problem was highlighted last year. Last year I wasted my time calling the bank few times and they confirmed that nothing stops the fund incoming to the account. Finally after going back and forth with Transferwise for few days Transferwise confirmed that the funds were held by Compliance team as sometimes funds to Malaysia goes through random checks as required by the country and that was the reason for the delay My frustration at that point was that why the internal communication between Transferwise customer support and compliance team was so poor that I was not given the correct information the first time. It is quite frustrating that things haven’t changed even after a year with Transferwise. This is the same account number I got money transferred a month ago and this is stored in my account with Transferwise. So can see that the response from customer service team are standard responses without checking any details about the customer or past transfer or the real situation. It is similar to auto recorded voice messages you get from the phone. Why they need to have a human interaction when this human dont put in the efforts to check more details before responding to the customer? Simply asking the standard questions to check my account number or checking with the bank is not an acceptable practice to get 5 star rating when all those details are in my account. Don’t pass the bug to customer. Transferwise need to get this resolved internally or externally and let me know clearly when the funds will be in my account

 
jonell
Posted on June 26, 2018, 11:54 am

why was my account deactivated and the transfer cancelled? I did not receive a request for further documention.

 
GAbriel
Posted on June 22, 2018, 11:23 pm

I received payment of 1250 euro from a friend yesterday and it's said pending payment, today my account has been activated without any explanation, this is wrong.. I have sent several emails to the appeal department and still no response from anyone.. This is wrong. i believe this is a mistake, I an explanation why my account was deactivated.

 
Tammy
Posted on June 04, 2018, 12:32 pm

Do NOT even sign up for an account. After entering preliminary information, we decided that this was not the best option for us. I couldn't find how to delete my account online; I called the US 888 number. I was informed that they can only "deactivate" the account, but that they will keep ALL information for FIVE YEARS! They will have all of your banking information and REFUSE to delete it even if you ask and then demand that they delete said information.

 
Rakesh Dasgupta
Posted on May 26, 2018, 02:58 pm

These people are full of ego. Your transfer information will go to wrong email addresses, compromising your privacy. When complaining about it, they will use their powers to stop/block your account just to feed their own ego. The customer service operators will provide you with wrong, misleading and deceptive information in terms of your account details , such as address verifications, ID verifications etc etc. The managers will disconnect the call on your face. I realized my money was never safe in their hands as they let people transfer money via their platform without verifying their identity and details in full. You would notice that the app is too easy to use but it comes at a cost. The security of your money and the privacy of your transfer information. They will open duplicate accounts under your name and you won’t even have a clue of that and you won’t know if your transfers are going through your original account or duplicate account. An absolute horror show. An app that lets people transfer money internationally without verifying their identity in full and send account related information to wrong email accounts cannot be a safe online portal to be used for overseas money transfer. I wanted to get in touch with the head office of TransferWise to escalate my concerns but no one from TransferWise provided the contact number or email address of their head office. Thank God, I learnt quickly about their shady money transfer business. Never again…

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 31, 2018, 03:02 am
Hi Rakesh,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about your experience!

As a financial institution we do need to ask for some additional documents and information time to time in order to make sure that TransferWise is safe for everyone in it. We also contact our customers only via the registered email addresses. We do apologize if it seemed to you that our customers support is full of ego and is not understanding - that was never our intention.

If you have any questions, please do get back to our support!

Best wishes,
Lilli
skar
Posted on May 24, 2018, 09:12 pm

I cancelled my transfer as ACH transfer, as Transferwise asks for my source bank account and pwd. I am surprised why my source bank account password is required. I used other money transfer services like remitly,Remit2India and Riya Money transfer none of them ask me for source bank userI d and password. So i cancelled my transfer.

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 31, 2018, 02:38 am
Hi there,

Thank you for the feedback! It seems that our support already explained it to you as well - the payment method you chose is ACH direct debit and in order to pull the money off your account, we do ask you to enter the details. We do not see your details from our side, but just get a signal from your bank that everything is alright with the account and there is enough funds for this transfer.

If you are not comfortable entering the details, you can also choose card payment (transfers up to $2000) or a local wire. The ACH direct debit is the cheapest option of them, though.

Let us know if you have additional questions!

Best wishes,
Lilli
Andy
Posted on May 24, 2018, 07:20 am

Works perfectly for me. I send money to my parents and the fees are super low. This is also fast. Same day!

