USA IND

₹ 72.95

USA PHL

₱ 49.21

USA MEX

Mex$ 19.64

AUS IND

₹ 54.78

WRITE A REVIEW Reviews that include promotional materials will not be published. Please see our Terms of Service.
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

Select Corridors

Your Alerts Are Set

Tanvir
Posted on July 15, 2021, 11:45 pm

Its been ten days that my recipient did not get the money. I called on jul 13, 14 and jul 15 morning. I was told the money will be deposited on Jul 15 at 3.52pm EST. It did not get deposit. I called again jul 15 twice. Now I was told that the money is hold and they need additional info to release the hold. My recipient will need to wait another 7 days to get the money. I did not get any email or agent did not tell when I called multiple times. Now the agent from the last call said that I am faking about the call. There is no notes that I called. I can grab my phone list and conversation history from the phone company to prove it. I do not have time to play around making fake calls. My recipient has been waiting for ten days now and still the money is not his hand. This so so frustrating. I am very much hurts with the blame that I did not call. I have been calling and tensed last three days to make transfer happen and now you guys portrayed me as a liar. Very disappointing and irresponsible service.

 
Lsmw
Posted on July 01, 2021, 04:08 pm

Easy, fast and conveniently from home. No problems whatsoever! Highly recommend! Thanks WU!

 
Daniel
Posted on June 25, 2021, 08:48 pm

NEVER USE WESTERN UNION!!! They keep you on hold for hours, they constantly put your money on hold "for fraud review" and you have to give too much personal information just to send your love one some money. I will never use WU again!

 
Yola Fimon
Posted on June 23, 2021, 08:17 am

It has been very positive, fast sending and the recipient receiving the money through WU online.(NO FEES Bank to Bank transactions) They have the highest Philippine pesos to Dollar rates, I think there’s no problem or questions asked as long as You and your recipients have a secure bank account and the info is accurate and already established in the systems.

 
Fely
Posted on June 15, 2021, 12:11 pm

Terrible Terrible customer service, Reps are soo rude! They don't care to loose a long time customer. Luckily WU is not the only place to send money.

 
Suzannah Avila
Posted on June 02, 2021, 09:08 pm

I have had the absolute worst most terrible time dealing with this company I sent cash to my husband in Nevada from Florida and we had to go through a personal questionnaire when he went to go pick up the money mind you I had a cab outside waiting my husband did at the place where he went to go pick it up because he's visiting his brother so this cab is running Fair while these people are asking me how did I meet my husband how long did I know my husband all these personal questions which are irrelevant to the fact that I'm sending him money we're married okay and they really gave me a hard time and it was a very difficult thing to do and in times of an emergency it was not helpful useful at all this company is terrible

 
Ronnie A.
Posted on May 07, 2021, 05:14 pm

I had a terrible experience in Western Union. I sent a money last May 1,2020 to the Philippines but my recipient messaged me that the money I sent was “on hold” so I decided to called up the customer service to check what happen. Upon speaking with 3 different agents unfortunately they failed to answer my questions. But in fact they were trying to transfer my calls to other department and I’ve waited for so long for 20 minutes didn’t even address my concern and worst happen hang up. It’s really terrible Ive been patronizing this money transfer for many years but sadly I experienced lately terrible thing, very UNPROFESSIONAL and RUDE customer agents. They would have informed me right away if western union doesn’t want my money or whatever. Because they are wasting the customers time. This is unacceptable service, a bad service!?? I will NEVER EVER do business in western union anymore. VERY POOR SERVICE!

 
Amjad
Posted on April 29, 2021, 10:58 pm

Never ever use this company. I have a very bad experience of sending money to a bank account outside Canada. It took more than 15 days after repeated follow ups through emails and phone calls.

