USA IND

₹ 74.34

USA MEX

Mex$ 22.25

AUS IND

₹ 51.38

WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

Select Corridors

Your Alerts Are Set

Kam
Posted on June 20, 2020, 09:12 am

"Your transaction could not be completed." I always get this message after adding all the details on final page. Very frustrating.

 
Chandru
Posted on June 05, 2020, 09:09 am

Great. Money was successfully transferred within 5 business days as stated. Thumbs up !

 
Harsha Nathani
Posted on May 09, 2020, 05:42 am

I would give zero stars if I could. I am a student trying to get money from India to Canada using western union. Below transaction is initiated on 02nd May and money is sent to WU on 3rd May. WU decided on 5th May to cancel the transfer without bothering to give a reason for cancellation and doesn't bother to return the money. Which means I cannot access the much-needed money in any way. Every time I call they give me a templated answer that process is automatic and takes 7-10 business days. Today a full week has passed and WU already made 3$ in bank interest this week on my money. My advice to anyone using this service for outward remittance from India is to be aware and account for 15+ days delay.

 
Carine Paunkovic
Posted on April 30, 2020, 07:24 am

Worst customer service ever!!!! Simply they disappeared with my money. Have tried emailing, calling, chatting online and no one have an answer why the funds weren’t transferred. The money left my account but never arrived at country. I was never informed of any issue and the transaction went through. No one picks up the phone at customer care, no one replies to the emails and I don’t know where is my money!!!!

 
Harvs
Posted on March 22, 2020, 09:43 pm

Western Union staff in Panganiban Branch in Naga City is using her smartphone while customers are waiting. Second, their staff aren't familiar enough in Western Union products. Third, they're rude.

 
suresh
Posted on March 18, 2020, 12:20 pm

I sent money with WU to india.. they said money deposited into receiver bank but never deposited. Reached out representative 4 times they always says they will escalate. really worst service ..

 
KG
Posted on March 12, 2020, 12:00 pm

Bad Service

 
Ak
Posted on March 11, 2020, 04:28 pm

Cheating company. We have to file a complaint against these frauds. One of the worst money transfer company. They always try to cheat the customers. They hold your money when dollar rate is increasing then they will convert them for higher rate and will transfer to us with lower rate after a week. I don’t know who gave the authority to hold our money. Big Fraud Company

 
Siva
Posted on March 10, 2020, 07:46 am

Transfer was marked complete but the amount was not credited. While customer care call always got disconnected. When reached through chat they are saying some technical issue so cant be resolved, asked to reach the customer care after holding the amount for 5 days. This is not fair, in case of not able to deliver the amount should be refunded to customer account. Not satisfied with the service.

 
Patil
Posted on February 28, 2020, 11:10 am

I rarely use WU as they are very slow on executing the transactions after first two. I use InstaRem instead. Use referral code wKlsN4 while registering for $20 worth INSTAPOINTS. You can reschedule the transaction if Fx rate has gone up. Their customer support is best. Best thing about INSTAREM - Gives best rate as you send money at current forex rate with little fee (0.35%). It will save good amount of money in long period if you transfer money on regular basis. Promotional bonus worth $52 for new users. Use referral code wKlsN4 while registering for $20 worth INSTAPOINTS and 2) Use code COMPARE30 on your first 3 transfers to receive $30 ($10x3) rewards before Mar31.

 
Pavan
Posted on February 26, 2020, 07:03 am

Transfers are always delayed, and moreover one of my transfer did not complete in 10 days as well, I had to request refund and that again took a week.

 
Chidambaram Kandasamy
Posted on February 22, 2020, 09:47 am

i did couple of transfer first three transfer completed successfully , after that they are taking very long time more than agreed date, just they will do complete status in WU but actually that is not true one. Customer care is very worst, just they will keep your money, DONT PREFER WU. if you want frustration/pressure then use western union

 
Kuldip Rindani
Posted on February 09, 2020, 11:20 am

I don't see rating below 1 may be in fractions as they don't deserve even 1. Full of crap - I was using there service for 4 years until recently when even after providing with them shit load of information now they declines transfer multiple for no apparent reason and shamefully name it business decision.