 
Aron
Posted on May 21, 2018, 03:50 pm

AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!! i got recommended to the service and checked rates several times before sending my first transfer. All looks great and is the perfect bait to pull you in. As im paying my water bill for our house in Croatia, this seemed the perfect and simple way to reduce all our bank fee and exchange rate costs while traveling to and maintaining our second home. the debit card seemed to be the perfect solution...... with the plan to test it out this summer... So transfer made of around 4000HRK and a few days after the "your money is on its way" email i logged in to make a a second transfer to find my account deactivated... no email, no explanation, no way of confirming that the transfer was ever completed. £20 debit card fee has been refunded yet the card arrived in the post the same day some 3 days after the refund. ive no way of confirming our first transfer has been received my only regret was not transferring from a credit card. the consumer credit act would be doing me a favor right now other wise ill be contacting the FCA first thing tomorrow after the following email was received today. Hi, We have reviewed your appeal against your account deactivation. Unfortunately, following further investigation, we have taken the decision not to reactivate your account. Please note based on our Terms of Use Agreement TransferWise has reserved the right to refuse or to accept any new user or any transaction at its own discretion. I am sorry to report that we will not be able to provide our services to you. Kind regards, and it seems mine wasn't the only account they closed with no explanation....

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 31, 2018, 02:28 am
Hi Aron,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about the inconvenience.

Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual. If we received any money, it would be refunded back to the card/bank account it came from.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Adam Jones
Posted on May 18, 2018, 11:53 am

I do not recommend this company because of very poor business practice. Transferwise deactivated our company account without any explanation. We are not able to pay our suppliers because they are holding on to our funds. Transferwise has not provided us with any information of why our account is blocked or when our suppliers will receive their payment. Emails to appeals@transferwise.com are unanswered. Our invoices are past due, they hold onto our money and do not provide information when we will receive funds. Stay away!

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 31, 2018, 02:15 am
Hi Adam,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about the troubles with your account.

Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual.

It seems that you have heard back from our team by now and all the money was refunded. If you have additional questions, feel free to get back to our support.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Fenny
Posted on May 09, 2018, 05:46 am

My account was deactivated without any reason. My first transfer was successful. This is my second. I thought you guys were good, but very dissapointed. Already email your team. I can't track my second transfer even it stated in my bank that you already took out my money. Please refund my money asap cause i need it to sent for my parents. Otherwise reports to the ombudsman.

 
Drew
Posted on May 08, 2018, 05:30 am

Heed the advice of the other reviewers. It is best to avoid this company. Sure, the rate is a bit lower, but do yourself a favour and stick to better known, more reputable institutions. Transferwise will give you the run-around and make excuses. They will say currency conversion takes two days (no it doesn't). They will claim that the receiving bank is holding up the transaction (never happened before this). The one thing Transferwise will not do is give any detailed account of where your money is or how long it will take to finally reach its destination. They get an F- for performance, an F- for honesty, and an F- for customer service. They didn’t even earn the one star I was forced to give them in this review. If you have experienced any problems with this company, contact your sending bank ASAP. Also, make sure to report them here: https://help.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/help

 
Charles
Posted on April 26, 2018, 04:06 pm

The most unprofessional company of any type that I have ever experienced. At first it seemed simple, I completed all of the required information for the transfer and everything was fine. I even received an email stating that Transferwise had the funds and that they would be in the receivers account within 8 hours. I checked with the receiver and the funds were not there so I sent an email asking about the transfer. I received a very polite response stating that sometimes first transfers take longer and that I would be sent an email when it was sent. I waited again. Next I attempted to log on to my account to track the transfer, and the logon failed with a message stating that the account had been deactivated. No reason given. I was not even sent an email, yet my credit card showed the funds as a "pending" transaction. I sent another email and asked why my account was deactivated. When I received a response, I was informed that I must send a picture of my Photo ID and a second picture with the ID held next to my face. Why wasn't I notified about this when I signed up? I sent another email with the required pictures and waited. No response. I sent another email asking about the progress No response. I checked my credit card and the transfer has been refunded. No notification, no communication. I am including the number that I believe is the transaction ID, but it only appeared in one email and I didn't see one when I completed the transaction, so I can't be sure.

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 07, 2018, 03:00 am
Hi Charles,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about your experience with us.

Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual.

Looks like you contact us via appeals email address and this is where we asked you for the additional documents. As the ones we received were not satisfactory, we were not able to reactivate your account. If you would like to use our services, please check our most recent email again, it explains exactly why we rejected the document. For any questions, feel free to get back to our support.

Best wishes,
Lilli
RDB
Posted on April 26, 2018, 05:21 am

Transferwise deactivated my account for apparently no reason at all. No notifications that they would do so, and no explanation why. And now I can't access my account history. When I called their customer service I was advised that they could see no reason for it being deactivated. This is appalling and high-handed behaviour. Complaint to the financial ombudsman to follow immediately.