 
George C
Posted on March 30, 2021, 03:53 pm

OMG,,DO NOT USE THIS "COMPANY" EVER, EVER, EVER !!! I sent $250 plus a $25 fee for immediate access to a friend that I had sent money to in the past, using this sick, disgusting "organization" [lol]. Her name was on the kiosk as someone I had sent money to before. Three hours later my friend was told the funds were not going to be given and that I, the sender, must call the 800 325 6000. When I called, talking to an operator in the Philippines, of course, she asked me several, very, very personal questions like my name, address, the receiver's name, the state and how do I know this person, when was the last time we spoke, saw each other, and the nature of our relationship, All of which I answered and after 15-20 minutes of this nonsense I was told, "we believe there is fraud occurring and are going to refund your money. I asked on what basis, a was given the same answer, even by a supervisor. ABSOLUTELY INSANE NONSENSE BASED ON ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WITH ANY BASIS IN REALITY.

 
SHAW
Posted on March 23, 2021, 06:26 pm

Thief!!!!!!! Learn my lesson, don't deserve 1 star!!! long term customer!!!! I recently sent money through your website but unfortunately the receiver forgot to update me what his full first name belong to his actual ID, so i decided to correct the mistake and try to edit his name by calling the customer service via chat ( which first time i've done) Now the chat was provided to your website but unfortunately he was unsuccessful to help me with my request so i decided to call the customer service. i spoke to this representative and told her the issue but unable to help me so i asked to speak to supervisor she connected me but few sec ringing it got disconnected so i decided to call back. Now it's a different representative. I explained to him what happened on the first phone call and requested a supervisor again but i have to repeat myself explaining the issue AGAIN! which is frustrating and a waste of time but i shall try to be patient and explain everything to him. I express my satisfaction with the service due to one simple mistake I made which should be corrected easily but both representative unsuccessful to give me an answer. I understand that I made the transaction through the website and the application but your company has NO RIGHT to steal money from me. When I decided to cancel the recent transaction I noticed on the bottom message saying the transaction fee would not be able to refund WHICH ITS BUNCH OF BS AND STEALING. your company made millions of $ all over the world and i know i made simple mistakes but for you to steal $4.99 transaction fee is very unbelievable and your representative goal is to stand by it and steal from me. The transaction i cancelled would not be refunded 7days from now but knowing i will not get FULL AMOUNT of what used to send this money and the representative offer me a discount for future transaction but i only can use it if i send through AGENT LOCATION. We are still in PANDEMIC and I get off late from work and work my butt off during this PANDEMIC SEASON but he has audacity to tell me that.!!!!!!!! First of all I am a healthcare worker and I do not have time to go to an agent location to send money if your company made it clear that APPS AND WEBSITE to send money is more convenient . PS. I demand FULL AMOUNT REFUND

 
Alan
Posted on March 19, 2021, 06:53 pm

*************Avoid WU like it's the plague************** Like others, a transaction was put on hold after several successful transactions to the same person! Of course they don't bother to warn you, you have to figure it out yourself. Asks you to call a number once you click on the relevant link, which I did. I was shocked at how personal the questions were, not just about me but about the recipient, especially my relationship to her. I objected to this line of questioning and he went off on one about how he was trying to protect me from a relationship scam! I explained to him that I know this person well, for two years, have been together many times, etc. but he wasn't prepared to listen because he'd made up his mind already. I really had a go at him, told him these questions were inappropriate, far too personal and should not be of any concern to WU and he should not try to offer me relationship counselling; the only concern they should have is to deliver the funds on time. He then switched tack to saying he was protecting the reputation of WU Are you kidding me???!!! This is exactly how to ruin a reputation The customer service there stinks. I eventually spoke to a supervisor. I told him the decision was preposterous, explained why, told him I would never use WU again and now had to find an alternative means to send the money, while waiting up to 7 days to get back the original funds Guess what he said: I advise you sir not to send the money because we detected possible fraud! At which point I told him he had no right to say this to me, to not send money to a friend who needs it and I cut short the conversation because it became clear to me that it was a waste of time I will delete my account as soon as I get my money back

 
Terrible Service! Look elsewhere
Posted on March 19, 2021, 09:54 am

Another very disappointed customer. Horrible customer service. They screw up transfers all the time, take forever to get you a refund and they could care less about your complaints. Thankfully, there are other better services that will eventually drive western union out of business.

