WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
 
Your review has been submitted !

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted !

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Western Union Money Transfer Reviews

Renato Kux
Posted on May 14, 2017, 03:18 pm

they will post a hold on your bank account but not complete the transaction. Tey tell you they are sorry but just cant solve the problem. They will ruining your day screw up your finances and they just dont care. The lies and misleading information is amazing. try money gram it seems to work better

 
Jonas
Posted on May 09, 2017, 11:17 pm

I sent money online yesterday and was received right away. Then I sent another money today to a different receiver and was declined. I called the customer service and he asked me tons of questions to check my identity and even asked me how am I related to the receiver and the purpose of sending the money??? Is this really needed - they need to know the reason why I'm sending money????? He refused to say the reason why he's declining it....POOR SERVICE AND INFORMATION TO CUSTOMERS!!! In case I answered some questions incorrectly he should have more ways to check my true indentity...sorry some of the questions were not clear due to his accent and even I asked to repeat it again still unclear.

 
Mahesh
Posted on May 05, 2017, 10:24 am

I'm using their service from past 10 months and I didn't experience any issue. Moreover, the money gets transferred in a day.

 
Kevin
Posted on May 01, 2017, 03:37 pm

I tried using Western Union to send money online and I got a call from their "digital review" personnel in Costa Rica who "interviewed" me "for my own protection against fraud" and the guy determined that I should be denied and so he cancelled my transaction. The "interview" about me, my personal background, my reasons for sending the money, etc. were all asked under the guise of protecting me, so he said. In reality, he was not a personable person and wielded around his power over whether he would allow me to send money. He asked very "leading" questions and made several false assumptions. He also refused to tell me why he was rejecting my transaction. I ended up speaking to his manager who was as incompetent as he was, as well as two others in their "customer service" department in the Philippines who were nice enough people but said that there was nothing that could be done since the original idiot had already cancelled the transaction - they said I would need to go back online and start over by making a new transaction. As if I'm going to bother with that! It's little wonder this is a dying business which deserves to die a slow agonizing death. Good riddance! If you try looking for their financial performance as a company good luck, they buried it in their 2016 annual report on page 158! No wonder, as they've had declining revenue and income since 2012.

 
Sai Sankar Mohanty
Posted on April 18, 2017, 03:38 pm

When i tried it first time , my money went immediately . After that whenever i am trying it is taking 1 week to transfer the money. When i am trying to do the transaction from debit card, it is not allowing me .When i spoke with their customer care , they told the process might be different from person to person without giving any valid reason . Not sure , why do people use these kind of services . It would be lot of tension when you send your money through this

 
Ganesh
Posted on March 24, 2017, 03:07 pm

I have WU for more then 5 times. No issues and amount credited to my bank's on time.

 
Kris Johnson
Posted on February 20, 2017, 10:37 pm

Honestly why does this company even still exist. What a freaking rip off. I haven't used them for five years and now I remember why. After spending half an hour on their broken web site I called and spent half an hour on the phone with their rep who took all of my personal info including name, CC number, DOB, 2 phone numbers, mailing address, yada yada and then they declined my card. They gave me a list of 5 "possible reasons" but would not tell me the actual reason. I tried another card and same thing. I have large credit limits on these cards - this is bullsh*t. I asked if I could do a bank transfer but no, you can't do that on the phone, but you can do that on the app or the website, but those are BROKEN, so she said I could get in my car at 1 am and DRIVE to some godforsaken WU location for the privilege of spending $13 to send $100 to my friend who is in need. About this time I started to remember something. I remembered that every freaking time I have used these people in the past, this same type of crap has happened! Why do I keep coming back for this abuse? Well in the age of smartphones I don't know why anyone would. My friend and I realized I could zap her the money on PayPal and she would have it on her phone and it costs ZERO. Stay away from these fools.

