USA IND

₹ 72.84

USA MEX

Mex$ 20.52

AUS IND

₹ 56.42

WRITE A REVIEW Reviews that include promotional materials will not be published. Please see our Terms of Service.
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

Select Corridors

Your Alerts Are Set

Vinod
Posted on February 26, 2021, 10:55 am

After 2 year of better rates experience, I may move to competitors as WU's rate are not competitive now a days.

 
don righettini
Posted on February 25, 2021, 04:02 pm

Will never use again they lied about times it takes to send money and froze money in bank account for 7 days even though canceled transaction. Customer service was useless and just transfers me from person to person doing nothing. screwed up my plans

 
W Larson
Posted on February 10, 2021, 07:57 am

Western Union is the worst company to do business with. If you need money transferred in a hurry don't use Western Union. They cancelled my transfer after saying it was ready for pick up. They took the money out of my bank account after cancelling it and say it will take seven days to get my money back. That happened previously and it took over two weeks to get my money back. This time I put a stop payment with my bank so I should have my money back tomorrow. I must be stupid for trying to use them again. Horrible company.

 
Kevin Russell
Posted on January 27, 2021, 05:59 pm

The most worthless company on the face of the earth never use them my sister tried to send me money twice for birthday gifts and each time they block transactions that are worthless piece of shit company the customer service is a worthless piece of shit don’t ever use them and I hope the fuck they go bankrupt because I will never use them again and everyone I talk to I told him the same thing never use Western Union there a scumbag company company

 
Kristal
Posted on January 18, 2021, 12:54 pm

I purchased a money order from western union and tried to get a refund for it because I no longer needed it. I sent all the proper documentation for it and they refused to send the money back. Along with giving me the run around about why they havent recieved the documentation. Keep in mind i sent it via usps(which they said did not recieve it in 30 plus days, i have worked for the post office and i know they are lying) also via email and fax. Nothing was ever recieved by them. Even when i read out the email they sent me saying they recieved my papers but it was incomplete they still stated "they hadn't recieved anything". I was put on hold for over 45 mins each time I tried to get to the bottom of it. Bad business!! Dont do it. Moneygram and walmart is the way to go. Dont give Western Union any business they dont value you as a customer!!

 
Natalia
Posted on January 11, 2021, 05:48 am

Very slow service ( slower than ????). I did send money from bank to bank with guaranteed delivery 0-1 business day. I did send on January 2, 2021. Today January 11, 2021. Money wasn't delivered yet. WU refused cancel transaction and refused to do refund. Very disappointed. In future will use only PaySend

 
Santhosh
Posted on January 05, 2021, 06:03 am

Very worst application, I did transaction more than 10 times never delivered money with in 24 hours even I use Quick transfer

 
Lisa Marie Peaslee
Posted on January 02, 2021, 02:16 pm

I'm in desperate need of money from my daughter who wired $120.00 from AZ to CA because I'm so broke with no food and not a penny to my name and it won't arrive for 4 days. OMG!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME? SO BAD. VERY VERY BAD AND NOTHING BUT BAD REVIEWS ABOUT WESTERN UNION HERE. THEY SUCK!!!! I AM SO VERY BUMMED.

 
Victoria Edwards
Posted on December 22, 2020, 03:42 pm

Do not use them period. They don't stand by their word. I purchased a money order and find that I now have a useless peice of paper that no one accepts. Not even Western Union. I feel like they have stolen my money. It didn't take me 30 days to pay for it so why do I have to wait 30 days and pay a fee to have my money refunded. And yes as you read in other reviews their customer service is lacking badly. They do hang up on you. The recording when you call says that they are doing their best to assist their customers...if that is their best I would not care to know what is less than their best.

 
Morgan
Posted on December 02, 2020, 11:26 am

Do NOT use Western Union in Mexico! A pigeon would have been faster and more reliable. Tried on 3 different days to get my money and multiple locations refused to give me the funds. Western Union makes promises and their local offices refuse to honor them. Super frustrating waste of time and never got my money. Sender had to cancel the transfer and they still kept $15US

 
ZeeShah
Posted on October 12, 2020, 09:38 am

I transferred £200 on the 28th September abroad, my receiver was not allowed access to the money, after several phone call from myself and several visit to the local western union store by the receiver, I was told on the 7th call I made it’s under “security review” Why couldn’t the first of second person I spoke to tell me this????? By about the 10th call I had made them, I was so sick to death with them sending myself and my receiver round in circles, i wanted a refund on MY money. Over Two weeks later they can not still refund me MY money, they insisted they need a copy of the receivers “place of birth”( which by the way I’ve sent twice already) Why on earth do you need the receivers “place of birth” proof, if I’ve told you they no longer want the money! And I the receiver want a refund. I have never been so poorly treated. I am absolutely disgusted by western union, I will never use your service again. And I recommend anyone who is thinking of using them NOT TO USE THEM!!! Western union have still not refunded my money. So western union has STOLE MY MONEY! And is now beating around the bush to investigate and review this further before they can refund MY money!!!! Western union has STOLE my Money. Western union representatives need more training on their job roles, absolute disgrace!!!