 
Abdel Houchaimi
Posted on March 18, 2021, 08:05 am

try to take your money one way or the other. not a trust worthy company at all

 
Rashad Anderson
Posted on March 09, 2021, 07:06 pm

This by far has been my worst way of wiring money. I was trying to receive money in New York. After contacting customer support, they verified that all of my information was correct but their system still tell me that it's incorrect. They told me to try a different branch but all of them have me the same feed back. Some of the branches close down before closing hours, so they pretty much have false information containing hours of operations. After my sender request for a refund, they responded there will be a 7 day wait of the refund and 7 days later there's no refund or feedback. I will never go through them again neither will I suggest their services to anyone else. After my experience, I feel like their business of operations should come to an end.

 
Sandra B
Posted on March 09, 2021, 10:40 am

Western Union is the absolute worst. What they are doing is basically fraud. I have tried to send money and they canceled the transaction for no good reason. (You cannot understand the reason because they can barely speak english) , yet they charged my account. I phoned customer service and I was told that they reimburse the money in 5-7 days. They took the money for a service that was not provided and they are free to use it for 5-7 days. FRAUD that's exactly the name of it. Absolutely horrendous customer service. I seriously don't know why this company is still in business.

 
Yenny Clarke
Posted on March 09, 2021, 03:24 am

THIS SERVICE IS RIDICULOUS!! Can't collect the money anywhere (shops that are open) WE HAVE WAITED 6 DAYS FOR ANY PLACE TO SEE IF IT WORKS!!!! and charging £32 for the transfer NOT REFUNDABLE???!!!!!? telephone service very poor not helpful at all!!

 
don righettini
Posted on February 25, 2021, 04:02 pm

Will never use again they lied about times it takes to send money and froze money in bank account for 7 days even though canceled transaction. Customer service was useless and just transfers me from person to person doing nothing. screwed up my plans

 
W Larson
Posted on February 10, 2021, 07:57 am

Western Union is the worst company to do business with. If you need money transferred in a hurry don't use Western Union. They cancelled my transfer after saying it was ready for pick up. They took the money out of my bank account after cancelling it and say it will take seven days to get my money back. That happened previously and it took over two weeks to get my money back. This time I put a stop payment with my bank so I should have my money back tomorrow. I must be stupid for trying to use them again. Horrible company.

 
Kevin Russell
Posted on January 27, 2021, 05:59 pm

The most worthless company on the face of the earth never use them my sister tried to send me money twice for birthday gifts and each time they block transactions that are worthless piece of shit company the customer service is a worthless piece of shit don’t ever use them and I hope the fuck they go bankrupt because I will never use them again and everyone I talk to I told him the same thing never use Western Union there a scumbag company company

 
Kristal
Posted on January 18, 2021, 12:54 pm

I purchased a money order from western union and tried to get a refund for it because I no longer needed it. I sent all the proper documentation for it and they refused to send the money back. Along with giving me the run around about why they havent recieved the documentation. Keep in mind i sent it via usps(which they said did not recieve it in 30 plus days, i have worked for the post office and i know they are lying) also via email and fax. Nothing was ever recieved by them. Even when i read out the email they sent me saying they recieved my papers but it was incomplete they still stated "they hadn't recieved anything". I was put on hold for over 45 mins each time I tried to get to the bottom of it. Bad business!! Dont do it. Moneygram and walmart is the way to go. Dont give Western Union any business they dont value you as a customer!!

 
Natalia
Posted on January 11, 2021, 05:48 am

Very slow service ( slower than ????). I did send money from bank to bank with guaranteed delivery 0-1 business day. I did send on January 2, 2021. Today January 11, 2021. Money wasn't delivered yet. WU refused cancel transaction and refused to do refund. Very disappointed. In future will use only PaySend

 
Santhosh
Posted on January 05, 2021, 06:03 am

Very worst application, I did transaction more than 10 times never delivered money with in 24 hours even I use Quick transfer

 
Lisa Marie Peaslee
Posted on January 02, 2021, 02:16 pm

I'm in desperate need of money from my daughter who wired $120.00 from AZ to CA because I'm so broke with no food and not a penny to my name and it won't arrive for 4 days. OMG!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME? SO BAD. VERY VERY BAD AND NOTHING BUT BAD REVIEWS ABOUT WESTERN UNION HERE. THEY SUCK!!!! I AM SO VERY BUMMED.