 
Chris debowski
Posted on February 13, 2017, 08:35 pm

Send money using any other service. These people gave away my $3000 to someone else!! Then had the nerve to do two investigations and tell me I picked up the money myself when I was NO WHERE NEAR the pick up location!!! They wouldn't even give me a chance to prove it!!! The second investigation paper was written, your transaction dated December 30th 1899!! It was November 26th 2016!!! They can't even get the year right within 100 years!! These people are a joke! They assume no responsibility and basically laugh at you for trying to recover your money!! They will not release the location where the money was picked up in the foreign city so I can't file an investigation there. After a month of asking for the signed paper used to pick up the money they sent me a photo copy of the paper with the signature whited out!! They won't release the video footage of the person picking up the money nor the photo copy of ID used. Forget the outrageous charges they have. They will just give it to someone else with no valid ID and then say it was your fault! Its a shame they make you put at least one star on this review! I don't know how they can legally get away with running a business like this. Whatever you do, do not send money with them!! Use any other company. I guarantee they will be better.

 
Raymond Gressley
Posted on January 26, 2017, 09:19 am

I have never been treated so poorly by a company as a customer. You advertise a service and as a customer I expect you to carry out my wishes. This exactly the opposite of what you have done for me. I just have one question. Who died and made you think that you are God Almighty to be making very poor decisions over my interests and wishes. You have the poorest most rude arrogant attitude towards the customer. You are discusting. Have a great day. You can either listen to what I have to say or I guarantee that if you don't you will lose a lot of business. What I have seen is the reality of a poorly run business.

 
Kelly Sabens
Posted on January 08, 2017, 02:34 am

I am an Air Force Airman serving in SW Asia. My brother died in FL, my parents flew down from VT. I wanted to help with the financial situation, as they are short of money. I have tried NUMEROUS times, over a two week period to wire money via any one of 3 cc's I have. Come to find out one doesn't support wire transfers, OK. I have two other good cc's to use. I tried to wire to a checking account and to a location in FL. My credit company said that I was good to go, even had the out of the country provision on the one with the most credit available.. BUT, apparently WU's validation procedure wouldn't allow any transaction to go through. I checked with the cc co's and the transactions never even hit them. I am so disappointed in WU. They are supposed to be helpful in dire needs. There were not in any way helpful for me. I asked why the validation was not completed and they said that there were so many reasons why! Well, I cannot understand in the least, it hurts that I have great credit and cannot help my parents out in this time of need. FYI, my parents did have just enough cash to make it home to Vermont, yesterday, barely.

 
kip
Posted on December 20, 2016, 10:41 pm

Worst service ever. Tried to transfer money to India. It's been a month and the money still not deposited to Indian account nor returned back to my US account.

 
Jayan
Posted on December 08, 2016, 06:55 am

Worst site..... they are not giving the rate shown in compare remit site.....the actual rate they gave is much less than what they displayed in compare remit site

 
Babji
Posted on December 07, 2016, 08:46 pm

my transfer was declined stating i have to go through an interview. I said ok. They asked questions that are way too private and personal. I objected and their reply was 'federal regulations'. I asked if federal regulations specify this particular set of questions. The agent turned a deaf ear and kept asking me the next question. i declied to answer and rejected their service. i was a customer for 2 yrs. They ill treat people. worst service. no courtesy. Dont fall prey to their brand!!!

 
Sandeep Kumar
Posted on November 23, 2016, 04:52 pm

very worst service, my both transaction got cancelled and they are keeping money for 15 to 20 days and then canceling, after cancelling have to wait for 1 to 2 week, means for 4 week our money block. and very worst customer care service, I never ever suggest to prefer Western Union, they are making fool.

 
Naresh Babu
Posted on November 23, 2016, 11:51 am

I had given the rating 5 star for for the previous comment.I have faced the worst service by WU customer care. Money has deducted from my bofa account with out my authorization and When I called customer care to inquire about the disrupt ,customer care people didn't answer properly and disconnected the call while i was speaking.

 
Jayachandra
Posted on November 23, 2016, 08:20 am

Worst ever service .. NO proper support from his people specially when transaction status is reviewed they will cancel the transaction without proper reason and deposit back to my account after 2 tmes. this happened for 2 times. I never Prefer this again.