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 07, 2018, 02:56 am
Hi there,

Sorry to hear about your experience with us.

Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual. Customer support is not provided the exact reason for account deactivation.

If you think we should not of deactivated your account, please contact us via appeals@transferwise.com and we will have a second look.

Best wishes,
Lilli
RDB
Posted on April 26, 2018, 05:11 am

Transferwise deactivated my account for apparently no reason at all. No notifications that they would do so, and no explanation why. And now I can't access my account history. When I called their customer service I was advised that they could see no reason for it being deactivated. This is appalling and high-handed behaviour. Complaint to the financial ombudsman to follow immediately.

 
Brian thurgoland2@gmail.com
Posted on April 19, 2018, 02:47 am

Thank you for such a wonderful service, I have seen many bad reviews about your company,I find it hard to believe after trying your service to send money from the uk to Thailand recently. I must admit that I was very nervous about putting such a large sum of money in to your account as I had never heard of your company before. I spoke to someone who had sent money in the past who said it was a good experience, I also checked you out with the regulatory authority. Then I spoke to your customer service operator, then my mind was completely rest. Next time I need to send money I will be using your service without any negative thoughts as I thought that my previous service and experience was. First class. I can not understand how anyone could have a problem. Thank you again.

 
Paula
Posted on April 16, 2018, 10:02 am

Do NOT use this company. They took my money but no transfer of funds to my friends account. Lots of emails saying transfer completed but no money transfer. Calls do not produce any results.

 
TransferWise
Posted on May 07, 2018, 02:54 am
Hi Paula,

Sorry to hear about your experience with our service.

Sometimes what happens is that we send the funds out from our side, but the beneficiary bank do not credit it to the account. This can be due to different reasons, but we can always investigate from our side and give some kind of proof which would help the bank to locate the funds in their system. If you did not contact our support yet, please do that asap via any of the channels listed here www.transferwise.com/contact and we will be happy to help.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Debra Voss
Posted on April 12, 2018, 05:15 pm

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. Beware this company will not send funds to any organization they happen to believe is an NGO. I was trying to send money to an agency which is part of the India government but they would to transfer the funds saying it was a charitable organization. Additionally after taking your money, refusing to transfer it, then they keep it for 10 days before returning it so you need to kick out the same amount and use a different service while waiting for your money to be returned. The customer service was horrible and the agents ill informed.

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 16, 2018, 01:45 pm
Hello Debra,

Thanks for your review and comments. I'm sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with TransferWise and our decision to refuse transferring to your recipient. Like you pointed out, we follow these guidelines,"Due to the way we are regulated in India by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), we are unable to support any payments for the purpose of charitable donation to recipients in India. This applies to all recipients in India, whether or not they are charitable organisations." More can be read here: https://transferwise.com/help/article/1663577/indian-rupee-transfers/inr-transfers#/To

Whenever a refund is requested, we send it back via the same payment method used to pay us. We process the refund immediately and don't hold funds. Card refunds traditionally take 2-5 days, but may take up to 10 (determined by the card issuer). If we can help with anything further, please let us know.

Kind regards,


Patrick
TransferWise Support
chloe
Posted on April 09, 2018, 05:16 am

during transfer it says 26 minutes for the money to arrived, but 26 hours later, still the recipient didn't received any yet. should consider recipient bank processing time, not just transferwise processing time. coz if it's just transferwise processing time, then it's not the truth it's more of a SCAM to encourage others to use the transfer in a fastest way but the fact it's not.

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 16, 2018, 01:29 pm
Hello Chloe,

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that there was an issue with the delivery. We do our best to meet the delivery estimate, but sadly can't integrate how long it takes for the recipient bank to post the deposit because they all handle deposits differently. Our estimate is fairly accurate, but sometimes recipient banks take additional time. If we can help with anything else, please let us know.

Kind regards,


Patrick
TransferWise Support
tiffany
Posted on April 06, 2018, 03:27 am

my account was deactivated without notifying me my husband still has not received his money I'm upset a lot you all took my money an did not do as website says my money better be returned asap my husband really needs this money I will not be using this website again

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 16, 2018, 01:09 pm
Hi Tiffany,

Thank you for your feedback. Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual.

If an account is deactivated, funds are returned to you via the payment method you used to pay us. Most refunds are back to you within 1-3 business days, but card refunds may take up to 10 business days.