 
Victoria Edwards
Posted on December 22, 2020, 03:42 pm

Do not use them period. They don't stand by their word. I purchased a money order and find that I now have a useless peice of paper that no one accepts. Not even Western Union. I feel like they have stolen my money. It didn't take me 30 days to pay for it so why do I have to wait 30 days and pay a fee to have my money refunded. And yes as you read in other reviews their customer service is lacking badly. They do hang up on you. The recording when you call says that they are doing their best to assist their customers...if that is their best I would not care to know what is less than their best.

 
Morgan
Posted on December 02, 2020, 11:26 am

Do NOT use Western Union in Mexico! A pigeon would have been faster and more reliable. Tried on 3 different days to get my money and multiple locations refused to give me the funds. Western Union makes promises and their local offices refuse to honor them. Super frustrating waste of time and never got my money. Sender had to cancel the transfer and they still kept $15US

 
ZeeShah
Posted on October 12, 2020, 09:38 am

I transferred £200 on the 28th September abroad, my receiver was not allowed access to the money, after several phone call from myself and several visit to the local western union store by the receiver, I was told on the 7th call I made it’s under “security review” Why couldn’t the first of second person I spoke to tell me this????? By about the 10th call I had made them, I was so sick to death with them sending myself and my receiver round in circles, i wanted a refund on MY money. Over Two weeks later they can not still refund me MY money, they insisted they need a copy of the receivers “place of birth”( which by the way I’ve sent twice already) Why on earth do you need the receivers “place of birth” proof, if I’ve told you they no longer want the money! And I the receiver want a refund. I have never been so poorly treated. I am absolutely disgusted by western union, I will never use your service again. And I recommend anyone who is thinking of using them NOT TO USE THEM!!! Western union have still not refunded my money. So western union has STOLE MY MONEY! And is now beating around the bush to investigate and review this further before they can refund MY money!!!! Western union has STOLE my Money. Western union representatives need more training on their job roles, absolute disgrace!!!

 
Kenneth Evan Williams
Posted on October 11, 2020, 08:18 am

the customer Service people suck they treat you like shit. called five times to talk to a supervisor and they would hang up on me poor service.

 
Benne Piscaer
Posted on October 09, 2020, 11:49 am

WU has no consistency in its compliance approach. After years of flawless sending $ to my relatives in DRC, suddenly this WU person decides the transfer is not safe and she judges it to be fraud. So sending money becomes a haphazard process with WU: sometimes they will accept and execute, other times not. Good luck with a company like this and it's your money that will be somewhere in their pockets for a week or 10 days. Very bad customer service, on top they had me wait 20 minutes, hung up and after calling back and being irritated, they denied the transfer.

 
Sri Siva
Posted on September 25, 2020, 03:29 pm

BEWARE WU CUSTOMERS. NEVER STORE YOUR BANK INFORMATION. SECURITY IS POOR in WU. Western Union is losing credibility and I have seen my friend has got a fraudulent transaction recently. Yesterday my account had one. But I was able to cancel it immediately by luck. Money is sending to New Delhi branch for in-person pickup. I believe data is exposed and customers are in real trouble in this pandemic situation. STAY AWAY!