 
Kenneth Evan Williams
Posted on October 11, 2020, 08:18 am

the customer Service people suck they treat you like shit. called five times to talk to a supervisor and they would hang up on me poor service.

 
Benne Piscaer
Posted on October 09, 2020, 11:49 am

WU has no consistency in its compliance approach. After years of flawless sending $ to my relatives in DRC, suddenly this WU person decides the transfer is not safe and she judges it to be fraud. So sending money becomes a haphazard process with WU: sometimes they will accept and execute, other times not. Good luck with a company like this and it's your money that will be somewhere in their pockets for a week or 10 days. Very bad customer service, on top they had me wait 20 minutes, hung up and after calling back and being irritated, they denied the transfer.

 
Sri Siva
Posted on September 25, 2020, 03:29 pm

BEWARE WU CUSTOMERS. NEVER STORE YOUR BANK INFORMATION. SECURITY IS POOR in WU. Western Union is losing credibility and I have seen my friend has got a fraudulent transaction recently. Yesterday my account had one. But I was able to cancel it immediately by luck. Money is sending to New Delhi branch for in-person pickup. I believe data is exposed and customers are in real trouble in this pandemic situation. STAY AWAY!

 
saring s
Posted on September 23, 2020, 02:54 am

 
abge a
Posted on September 23, 2020, 02:38 am

 
Raghav
Posted on September 11, 2020, 02:50 pm

Transfer was initiated on Sep 4 2020 and verification was completed on the same day. I spoke to customer care on Sept 4 and was updated that the receiver would receive the amount on Sept 11-2020 - 11:30 AM EST Sept 11-2020 12:20 PM EST: called customer care as the receiver has not received the amount - Response from customer care-it will be credited to receiver in next 10 mins at 12:30 PM EST. Sept-11-2020 - 12:40 PM EST - called customer care as receiver yet to receive the amount - Response from customer care , Transfer is on HOLD due to pending verification . I was like !!!!! The representative mentioned would transfer the call to the concerned department for resolution->Call transferred, New representative says call is to be transferred to the Agent who is handling my transfer -> I said OK->Call put on hold for 40 mins not connected to any one :) I disconnected to dial again. Sept-11-2020 - 1:00 PM EST called customer care as receiver yet to receive the amount - Response from customer care , You haven't mentioned Receiver Account number (JOKE OF THE MILLENNIUM!!!) . I was like !!!!!, the representative mentioned would transfer the call to the concerned agent for resolution->Call transferred in progress on hold for 40 mins not connected to any one :) I will be cancelling the transfer and would also ensure i delete my account with western union . I hope this experience doesn't even deserve any star.

 
Wael elkaaki
Posted on September 01, 2020, 10:50 am

I’ve dealt with this company over the years, their service is getting worse by the day. They don’t honor any most of their clients, keeping you on hold for hours, dragging you and never pay you back even if you decide to cancel. Once they hold your money, you are totally under their mercy. Liars on top, they promise to call you back and you never hear from them. Terrible customer service, agents barely pronounce English properly giving you an interview. What a mess. I’m not sure how they are still in business,

 
Efrem
Posted on August 11, 2020, 08:38 am

I send money on the same day delivery to Eritrea ???????? my sister went to ask if it’s arrived and they asked her the Reference number and she gave it to them then they said “the money is not arrived yet as soon as the money arrive we will give you call please leave your phone number” and she gave them the phone number and waited ten days to call her back but they don’t. Today she went and asked what’s going on they told her it’s been returned. So I went to the western union in Gravesend Kent to ask what happen and they told me it’s been collected on the next day of I put my money in. It was £500 plus £13.90 delivery charge. Now I call to complain and they told me it will take up to 20 days. Now my sister asking neighbours to borrow some money. I’m confused Now did I went to BETTING SHOP.

 
Srini
Posted on August 06, 2020, 09:24 am

Actually i shouldn't give even 1 Star, I initiate a transfer and paid on the same day. for 2 days the status was not updated at all. Guess what while i am tracking my self the transfer got cancelled, i didn't receive any text or email, what a substandard service from Western Union, The customer service is absolutely useless, could not check the reason even they could not check the money is received or not, How ridiculous is it. even after a week i didn't get the refund yet. Looks they just get pay to apologise. Ridiculously they are telling me to check with my bank, how idiotic it is, the money was transferred from my account, my hardly earned money is with stupid Western union.