Kind regards,


Patrick
TransferWise Support
lars
Posted on March 26, 2018, 11:24 am

some online reviews are either not current or faulty. Do check out this site http://trustmark.reviews/review/www.transferwise.com My experience: In the past. I have used Transferwise for several years and had no problem with small amounts received and sent until last year. I have also recommended Trasnferwise to all my colleagues and international contacts. Now, the main problems: 1) the Receive money option that is reviewed in this report does not exist anymore. 2) the customer service number for the US just rings and rings and rings. No answer after the initial voicemail greeting. I tried several times during the advertised open hours the chat line is also "unavailable". 3) the Borderless accounts process is burdensome and does not include USD. Some question of legality in asking for the documentation upload for the borderless account. 4) Unfortunately, many complaints about “lost” money or deactivated accounts that make it impossible to get back the money transferred. Seems untrustworthy, and perhaps opens up users to identity or account theft, as apparently there is no indication that the transfer or process is insured. So, if they “lose” your money, you have no recourse to get it back.

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 16, 2018, 01:06 pm
Hello Lars,

Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate your feedback and comments. I'd like to answer your questions one by one if I may.
1. I think by "Receive money" you are referring to the "Request Money" feature that we used to offer. We had some issues with functionality and disabled the service for now.
2. I'm sorry to hear you couldn't reach us. We have been receiving increased customer contacts. If you can't reach us, send us an email, request a call back, and we will make that happen. Or hang on the line and we will get to you as soon as we can.
3. Please email us at support@transferwise.com, we'd appreciate feedback about the borderless process.
4. Customer security is a huge priority of ours. We work diligently to ensure identity and account details are not compromised. We suggest all customers only send to trusted recipients.

Kind regards,


Patrick
TransferWise Support
Katherine boxshall
Posted on March 22, 2018, 11:35 am

What is happening to my money I transferred to $815 to a loved one in Nigeria 24 hours ago before this transactions I emailed and got response from them with more than 20 emails that the money will go through after I paid through my credit card my account was disabled.please this is hard earn money...I will like to know where my money is and transfer it back to my P&N bank with an pre authorisation form..this is my transaction number #32543409

 
Katherine boxshall
Posted on March 22, 2018, 11:28 am

What is happening to my money I transferred to $815 to a loved one in Nigeria 24 hours ago before this transactions I emailed and got response from them with more than 20 emails that the money will go through after I paid through my credit card my account was disabled.please this is hard earn money...I will like to know where my money is and transfer it back to my P&N bank with an pre authorisation form..this is my transaction number #32543409

 
E
Posted on March 21, 2018, 09:48 pm

They cancelled my transfer without explaining why. Not a good customer service, I had to wait for 3 days to get a reply from that company. Later I got a respond: Hi, Thank you for reaching out regarding your account deactivation. We are more than happy to consider reactivating your account however we first have to make sure your account is secure and your identity on TransferWise has been confirmed. You can confirm your identity by replying to this email with following: Photo or a good, colored scan of your photo ID. Photograph of yourself (selfie) while holding your photo ID up, close to your face. General guidelines about what we want to see on your photo ID and what type of ID’s are considered secure enough for confirming your identity, can be found here and instructions how to take the selfie photo and what needs to be visible on it can be found here. Once we have seen your photo ID and your selfie photo, we can confirm your identity and be confident that your account is completely secure before you continue using it. In the meantime, please accept our apologies for the ongoing inconvenience that this may cause you. Kind regards, They must be crazy I will send copy of my ID to some JOE BLOW. USE WIRECASH service, less expensive and money got transferred within 10 minutes!!!!

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 16, 2018, 12:49 pm
Hello,

Thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. We are a licensed financial institution and verify ID's to be compliant. Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual.

Kind regards,

Patrick
TransferWise Support
Philip Ewen
Posted on March 20, 2018, 03:26 am

For 1 week now I have been emailing and calling transferwise. I sent personal funds through a personal account though using my business online facility. Transferwise simply cannot figure stuff out. This has been the most frustrating banking transaction in memory. I have provided them more and more information as requested to prove it is personal funds. I have provided more and more information as requested to establish that my business is "real". It seems the more information I provide the more confused they get. Then every time I send them any information the clock starts again and it takes them 2 to 3 business days to respond with a request for more information!. The phone help try to help but just tell you the same rubbish. Like I will personally follow this up. Pehaps they do but it achieves nothing. There is simply no chain of command. Even with the very large sum of my cash they still hold I have to just wait and then get more stupid questions. Like show proof of your business operating licence! They offer to send the money back but then I have to start again, probably should have cut my losses and accepted that option though it is just an easy out for them so they don't need particularly well trained people to figure out what would be basic stuff at your average bank. Essentially it seems like the verification back room staff are amateurish. The connection betwean those verification staff and the front line is very weak. So yes perhaps a good transfer method if all goes without a glitch, but I will be looking for another service that provides just that, service.