 
Posted on January 17, 2020, 11:25 pm

 
Gaurang Patel
Posted on January 09, 2020, 04:29 pm

Please dont use Western Union for money transfer. Customer service is very very poor. They didnt send my money on time. After 2 days they reject my transfer with no reason. i got my money back but i loose exchange rate. when i transfer rate was good after two days rate was down and i loose money on exchange rate

 
Leilani Santiago
Posted on January 05, 2020, 06:45 pm

Hi i sent money transfer online everything goes well after few minutes western union emailed me that my transfer was cancelled but it deducted to my account. And until now never return my money back. Pls western union i need my money back

 
Daren
Posted on November 23, 2019, 01:25 pm

This will definitely be the last time I use western union unless i have no other options on earth. Almost every time I send money, my transfer is delayed because some moron at western union decides people are too stupid to send money without intervention. It is none of western unions business who I send money to, their relation to me, or reason why the money is being sent. This is my business. Western Union's business is to transfer the money. Sending $10000.00 to Russia, sure. $100 in state.. no. Only a moron would think this is true. Western Union you need to fix your broken system.

 
SURESH PATEL
Posted on November 07, 2019, 09:42 pm

I USE WU 5 TIME AND NOW 6 TIME ITS ALLOW ME SAME DAY TRANSFER ANY MONEY IS IN MY A/C WITH IN 10 MINUTES ITS VERY FASTER THANKS WU

 
prem
Posted on November 02, 2019, 07:27 am

They are very very very slow may be using ages software , customer support is not helpful, They even dont know what to speak except ummm..hmmm...aaaaa..even dumb people can do that. They dont know what is the higher limit .they dont know what why they are declining the transaction. They waste service ever ever.

 
Pradeep
Posted on October 15, 2019, 07:34 am

CompareRemit always delay and and provide false information about Western union . The rate is 1.00 USD = 70.9482 Indian Rupee (INR) today but show 70.53 INR. Cant trust compare Remit in case of of some remittance as it not updated constantly. Go to their direct sights to check the rates.

 
kenneth olson
Posted on September 24, 2019, 03:04 pm

They are the worst, customer service can not speak English in general and mod not understand the company’s policies

 
Posted on August 30, 2019, 05:12 am

 
Posted on August 23, 2019, 05:39 pm

 
Rajehvar
Posted on August 23, 2019, 05:39 pm

Sent money using bank account to bank in foreign country, amount credited within few seconds. Really appreciated.

 
JR
Posted on August 12, 2019, 11:49 am

I Stopped using this company about 15 years ago because the excessive personal information they request to complete a simple transaction, last week a friend sent me a payment without me knowing he was sending it via western union, its been over a few days and 3 trips to try to withdraw the payment, 3 e-mails, 2 phone calls to their lousy customer service without any luck of completing the transaction, now I'm simply giving up and I'm asking the sender to go claim his money. STAY AWAY FROM THIS FRAUDULENT COMPANY!!

 
Leilani Santiago
Posted on August 07, 2019, 09:40 pm

I sent money online transfer thru the pnb bank which date august 3 2019 until now the reciever havent recieved thr money and i contact them sinced monday till today 2of the repsresentatvie hang up on me. Until now they never solved the problem .what happen to my money.

 
Sridhar
Posted on July 18, 2019, 11:29 am

69.9 showing on compareremit and 68.4767 in WU. why the difference?

 
Kamalakannan Krishnan
Posted on July 16, 2019, 07:04 pm

68.98 is the rate showing in compare remit. If go to western union site it shows the rate as 68.28. Is compareremit doing mistake or western Union ? Or compareRemit and Western Union doing this cheat together ?

 
Carlos Barboza
Posted on July 08, 2019, 02:53 pm

Requested the transfer on June 19 to Mexico, should have been effective on June 20. The receiver didn't get it so I called, They say they track and get back to me, They never did. I called again, they said they would escalate and contact me. They never did. I called again; same story. Today is July 8. I requested a refund since the receiver didn't get the money. They said they couldn't give a refund until transaction is rejected. I'm in limbo right now. The receiver has not gotten the money and I can't get a refund. Not what I expected from WU