 
Nicole
Posted on July 25, 2020, 03:33 pm

I have been a Western Union customer for the past four years and in the beginning, the process was very efficient. I was transferring money to another country and all I had to do was call WU through an agent location and then receive a temporary number and give it to the cashier. Three years in, the experience has gotten soooooo poor. I had to call several times just to fix my name, my receiver's name, address, etc. EACH TIME I want to send a transfer. I felt like they do not listen at all over the phone and just want to hurry the process. First of all, I use WU because one of their agent locations are nearby and since I was used to their process. Not to mention the agent location I go to has awful customer service, they refuse to work with WU to help me send my transfer through. Previously I've been having difficulties using their agent telephone machine and especially they kept misspelling my information and force me to wait about 10 minutes each time I call (LITERALLY). Last night I thought maybe I could make my life easier by doing a transfer through their website. I took my time creating an account and using my information, blah blah blah. Thus the website said my transfer is almost complete and all I need to do is walk in and provide my phone number, easy peasy right? NOPE. When I walked in letting them know I already started the transfer process online, I was told to call them. So I did - WU representative held me on the phone for 15 minutes then hung up on me. Just so all of you guys know, WU charges more in person than if you start a process through their website. But even doing business with them you have to go through so many hurdles. Here's my recommendation to Western Union: - help your agent locations with issues like this, be available to help them because everytime I have questions or try to let store representatives know why my experience was so horrible, they basically said it is out of their control. WU get your business together. - technology has advanced. Try improving with technology instead on relying on those telephone machines. Super outdated and personally has caused me more issues than it should have. - if I use your website to process a transfer, I would expect it to work. Why bother having a website and creating an account if that doesn't make it easier for me? I ended having to call again to send a transfer and wait another 20 minutes. Seriously, make everyone's lives better by focusing on the online processes and making sure those processes are connected to the agent locations.

 
Na
Posted on July 21, 2020, 08:28 pm

I would give zero stars if I could. I always sent money to India thru western union. this is my first worst experience with western union transaction has been cancelled after 5 the day 2 times. I have reached customer care, they said your money will reach 0 to 4 days. in the middle we can't cancel the transactions,so wait for 4 th day. but the transaction was not successful. 5th day i am able to cancel my transaction. again they hold my money to 2 to 3 days.:( :(.

 
Halima Sabour
Posted on July 20, 2020, 11:00 pm

To Ms. Noemi Lazaga Dimalanta here's your money.

 
Fazil Mohammed
Posted on July 18, 2020, 01:37 pm

I wish I could give a negative or zero but there is no such option. Please never use their service online, they are thieves and they would never keep their promise of depositing the money on time forget about before. Instead, use Ria or other services that are more reliable. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND NOT USING WESTERN UNION.

 
Kam
Posted on June 20, 2020, 09:12 am

"Your transaction could not be completed." I always get this message after adding all the details on final page. Very frustrating.

 
Chandru
Posted on June 05, 2020, 09:09 am

Great. Money was successfully transferred within 5 business days as stated. Thumbs up !

 
Harsha Nathani
Posted on May 09, 2020, 05:42 am

I would give zero stars if I could. I am a student trying to get money from India to Canada using western union. Below transaction is initiated on 02nd May and money is sent to WU on 3rd May. WU decided on 5th May to cancel the transfer without bothering to give a reason for cancellation and doesn't bother to return the money. Which means I cannot access the much-needed money in any way. Every time I call they give me a templated answer that process is automatic and takes 7-10 business days. Today a full week has passed and WU already made 3$ in bank interest this week on my money. My advice to anyone using this service for outward remittance from India is to be aware and account for 15+ days delay.

 
Carine Paunkovic
Posted on April 30, 2020, 07:24 am

Worst customer service ever!!!! Simply they disappeared with my money. Have tried emailing, calling, chatting online and no one have an answer why the funds weren’t transferred. The money left my account but never arrived at country. I was never informed of any issue and the transaction went through. No one picks up the phone at customer care, no one replies to the emails and I don’t know where is my money!!!!

 
Harvs
Posted on March 22, 2020, 09:43 pm

Western Union staff in Panganiban Branch in Naga City is using her smartphone while customers are waiting. Second, their staff aren't familiar enough in Western Union products. Third, they're rude.

 
suresh
Posted on March 18, 2020, 12:20 pm

I sent money with WU to india.. they said money deposited into receiver bank but never deposited. Reached out representative 4 times they always says they will escalate. really worst service ..