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 16, 2018, 12:48 pm
Hi Philip,

Thanks for the feedback. I see that the transfer finally completed. I am sorry that there was confusion and we required extra steps to complete the transfer. We have to complete verification for personal and business profiles and try to make this as painless as possible. If we can help with future transfers, please let us know. We'd love to help if we can.

Kind regards,


Patrick
TransferWise Support
rafaiel
Posted on March 09, 2018, 06:55 am

I'm extremily dissapointed with the customer service given to me on the past 2 weeks. I have been a faithfull user of the system and indicated it to a lot of people and now I'm have the feeling of being left with no solution for my problems. I'm overseas and send money using the app last friday and paied the boleto on the same day. Monday - I call customer service asking about the transaction and the person told me that it would be transfered as soon as they the money was received. By this time I asked if they need any document because I have urgency and need the money as soon as possible. The transferwise employee told clearly that it would not be needed any additional document and I would receive the money as soon as the money arrive. (Please check the phone recording) Tuesday - I receive the request via email from customer service, saying that I need to send may tax paying document OR my 3 months payslip, contrary to the employee has told me on the day before. I sent the 3 months payslip on the same day. Wednesday - I call customer service again, and it was confirmed to me that the document sent was enough and the money would be transfered. Thurday - I receive a email requesting my tax payer report, even though on the previous email they requested one OR the other. I sent the document. Friday - I receive an email asking for a copy of my document and and proof of address. HOW COME NONE HAVE ASKED ME FOR THIS BEFORE? This is such a basic information. I feel like i'm being part of some joke, this is the only way i can make sense on this nosense. Therefore, I tried to contact the company again, and talk to someone that is able to take a decision and actually tell me what is going on. I was unable to go any further and i felt like I was being served by a robot that kept repeating the same information. Now I still have no idea of when I will receive my money, I m overseas with no money on my account for more them a week because i relied on transferwise to take care of my money. There is no reasonable explanations on why the customer service is not able to answer simple questions for the requires. The feeling I have right now is that the company is playing with my money while I spend 2 weeks without money. For a company that deal with your money, the police of contact only by email or with a helpless customer service is a pretty serious stuff.

 
TransferWise
Posted on April 16, 2018, 12:38 pm
Hello Rafael,

My apologies for the issues you dealt with regarding your transfer. Verification can come throughout a customer's relationship with us. I am sorry we didn't explain the verification better. This isn't satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback and take it very serious. Please let us know if we can help further.

Kind regards,


Patrick
TransferWise Support
Govindarajan Rameshkumar
Posted on March 04, 2018, 08:20 am

Transfer wise is the best when you want to send money to India from UK!

 
Bill Lynch
Posted on February 23, 2018, 11:40 am

I like many others sent a transfer of money ($500 USD) using their app which seemed to go smooth with no error and indicated they received my funds and transfer would be done in 9 hours. When I attempted to login and check status in the morning I could not login and an error saying "Your account has been deactivated". Called their customer service and they could not tell me why and where my funds were. THIS COMPANY SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN!!!! FRAUD!!!!

 
TransferWise
Posted on February 26, 2018, 11:57 pm
Hi Bill,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry for the trouble!

Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual. In case we received money from you, it would always be refunded to the account/card it came from. Please note that card payment refunds can take up to 10 working days until your bank credits it back, but bank transfers should not take longer than 2-3 working days.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Fred
Posted on February 21, 2018, 11:15 am

All of a sudden my account is deleted. I write them and get the same answer. You violated our rules. I ask what rules and get the run around. Does anyone know what reglator to write about this.?

 
TransferWise
Posted on February 23, 2018, 02:01 am
Hi Fred,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry for the hassle with your account.

Unfortunately we cannot give detailed information about why the account was closed, but it can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Fred
Posted on February 24, 2018, 03:23 am
Thats a load of E$@$9 can u imagine not telling someone why they are suspended, Its the ultimate discrimination. Sound like red lining to me. Il write the authorities
Mohd Faizal
Posted on February 12, 2018, 12:57 pm

Hello My name is Mohd Faizal and one of the share holder of AFA Technologies Ltd. Some 15 days before we had transfer £9045.69 from our business PayPal account and as you received the money you had deactivated our borderless account and since that day my partner Syed Ali Shiraz keeps emailing you from admin@afatechnologies.co.uk on your support email ID support@transferwise.com but you peoples are not providing us relevant information about the money you have held. I’ve done all the paperwork for the same in fact I have given you our business bank account details too but still you guys are not transferring our fund. It’s sound very weird but this is not the way of serving the services as you are not authorised to holding the fund. Mohd Faizal AFA Technologies Ltd

 
JA
Posted on February 11, 2018, 08:14 am

My brother sent me $100 CAD from the US with TransferWise on Feb 6th or 7th. I got an email from TransferWise on Feb 7th stating that my brother has sent me "Free 500 Euros" which is not true!!! The email prompts me to click the email link then forces me to create an account including all my information and a picture of ID like my passport...instead of just giving me the money because the do already have my bank account as well! I still don't have the $100 CAD in my account, now we are Feb 11.