 
saring s
Posted on September 23, 2020, 02:54 am

 
abge a
Posted on September 23, 2020, 02:38 am

 
Raghav
Posted on September 11, 2020, 02:50 pm

Transfer was initiated on Sep 4 2020 and verification was completed on the same day. I spoke to customer care on Sept 4 and was updated that the receiver would receive the amount on Sept 11-2020 - 11:30 AM EST Sept 11-2020 12:20 PM EST: called customer care as the receiver has not received the amount - Response from customer care-it will be credited to receiver in next 10 mins at 12:30 PM EST. Sept-11-2020 - 12:40 PM EST - called customer care as receiver yet to receive the amount - Response from customer care , Transfer is on HOLD due to pending verification . I was like !!!!! The representative mentioned would transfer the call to the concerned department for resolution->Call transferred, New representative says call is to be transferred to the Agent who is handling my transfer -> I said OK->Call put on hold for 40 mins not connected to any one :) I disconnected to dial again. Sept-11-2020 - 1:00 PM EST called customer care as receiver yet to receive the amount - Response from customer care , You haven't mentioned Receiver Account number (JOKE OF THE MILLENNIUM!!!) . I was like !!!!!, the representative mentioned would transfer the call to the concerned agent for resolution->Call transferred in progress on hold for 40 mins not connected to any one :) I will be cancelling the transfer and would also ensure i delete my account with western union . I hope this experience doesn't even deserve any star.

 
Wael elkaaki
Posted on September 01, 2020, 10:50 am

I’ve dealt with this company over the years, their service is getting worse by the day. They don’t honor any most of their clients, keeping you on hold for hours, dragging you and never pay you back even if you decide to cancel. Once they hold your money, you are totally under their mercy. Liars on top, they promise to call you back and you never hear from them. Terrible customer service, agents barely pronounce English properly giving you an interview. What a mess. I’m not sure how they are still in business,

 
Efrem
Posted on August 11, 2020, 08:38 am

I send money on the same day delivery to Eritrea ???????? my sister went to ask if it’s arrived and they asked her the Reference number and she gave it to them then they said “the money is not arrived yet as soon as the money arrive we will give you call please leave your phone number” and she gave them the phone number and waited ten days to call her back but they don’t. Today she went and asked what’s going on they told her it’s been returned. So I went to the western union in Gravesend Kent to ask what happen and they told me it’s been collected on the next day of I put my money in. It was £500 plus £13.90 delivery charge. Now I call to complain and they told me it will take up to 20 days. Now my sister asking neighbours to borrow some money. I’m confused Now did I went to BETTING SHOP.

 
Srini
Posted on August 06, 2020, 09:24 am

Actually i shouldn't give even 1 Star, I initiate a transfer and paid on the same day. for 2 days the status was not updated at all. Guess what while i am tracking my self the transfer got cancelled, i didn't receive any text or email, what a substandard service from Western Union, The customer service is absolutely useless, could not check the reason even they could not check the money is received or not, How ridiculous is it. even after a week i didn't get the refund yet. Looks they just get pay to apologise. Ridiculously they are telling me to check with my bank, how idiotic it is, the money was transferred from my account, my hardly earned money is with stupid Western union.

 
Nicole
Posted on July 25, 2020, 03:33 pm

I have been a Western Union customer for the past four years and in the beginning, the process was very efficient. I was transferring money to another country and all I had to do was call WU through an agent location and then receive a temporary number and give it to the cashier. Three years in, the experience has gotten soooooo poor. I had to call several times just to fix my name, my receiver's name, address, etc. EACH TIME I want to send a transfer. I felt like they do not listen at all over the phone and just want to hurry the process. First of all, I use WU because one of their agent locations are nearby and since I was used to their process. Not to mention the agent location I go to has awful customer service, they refuse to work with WU to help me send my transfer through. Previously I've been having difficulties using their agent telephone machine and especially they kept misspelling my information and force me to wait about 10 minutes each time I call (LITERALLY). Last night I thought maybe I could make my life easier by doing a transfer through their website. I took my time creating an account and using my information, blah blah blah. Thus the website said my transfer is almost complete and all I need to do is walk in and provide my phone number, easy peasy right? NOPE. When I walked in letting them know I already started the transfer process online, I was told to call them. So I did - WU representative held me on the phone for 15 minutes then hung up on me. Just so all of you guys know, WU charges more in person than if you start a process through their website. But even doing business with them you have to go through so many hurdles. Here's my recommendation to Western Union: - help your agent locations with issues like this, be available to help them because everytime I have questions or try to let store representatives know why my experience was so horrible, they basically said it is out of their control. WU get your business together. - technology has advanced. Try improving with technology instead on relying on those telephone machines. Super outdated and personally has caused me more issues than it should have. - if I use your website to process a transfer, I would expect it to work. Why bother having a website and creating an account if that doesn't make it easier for me? I ended having to call again to send a transfer and wait another 20 minutes. Seriously, make everyone's lives better by focusing on the online processes and making sure those processes are connected to the agent locations.