 
Syed AsjadAzeez
Posted on June 25, 2019, 10:20 pm

69.1791 bank to bank transfer rate on 26 june. incorrect values on compare remit

 
PMang
Posted on June 22, 2019, 12:37 pm

I have had frustrations with companies in the past, but never ever as much as with Western Union. After setting up an account, I followed instructions to send money using a credit card. After filling in volumes of information I got back a notice that the transfer could not be approved at that time and to try another form of payment. Assuming my credit card company security had blocked it, I called them and was assured that they had approved the transfer but saw that it no money had been taken out. I repeated the process, got the same message and called Customer service to be told that their website got "gummed up with cookies" at times and didn't work well but they were working on it. Suggested I try another browser or the mobile app. Tried both, same result, called back to be told there was probably 'some' sort of security problem but not with my credit card and I should try debit card or go to one of their locations. Asked to speak to a supervisor when no further details were forthcoming and was dumped into a ringing phone that I finally hung up on after 10 minutes. Called again, explained credit card company approved, was told that if this was the first time I'd used this card on Western Union that was the problem, and that if I'd used it before, it would have been validated and I would be okay. When I asked how do I get it validated by WU for follow up use if I can't use it the first time. Again no rational answer except to suggest going out to their store. asked again for a supervisor and finally connected, asked her to explain why this was happening when my credit card company said they approved. She said I needed an approval code from Western Union but no answer as to how that happened or why it didn't. Once again a suggestion to go to an outlet. This on a Saturday when bank is closed so unable to get enough cash to send what's needed by my son who is stranded overseas. WORST COMPANY EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!

 
Sri Jaini
Posted on June 20, 2019, 03:53 pm

Here is my experience regarding my transaction: 2506283256 1. I have initiated my transaction around 9 AM and I got a email stating "Western Union: We’re reviewing your transfer" 2. I called around 9 AM after 15 mins hold my call was cancelled by the agent. And I called back again and this time I was told that I would get a call to review the transfer and other details. 3. I got a call at 9.46 AM stating to review the transfer and she asked lots of questions regarding the transaction to which I provided all the details and she did say my transfer is approved and might take 6 days (6/26/2019). 4. Right after the call I got email again stating "Western Union: We’re reviewing your transfer". I tried to reach out to customer service through call after 30 mins of hold and my call my hung up by the agent without providing any details on what the hold was. 5. I called back at 10.38 AM and this agent did state there is a hold and I need to provide the ID (drivers license) to myid@westernunion.com . I sent the email right away and asked for validation, to which she said that would be different department but it will be done within 15 - 30 mins. 6. I called back after 30 mins, after 20 mins hold I got hung up again. 7. Again I called back 12 PM, operator stated that my transaction is approved and no need to worry. but I asked why status online say transfer on hold (The money transfer is on hold and pending a verification from the sender.) he put me on hold and hang up the call. 8. I called back again at 1.30 PM to check the status, I was on hold 20 mins and was told transaction was on hold and I need to send the ID (drivers license) to myid@westernunion.com for which I replied I already sent the ID three hours ago. Then she said I am good to go. Again when I checked the online still as on hold, I asked for supervisor . she transferred to supervisor (heather) after 15 mins hold and then after providing all my details again for 10th time I was transferred to digital dept (banking) . Mark asked for all my details again for 11th time and said everything is good to go, but status online was still on hold again I got transferred to different department where everything repeated again and asked me to send the ID again. 9. so, it happened again at 2.30 and 4.00 PM. 10. At 4.30 PM I got a email from Selena, 334 from Global Compliance Operations asking me to call me on 800-325-6000 and I called the support but no use same worst service repeated. P,S, No change in online status and every-time I talk to different agent I am getting different information but no progress. what is this, Is this professional service. (torturing me for 8 hours)

 
Ajay
Posted on June 20, 2019, 06:59 am

I cancelled this transaction within hour then too WU has deducted the money from my account and now saying it will take 7 days to get my refund. It's total fraud services.

 
Ratna
Posted on June 12, 2019, 03:47 pm

Surprisingly am seeing very bad reviews. I did a transaction of 2500$ and it went smoothly to destination account. I didn't have any issue with this.

 
Chris
Posted on May 30, 2019, 12:14 pm

Western union uses inaccurate exchange rates. They will use low exchange rates not the official daily exchange rate. This artificially low exchange rate effectively charges you a 10% fee for any amount of money you send. See for yourself by researching and comparing to their exchange rate. I sent $1,250.00 and they effectively charged me an additional $99 dollars by shorting the receiver. This was on top of their fee they charge for transferring money. Do yourself a favor and find a different way to send someone money.