 
TransferWise
Posted on February 20, 2018, 02:43 am
Hi Ja!

Thank you for the feedback and sorry for this confusion. The offer is actually for a free transfer up to £500, which means that if you would like to send money yourself using our system, then you can click on the invitation link your brother sent and sign up with us through that to get the free transfer.

Regarding to the transfer - if money has still not arrived, please do ask your brother to contact us via support@transferwise.com or any of the phone lines over here www.transferwise.com/contact and we will be happy to advise further.

Best wishes,
Lilli
John P
Posted on February 07, 2018, 08:15 am

For years, I searched for a way to send money to workers overseas, whether I was teaching a class in a foreign country and had to pay an organizer or assistants, receiving cash from them, or I needed to send cash to procure items overseas. There's the old tried and true method, Western Union. But they charge so much, it's a joke. .... There's Wire Transfers from Banks ... They are expensive and the paperwork logistics is a nightmare .... Then I found this company - Transferwise. At first, I thought, couldn't be this easy and this cheap .... But it is ... I wouldn't recommend it if I hadn't used it at least a dozen times already. Sending cash, reserving hotel rooms or paying workers was always a nightmare. Now, it's one click of a button. https://transferwise.com/u/johnp683

 
Vikash Kumar
Posted on January 12, 2018, 12:20 pm

I have had great experience using Transferwise. Usually, It takes only an hour or two for transfer to complete. great service and best conversion rate justifies its service charge. No any charge for sending upto $500 for new users. If you register using the link below i will be rewarded too. https://transferwise.com/u/vikashk10

 
Eton
Posted on January 09, 2018, 07:36 pm

This company is beyond fradulent. I sent money from my US account to my Canadian account and I was told it would be there in one business day. It did not arrive. I have taken this up with American authorities and I am going to dispute it with my bank. If these people think they're going to get away with this, they're delusional.

 
TransferWise
Posted on January 19, 2018, 01:46 am
Hi Eton,

Thank you for the feedback and very sorry to hear about your experience with us!

It seems that your payment was sent out successfully some time ago already. If the money has not reached the CAD account, please do get in touch with us via support@transferwise.com or any of the phone numbers listed here https://goo.gl/j3JuSm and we would surely investigate further.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Pieter Van Damme
Posted on January 09, 2018, 02:18 pm

They just changed the rate without any notice even when the transfer was made on the same day. I want my account to be deactivated and to never use this horrible lying service ever again.

 
TransferWise
Posted on January 19, 2018, 01:43 am
Hi Pieter,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about your experience with us!

We do have guaranteed rate for some currency routes, but they all have time limits. This means that, for example. if the guaranteed rate is 48 hours, then we need to receive the funds within 48 hours as well. If we do not, live mid-market rate would be applied automatically.

I can see you also received an email from our customer support explaining everything, but if you have any questions, please do let us know by replying to the email.

Best wishes,
Lilli
Vikash Kumar
Posted on December 30, 2017, 10:58 pm

I have had great experience using Transferwise. Usually, It takes only an hour or two for transfer to complete. great service and best conversion rate justifies its service charge. No any charge for sending upto $500 for new users. If you register using the link below i will be rewarded too. https://transferwise.com/u/vikashk10

 
ZHIHAI YAN
Posted on December 19, 2017, 04:30 pm

My account was suddenly shut down, without any emails and phone calls, I lost $ 500 and so far did not receive any reply, do not use transferwise! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

 
TransferWise
Posted on January 19, 2018, 01:36 am
Hi Zhihai,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about your experience with us!

Account deactivation's can occur due to a number of reasons. Some of the reasons include but are not limited to security concerns, violation of our ToU agreement, attempts to buy banned or illegal goods, attempts to buy crypto currency and detection of multiple accounts being used by same individual. Any money that was sent to us or is on your Borderless account, would be always refunded.

If you have additional questions, please do let us know!