 
Shashank
Posted on November 22, 2016, 11:30 am

I have used western union for sending money to India atleast 5 times and it has been immediate transfer for the first 4 times when using direct deposit using debit card. But the fifth time, it has been about a week and I am yet to get my money deposited. I love the rate provided but a consistent service would have been great

 
Sriguru
Posted on November 18, 2016, 08:02 am

I opened account with Western Union on 14th of Nov. I was able to make a successful transaction. But after that everytime i try to send money it says transaction unsuccessful with Error Code C1974. Called the customer care and they are not helpful in troubleshooting the issue. supervisor told me to wait for 3 days before making a fresh transaction, but even after 5 days it is the same issue.

 
Shanmuganathan Manivannan
Posted on November 15, 2016, 04:28 pm

I initiated the money transfer through Western Union on 9th November 2016 and by then they mentioned number of days as 4. Today i got an email from them saying that we have received your money and will process it by 17th which is 5 days later than what they promised. This is real cheating and crap. Will never use this service again.

 
Pankaj
Posted on November 15, 2016, 01:25 pm

SCAMMERS WHO WILL WASTE YOUR TIME. DON'T FALL FOR IT. Worst Service and even poorer customer care. The transaction was getting declined. I checked with my bank and they confirmed that the transaction was getting through from their side. When I got in touch with WU customer care named Danica she wasn't ready to listen to the problem and asked me to visit the Agent location instead. Who visits an Agent in today's digital age.

 
Ankur
Posted on November 15, 2016, 12:01 pm

Worst website only first transfer went through, after that only error poor customer care, they don't know the resolutions only giving superficial answers, poor customer satisfaction, please avoid it

 
NARESH Babu
Posted on November 14, 2016, 11:40 am

I have used WU 4 times.I have found no issues.Till so far it is very good.My money got credited to receiver's account just on button click.

 
Karthik
Posted on November 14, 2016, 09:38 am

Seems like there is an ambiguity in the information here and in the information in Westernunion. The refer a friend policy seems to be expired already however the compareremit says its valid till 1st Dec. When i had a chat with WU team they said anything outside of westernunion website is not an official offer from WU.

 
Geo
Posted on November 02, 2016, 07:22 pm

This is the best service ever. Great rates always. <=900 no charges, Since the exchange rate is high, the $3 charge for higher amounts upto $2999 impacts very less, and hence rates are high than all the other services listed here. Transfer happens in <10 mins. Great service WU, keep it up.

 
Syed
Posted on October 27, 2016, 08:53 am

Worst ever money transfer service. Never ever try western union, they just make you go pillar to post and does nothing. first you can never track your transaction online and when you call them, they only say its going to happen soon. My first transaction took ages to complete and the second transaction went on hold and they are telling they require multiple proofs of my ID and letter from bank and if no document is submitted, the amount will not be refunded as well. crap service provider. They even ask for Online banking password which I denied

 
TJ
Posted on October 23, 2016, 08:24 pm

Worst money transfer service I have ever used! Website is bad, customer service is bad, I was able to do only one transaction successfully out of almost 10 times! My money transfer was kept on hold, they asked for IDs but it didn't stop there! I got calls and emails on random hours (4 in the morning) and transactions were cancelled if not responded. I spent hours talking to customer service to authenticate my account but it didn't work as well! I won't recommend it to anyone!

 
Venkat
Posted on October 21, 2016, 09:45 am

Very fast (10min) USD to Inr transfer to bank, I am happy to recommend the service.

 
RK
Posted on October 02, 2016, 10:10 pm

Never use there service, they are cheating people on the name of money transferring service. They deducted money from my US account and my indian bank account was not credited even after the promised delivery date. After multiple follow ups they say we released funds from our side, please follow up with ur local bank. I went to indian branch and figured out that the funds were not released from WU. When i call WU customer service they say funds were not released and will process refund and for that i need to wait for another 48 hours. I kindly suggest friends, not to get into this trap and use other trusted services like ria and remitly.