 
K
Posted on May 29, 2019, 02:53 pm

On the compare remit page it shows exchange rate as 69.90 but on WU page it show 69.53 not sure what is the deal here and for whom

 
Monika Lopez
Posted on March 19, 2019, 01:54 pm

western union complaints +1(8OO)-648-162O,incorrect bank code displayed in the transfer receipt within 15 mins of submitting the transaction. But, to my surprise and utter disappointment, it took western union organization 21 days to refund my amount back to my account after following up every alternate day and raising multiple escalation requests. Every time, i keep hearing the response our escalation team will respond to you within 24 to 48 hrs which was totally untrue. They dont even have courtesy to send an email stating the reasons for delay. As per the initial email, refund should get completed with 5 to 7 business days but only god knows why the technical issues as mentioned by their Accounts team and Supervisors took close to 20 days in sharing my refund. I have to work around for alternate options in doing the money transfer. Most importantly, if we miss to pay the credit card payment within the due date, we have to pay the fine. But, i wonder why the western union doesnt do the same when they fail to refund the customer on time due to their internal technical issues which took them 20 long days in fixing it. Please think twice before you initiate any transactions and be ready to bear such long delays before you do the transaction. It was a bitter experience to me as i got my reply only at the end despite of me reaching them multiple times.

 
KRISHNA PRABHAKAR P
Posted on February 13, 2019, 07:51 am

Hi All, I had a really worst experience with Western Union money transfer. I had to cancel my transaction because of incorrect bank code displayed in the transfer receipt within 15 mins of submitting the transaction. But, to my surprise and utter disappointment, it took western union organization 21 days to refund my amount back to my account after following up every alternate day and raising multiple escalation requests. Every time, i keep hearing the response our escalation team will respond to you within 24 to 48 hrs which was totally untrue. They dont even have courtesy to send an email stating the reasons for delay. As per the initial email, refund should get completed with 5 to 7 business days but only god knows why the technical issues as mentioned by their Accounts team and Supervisors took close to 20 days in sharing my refund. I have to work around for alternate options in doing the money transfer. Most importantly, if we miss to pay the credit card payment within the due date, we have to pay the fine. But, i wonder why the western union doesnt do the same when they fail to refund the customer on time due to their internal technical issues which took them 20 long days in fixing it. Please think twice before you initiate any transactions and be ready to bear such long delays before you do the transaction. It was a bitter experience to me as i got my reply only at the end despite of me reaching them multiple times.

 
Nirmit
Posted on January 31, 2019, 08:24 pm

Fraud!!! Just stay away from WU.. They don't fulfill their offers.. Customer support team is also cheater by giving you 24 hours promise on every follow-ups.. Beware from these scammers..

 
Richard Title
Posted on January 30, 2019, 07:33 am

Most incompetent company I have ever dealt with. Tried to send money to my adopted daughter in Jamaica. They kept suspending it. I had to repeatedly call and release it, but then they just suspended it again. 3 times! Every time, the agent promised it would not be suspended again, but then it was. Wasted ungodly amounts of my time and my adopted daughters time. Finally called to complain and cancel it. The agent actually hung up on me! Unbelievable. Hoping I get my money back from Western Union, and looking for another way to send money. Western Union is really screwed up. I suspect incompetence rather than fraud. I think their computer systems kick out transactions according to some programmed criteria, but somehow that does not get communicated to anyone until the receiver goes to pick up the money. And their agents seem clueless about what is going on, and unable to help with anything. So everyone's time and money is wasted. Stay away from Western Union.

 
Wasted_30_minutes
Posted on January 21, 2019, 07:05 pm

Tried to make a money transfer today. Came to the page where it asks for Receiver's address. It had only US states on the receiver's address. Should there not be India states listed to select from?