Best wishes,
Lilli
Blanca Laiz
Posted on December 04, 2017, 02:52 pm

I am very disappointed with TransferWise. I made a transfer between my UK account to my Spain account 6 days ago. They told me that a person who made a transfer to my account had raised a dispute and they kept my money, judging me with any right to defence. How do you dare to keep my money??? Have you asked me about this matter?? Give me my money back!

 
TransferWise
Posted on December 14, 2017, 05:44 am
Hi Blanca,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about the experience.

It seems that everything has been sorted by now and money arrived on your Spanish bank account. If you have any questions, please do get back to us via support@transferwise.com or any of the phone lines listed here https://goo.gl/ksFSY5.

Best wishes,
Lilli from TransferWise Team
A Kumar
Posted on December 02, 2017, 12:31 am

I am very old customer of transfer wise. Recently I refer my friend. For some reason his card was not working so he used my card for transfer money. Their system allowed him to transfer. Which it should not. We came to know later that one card per one account. Later on transfer wise send me an email saying your referral service has been deactivated. I don't understand why they have done it to me. My account is genuine and someone else has used my card so they should do anything to my friend account and not to mine. Later I came to know why they have done it to me. Because I will have 3 referral and they have to pay me £50. Rather than doing anything to my friend account they put everything on me and didn't give any money. After calling them many time they keep repeating same thing. Transfer wise is so mean with cheap mentality. My argument is what is wrong with my account. Someone else used my card so should do anything to that account where all the fault exists. Surprisingly my friends account is working fine. Is it all about £50. Transfer wise you suck.

 
TransferWise
Posted on December 14, 2017, 05:37 am
Hi Kumar,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about this unfortunate experience with us.

We have had to generate strict rules for our referral program as it was often abused and I can assure you we would of been happy to send you that £50 as soon as you successfully referred 3 friends. You can read more about the referral program terms from here https://goo.gl/THSv4B.

Best wishes,
Lilli from TransferWise Team
A Kumar
Posted on December 19, 2017, 03:25 am
Thanks for writing nice words. It is very obvious on public domain. Please stop fooling people. I have made several phone calls and messages explaining the situation. But you/your team behave like 'whatever music play in front of buffalo response remains the same'. Now you/team have deactivated my account also saying someone have created similar one. Don't you think same name and DOB can exist in a population of 1.3 billion? But I do not care about closing my account. As I do not think I am going to use transferwise again.
It was your fault your system fault, why it has allowd to use same card on two different accounts? I am sure you will understand this bit also. Reason stated above.
If you really concern about it then activate my account. There was some issue on third referral, delete it. Leave other two on my account. It is not about £50. It all about customer care, how good, friendly you are and have bits of understanding.
If you did so I will write it here.
S Chandra
Posted on December 01, 2017, 05:07 am

I had created account and had it verified with passport copy and address proof as letter from Kommune. However when I actually did the transfer, account was simply deactivated. No reason or cause of the deactivation was shared. This is simply disappointing service. Not sure till date what is their criteria to deactivate the account after accepting the transfer. They simply should not allow the transfer if they intend to cancel the transaction and deactivate the account altogether. If transferwise continues to keep the potential customers in dark without giving them the reason, it will hurt them long run.

 
TransferWise
Posted on December 14, 2017, 05:31 am
Hi Chandra,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about your experience with us.

Profiles can be deactivated due to several different reasons and unfortunately we cannot share the exact reason why it happened. You can always appeal and we would be happy to have a second look. Please send an email to appeals@transferwise.com and our team will help you from there.

Best wishes,
Lilli from TransferWise Team
Donald
Posted on November 28, 2017, 11:11 am

Hello, I just got my account deactivated and I found that forum. I wish I found that before sending money to them. Now I have no clue on what is going to happen to my personal and financial data. What happened to you after you got that issue? Donald

 
TransferWise
Posted on December 08, 2017, 06:46 am
Hi Donald!

Thank you for your feedback. It's appreciated as we are always trying to improve. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. Unfortunately we are not always able to provide our service and the profile can be deactivated for several reasons.

Your personal and financial data is protected. In line with the requirements of the Money Laundering Act 2017, we are required to hold on to your account information for a minimum of 5 years.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us on support@transferwise.com, we're happy to assist.