 
Na
Posted on July 21, 2020, 08:28 pm

I would give zero stars if I could. I always sent money to India thru western union. this is my first worst experience with western union transaction has been cancelled after 5 the day 2 times. I have reached customer care, they said your money will reach 0 to 4 days. in the middle we can't cancel the transactions,so wait for 4 th day. but the transaction was not successful. 5th day i am able to cancel my transaction. again they hold my money to 2 to 3 days.:( :(.

 
Halima Sabour
Posted on July 20, 2020, 11:00 pm

To Ms. Noemi Lazaga Dimalanta here's your money.

 
Fazil Mohammed
Posted on July 18, 2020, 01:37 pm

I wish I could give a negative or zero but there is no such option. Please never use their service online, they are thieves and they would never keep their promise of depositing the money on time forget about before. Instead, use Ria or other services that are more reliable. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND NOT USING WESTERN UNION.

 
Kam
Posted on June 20, 2020, 09:12 am

"Your transaction could not be completed." I always get this message after adding all the details on final page. Very frustrating.

 
Chandru
Posted on June 05, 2020, 09:09 am

Great. Money was successfully transferred within 5 business days as stated. Thumbs up !

 
Harsha Nathani
Posted on May 09, 2020, 05:42 am

I would give zero stars if I could. I am a student trying to get money from India to Canada using western union. Below transaction is initiated on 02nd May and money is sent to WU on 3rd May. WU decided on 5th May to cancel the transfer without bothering to give a reason for cancellation and doesn't bother to return the money. Which means I cannot access the much-needed money in any way. Every time I call they give me a templated answer that process is automatic and takes 7-10 business days. Today a full week has passed and WU already made 3$ in bank interest this week on my money. My advice to anyone using this service for outward remittance from India is to be aware and account for 15+ days delay.

 
Carine Paunkovic
Posted on April 30, 2020, 07:24 am

Worst customer service ever!!!! Simply they disappeared with my money. Have tried emailing, calling, chatting online and no one have an answer why the funds weren’t transferred. The money left my account but never arrived at country. I was never informed of any issue and the transaction went through. No one picks up the phone at customer care, no one replies to the emails and I don’t know where is my money!!!!

 
Harvs
Posted on March 22, 2020, 09:43 pm

Western Union staff in Panganiban Branch in Naga City is using her smartphone while customers are waiting. Second, their staff aren't familiar enough in Western Union products. Third, they're rude.

 
suresh
Posted on March 18, 2020, 12:20 pm

I sent money with WU to india.. they said money deposited into receiver bank but never deposited. Reached out representative 4 times they always says they will escalate. really worst service ..

 
KG
Posted on March 12, 2020, 12:00 pm

Bad Service

 
Ak
Posted on March 11, 2020, 04:28 pm

Cheating company. We have to file a complaint against these frauds. One of the worst money transfer company. They always try to cheat the customers. They hold your money when dollar rate is increasing then they will convert them for higher rate and will transfer to us with lower rate after a week. I don’t know who gave the authority to hold our money. Big Fraud Company

 
Siva
Posted on March 10, 2020, 07:46 am

Transfer was marked complete but the amount was not credited. While customer care call always got disconnected. When reached through chat they are saying some technical issue so cant be resolved, asked to reach the customer care after holding the amount for 5 days. This is not fair, in case of not able to deliver the amount should be refunded to customer account. Not satisfied with the service.

 
Pavan
Posted on February 26, 2020, 07:03 am

Transfers are always delayed, and moreover one of my transfer did not complete in 10 days as well, I had to request refund and that again took a week.

 
Chidambaram Kandasamy
Posted on February 22, 2020, 09:47 am

i did couple of transfer first three transfer completed successfully , after that they are taking very long time more than agreed date, just they will do complete status in WU but actually that is not true one. Customer care is very worst, just they will keep your money, DONT PREFER WU. if you want frustration/pressure then use western union

 

Get Listed or Advertise