 
KG
Posted on March 12, 2020, 12:00 pm

Bad Service

 
Ak
Posted on March 11, 2020, 04:28 pm

Cheating company. We have to file a complaint against these frauds. One of the worst money transfer company. They always try to cheat the customers. They hold your money when dollar rate is increasing then they will convert them for higher rate and will transfer to us with lower rate after a week. I don’t know who gave the authority to hold our money. Big Fraud Company

 
Siva
Posted on March 10, 2020, 07:46 am

Transfer was marked complete but the amount was not credited. While customer care call always got disconnected. When reached through chat they are saying some technical issue so cant be resolved, asked to reach the customer care after holding the amount for 5 days. This is not fair, in case of not able to deliver the amount should be refunded to customer account. Not satisfied with the service.

 
Pavan
Posted on February 26, 2020, 07:03 am

Transfers are always delayed, and moreover one of my transfer did not complete in 10 days as well, I had to request refund and that again took a week.

 
Chidambaram Kandasamy
Posted on February 22, 2020, 09:47 am

i did couple of transfer first three transfer completed successfully , after that they are taking very long time more than agreed date, just they will do complete status in WU but actually that is not true one. Customer care is very worst, just they will keep your money, DONT PREFER WU. if you want frustration/pressure then use western union

 
Kuldip Rindani
Posted on February 09, 2020, 11:20 am

I don't see rating below 1 may be in fractions as they don't deserve even 1. Full of crap - I was using there service for 4 years until recently when even after providing with them shit load of information now they declines transfer multiple for no apparent reason and shamefully name it business decision.

 
Posted on January 17, 2020, 11:25 pm

 
Gaurang Patel
Posted on January 09, 2020, 04:29 pm

Please dont use Western Union for money transfer. Customer service is very very poor. They didnt send my money on time. After 2 days they reject my transfer with no reason. i got my money back but i loose exchange rate. when i transfer rate was good after two days rate was down and i loose money on exchange rate

 
Leilani Santiago
Posted on January 05, 2020, 06:45 pm

Hi i sent money transfer online everything goes well after few minutes western union emailed me that my transfer was cancelled but it deducted to my account. And until now never return my money back. Pls western union i need my money back

 
Daren
Posted on November 23, 2019, 01:25 pm

This will definitely be the last time I use western union unless i have no other options on earth. Almost every time I send money, my transfer is delayed because some moron at western union decides people are too stupid to send money without intervention. It is none of western unions business who I send money to, their relation to me, or reason why the money is being sent. This is my business. Western Union's business is to transfer the money. Sending $10000.00 to Russia, sure. $100 in state.. no. Only a moron would think this is true. Western Union you need to fix your broken system.

 
SURESH PATEL
Posted on November 07, 2019, 09:42 pm

I USE WU 5 TIME AND NOW 6 TIME ITS ALLOW ME SAME DAY TRANSFER ANY MONEY IS IN MY A/C WITH IN 10 MINUTES ITS VERY FASTER THANKS WU

 
prem
Posted on November 02, 2019, 07:27 am

They are very very very slow may be using ages software , customer support is not helpful, They even dont know what to speak except ummm..hmmm...aaaaa..even dumb people can do that. They dont know what is the higher limit .they dont know what why they are declining the transaction. They waste service ever ever.

 
Pradeep
Posted on October 15, 2019, 07:34 am

CompareRemit always delay and and provide false information about Western union . The rate is 1.00 USD = 70.9482 Indian Rupee (INR) today but show 70.53 INR. Cant trust compare Remit in case of of some remittance as it not updated constantly. Go to their direct sights to check the rates.

 
kenneth olson
Posted on September 24, 2019, 03:04 pm

They are the worst, customer service can not speak English in general and mod not understand the company’s policies

 
Posted on August 30, 2019, 05:12 am

 
Posted on August 23, 2019, 05:39 pm

 
Rajehvar
Posted on August 23, 2019, 05:39 pm

Sent money using bank account to bank in foreign country, amount credited within few seconds. Really appreciated.

 
JR
Posted on August 12, 2019, 11:49 am

I Stopped using this company about 15 years ago because the excessive personal information they request to complete a simple transaction, last week a friend sent me a payment without me knowing he was sending it via western union, its been over a few days and 3 trips to try to withdraw the payment, 3 e-mails, 2 phone calls to their lousy customer service without any luck of completing the transaction, now I'm simply giving up and I'm asking the sender to go claim his money. STAY AWAY FROM THIS FRAUDULENT COMPANY!!

 
Leilani Santiago
Posted on August 07, 2019, 09:40 pm

I sent money online transfer thru the pnb bank which date august 3 2019 until now the reciever havent recieved thr money and i contact them sinced monday till today 2of the repsresentatvie hang up on me. Until now they never solved the problem .what happen to my money.

 
Sridhar
Posted on July 18, 2019, 11:29 am

69.9 showing on compareremit and 68.4767 in WU. why the difference?

 

Get Listed or Advertise