 
Reshma Sati
Posted on January 07, 2019, 11:20 am

Want to rate them as 0 as Western Union Service customer care is fraudster, Company is Scammer Company. I have initiated transaction with WU and since my money didn’t reached after promise date, have to cancel the transaction. In this time frame from initiation to cancellation of transaction, money was not debited from my account. And suddenly after 4 days of cancellation my money got debited from my account. I called customer care constantly on this scenario and every customer care representative gave random reasons and after passing 15 days also still didn’t received my money till date .In between this process of money not getting refunded, I got a call from fraudster mentioning him as WU customer care representative and try getting my personal information saying he have all my transaction and case details with him which i was discussing with western union people on call for refund of my transaction. After convincing me by giving my WU transaction details which i was due for refund he took all my details and did fraud on me. Worst experience of my life with western union service. Not sure from first day of this transaction i am dealing with fraud people inside western union company. I was a very old user of WU but now looks they have change completely and filled scammer people in the customer care representative and definitely recommend not to use this service to avoid and financial and mental trauma on yourself.

 
Nancy Sampson
Posted on December 19, 2018, 09:48 am

The most stupidest company ever. Banned me because I recieved too much money from my adopted dad while I was pregnant..... like what the hell. Don't you have bigger and legit scams going on that you should worry about. Someone sends me money days later... they collect it and when I go to pick it up, claim it's being refunded but never notify the sender coz obviously they are using it to pay out other people. Stupid. Ridiculous. Pathetic and gross.

 
M.M.y
Posted on November 30, 2018, 04:10 pm

The customer service is horrible. They made a mistake in their transfer, my recepeient wasn't able to receive money. When wanted to cancel, it took couple calls to do just that. Then the company didn't reimburse the transaction fee of 25 dollars. I will use different services, its no longer 1970s. Bye WU.

 
Ankit
Posted on November 20, 2018, 06:21 pm

I initiated money transfer. provided all required docs. Got email that transaction is approved. Never got any other email after that. After 15 days, they cancelled transfer without any notice. I have still not received my money back. worst service ever. worst service support. They should be banned.

 
Bob Clem
Posted on November 18, 2018, 09:49 am

We wanted to help a family member out with a gift of some money and to give them the ability to obtain it in cash - they are overdrawn and it would have been swallowed up by the bank otherwise. After registering and completing all of the details requested, the system rejected my debit card payment (I'm well in credit) and so I tried again with a different debit card. Again, this was rejected and that account is also several thousands of GBP in credit. I called their technical support people who urged me to use a different browser or preferably, their app for my iPhone. I followed their instructions and both cards were rejected. I tried a credit card with almost GBP20k funds availability. Rejected. Two more calls to support with a request for help or to delete the incomplete transaction. All they offered was to escalate the problem. As my relative needed the money, I drove to a WU outlet. The charges for my transfer amount were GBP44.95. I didn't send the money by them. I went home, collected my wife, went to the ATM, withdrew the money and drove to the home of the relative to give it to them. It was a 30 minute drive each way, I used about GBP6 of fuel. I used over two hours of my time trying to use WU. It'll be a cold day in hell before I use them again.

 
Rafi
Posted on November 15, 2018, 06:29 am

Not happy with WU. Sent money on 8th Nov, Not yet received in home country. in my view should not use WU if you want to send money immediately. They said 4-5 business days. today is 7th working day, not yet received money.

 
Sam
Posted on November 07, 2018, 10:25 am

I am not sure why there are so many bad reviews. But I used this service first time on Sunday (Nov.5th, 2018) evening, and within 2 hours, I received my father in law's text that he received a text from his Canara Bank in India that his account has been credited. I sent $1000 using Credit Card, so that could be the reason of expedited service...and their fee is only $2.99 to use CC while you earn more in points. Their rates are also very competitive. Thank you WU. Hope I receive the same service in future as I will be transferring more before our December '18 trip.

 
Avinash
Posted on October 27, 2018, 12:16 pm

Using WU since last 6 years but facing delay transfer since last one year. Most recently, got very poor service, Money was hold for 15 days and then transfer rejected. Stay away from this company.

 
Nilotpal
Posted on October 12, 2018, 06:19 am

I have been using western union from past 3 years and I would say to stay away from it now on. Their service has significantly deteriorated this year. During my last three international transfers it started taking more time and that time kept on increasing in with each transfer. During last 3 transfer one took 3 days, next one took 5 and now this one they are saying 7 days. Who knows one after that may take 9 days. If you call their customer care you will only get scripted reply like verifying my account even though over 3 years none of these information has changed

 

Partner With CompareRemit

The world’s top remittance companies have chosen to work with CompareRemit and are already reaping the benefits. You can too. View Testimonials.
Put your brand in front of millions of active remittance users, ready to send money using your services.
Contact Us