With kind regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Lloyd
Posted on November 01, 2017, 03:54 pm

To my international friends and people doing international Money transfer, I am writing as to raise my disappointment on TransferWise services. On Thursday 26th 2017, I made a transfer Euros to USD using TransferWise, getting a rate "locked" for 48hours at 1.183 and arranged the transfer with my bank on the same day to secure timings. However, since the request was on Thursday, TransferWise didn't get the money before Monday 530am (the deadline was Monday 230am since they don't consider the weekend) and applied the daily rate of 1.162 instead, generating an important lost on my transfer. After calling the customer service, they told me that it's "unfortunate" that the banks missed the windows for couple of hours due to clearing timing and that they couldn't apply the rate they granted. I faced the issue multiple times: the 48hr were not suffisant for TransferWise to receive the money, even doing your best to make it happen, asking the same day to your bank to make the transfer, having the money leaving your bank account on the transfer date and confirming on @Transferwise website that you made the transfer on time. Both times works against me...> the rates applied was always lower than the one I asked. Based my multiple experiences (4 Transfers with Transferwise), I won't recommend the platform if you are looking for a guaranteed rate transfer, having someone defending your interest or a good help desk support. We are talking about money management, with no communication, alert or protection. In my case, it will have been faster, easier and cheaper to use my bank or other website... Please share with your friends and let people know; to look for other providers if you/they want to transfer money internationally seriously without being at risk for timing issues and rate fluctuation. #Lessonlearn #Transferwise #disappointed #badservices #badcommunication #notcarrying #badcustomerexperience #lookforsomethingelse

 
TransferWise
Posted on November 07, 2017, 12:50 am
Hi Lloyd,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry to hear about the troubles you have had with the service!

We do have the rate lock for 2 working days fro payments from EUR as it should not take banks longer to process the payments and for us to receive it. Usually it is actually even faster (2 working days is maximum time). It does seem that in your case there has been an unfortunate of the time when the bank actually sent the money out to us and as much as we would like to control it, we cannot.

Regarding to the lower rate - indeed once the guaranteed rate expires, we assign the live mid-market rate of the conversion time, but we do not know ahead if it is lower or higher.

I understand that we have been in touch with you via email already, but if you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to get back to us!

Best wishes,
Lilli from TransferWise Team
Adrien
Posted on November 01, 2017, 06:31 am

Hello, im having the same problem here. My account was deactivated. It was verified at first, transfer was processing, then it got deactivated and i was refunded. Im on a business account and I dont know what to think about Transferwise so far, i hope this issue will resolve asap because i thought it was a good idea to use their service to pay my suppliers abroad. No emails or anything to inform me about it. If some documents are required then it would have been better to request it upfront. Im waiting for their answer, will update you. Thanks

 
TransferWise
Posted on November 08, 2017, 04:08 am
Hi Adrien,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We are very sorry for any inconvenience and for the unpleasant experience.

As a financial institution we are following strict regulations. Please note that account deactivation can occur for a number of reasons and unfortunately we are not always able to provide our service. We have sent you an email with further information.

With best regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support
Adrien
Posted on November 08, 2017, 04:32 am
No, your email has no further informations. It says the same. Very unfriendly business.
Babak
Posted on October 27, 2017, 05:02 am

I made a transfer with TransferWise from the US to AUS. I am very satisfied and it is very cheap and easy. Thanks

 
George bowyer
Posted on October 20, 2017, 02:40 pm

I made transaction of 399.99 and it was successful, next day my account was deactivated. Can you tell me whether that transaction was taken from my account or still not deducted.

 
TransferWise
Posted on October 23, 2017, 04:14 am
Hi George,

If the money was already deducted from your account, then it would of been refunded as soon as the account was deactivated. Depending of the payment method you used, it could be that the funds were never taken from your account, but the best way to check this is to have a look at your online banking.

Let us know if you have any questions via support@trasnferwise.com or call on any of the numbers here www.transferwise.com/contact.

Best wishes,
Lilli from TransferWise Team
Mo
Posted on October 11, 2017, 08:51 am

I made 2 transactions. Both times the transfer was satisfactory, so were the rates. However, when I tried to make another transaction now it asks for fees. 26 $ for 2900 $ transfer ? Kidding me ? Sorry guys. I regret referring others. I may not be using the service until the situation changes.

 
TransferWise
Posted on October 17, 2017, 02:59 am
Hi Mo!

Thank you for your feedback, it´s much appreciated as we´re always trying to improve. We keep our fees as low as possible.

Please note that we use the real rate, so there are never any hidden fees and you always know exactly how much you are paying. Many banks and other services often hide charges in the exchange rate and therefore we advise to compare the final amount you are receiving. You can read more about it here https://transferwise.com/rate-race

If you have any questions, please let us know on support@transferwise.com, we would be happy to assist.

With kind regards,
Laura from TransferWise Support

Partner With CompareRemit

The world’s top remittance companies have chosen to work with CompareRemit and are already reaping the benefits. You can too. View Testimonials.
Put your brand in front of millions of active remittance users, ready to send money using your services.
Contact Us