 
Sagar
Posted on September 14, 2016, 07:48 pm

I have been WU customer for the past 2 years. It used to be my favorite service provider. Since others are providing better rates in the market, for the past few months I didn't use WU. Today I noticed they are giving a better rate so did a transfer. But the transaction was kept on hold and later got declined email. I called them to find out reason. They said I need to provide few personal details such as full name, dob, phone num etc. which are already there with my account. They asked me to send those details again to a different team thru email. I was told for every transaction there will be review and need to go thru this process. Who will do all these nonsense for every transaction? It was not the case few months back. Since the transaction is declined they said it may take up to 7 working days to release my money back in my account. Very frustrating. Can't believe a company working like this (for existing customers) when there is huge competition in market. This would be my last transaction. I wish this review should be read by their sr. folks to take corrective action.

 
Venka
Posted on September 14, 2016, 09:10 am

1st transaction was fast, but after then Online WU transactions couldn't be completed. refer a friend link poses error always

 
gaurav.it
Posted on September 01, 2016, 11:34 am

Even last month transfer was slow and took until 5-7 business days. This month, it is very fast and received money within a day. Currently, western union is providing best exchange rates. Compare all the exchange rates before sending money.

 
dilun1989
Posted on August 21, 2016, 02:18 pm

Have used western union many a times now. The transfer is absolutely free upto $2999 (to bank accounts). Always get my transfers done within 24 hours. Really fast service and you get whatever money they show you during processing. No hidden fees. Really impressed.

 
bpsans
Posted on August 16, 2016, 11:27 am

Mention its free for transfer, but Transfer fee is $5, Bad customer Service, very rude in call, Not going to use WU

 
nickzoomer
Posted on August 11, 2016, 06:16 pm

WORST MONEY TRANSFER SERVICE EVER. I got charged penalty and hit on my credit because WESTERN UNION made delay in transfer and the customer rep was rude enough to not to answer my direct question. NEVER EVER USE WESTERN UNION. They DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE CONCEPT OF SERVICE TO CUSTOMER. I just got off from the phone with your customer rep. She said Western Union is not liable for anything. Even if the transaction is not completed in 3-5 days as committed THIS IS WORST SERVICE EXPERIENCE EVER. I FEEL LIKE TALKING TO ATTORNEY TO SEEK THE WAYS AS I DO NOT FEEL I SHOULD PAY PENALTY BECAUSE OF MISTAKE OF WESTERN UNION I get email to say transaction is complete. See below chain. This is FRAUD MONEY TRANSFER ORGANIZATION

 
nmunagala
Posted on August 08, 2016, 12:28 pm

I have have used WU for at least 4-5 times. Overall the process has not been too painful. Sometimes you may get calls to confirm the transfer. Once that's done, I have seen my money in my ICICI bank within a day. Overall a good rate with a large enough company.

 
irpenwarrohit
Posted on July 11, 2016, 07:34 pm

No wonder most people here have just given one star reviews. These things suck with western union service: 1. Website!! Website!! Website!! It mess. 2. There timeline of 5 days is just for luring people. Ones you are in you are trapped. Can take anywhere between 7-12 days. Good luck finding information about transaction. 3. Customer Service: At the best its like Bureaucratic office. One department passes to other and of course the other one has to be closed. 4. They will put your transfer on hold even if they have verified and approved transaction to same account multiple times before. 5. After review to get simple approval takes another 3-4 days. So if your transaction is in approval stage good luck getting that money in a week. Pros:(one star for these points) 1. Only thing is simple to schedule. 2. Exchange rate, transaction fees 3. If you have all the luck and WU god is happy with you then money gets transferred in 5 days.

 
home224740
Posted on June 27, 2016, 04:16 pm

Dont use westerunion for any urgency cases. Receiving successful transaction conformation mail will take 5 working days like "Western Union: money transfer confirmed". End of the 5th day you will receive the another mail like "Western Union: Your money transfer's on hold". Refund will take Maximum 11 working days. who knows the currency values after 11th day? it may go UP or DOWN... Better avoid in case of any urgency.

 
kvsrkrishnan
Posted on June 24, 2016, 04:47 pm

you guys suck. your website sucks. your responsiveness suck. money transfer timelines suck. everything about WU sucks.

 
ggrimer
Posted on June 13, 2016, 08:40 am

Absolutely terrible experience. Your money is transferred into a black hole. You'll waste hours and hours chasing it with one department telling you to to call another. Even if it works it will take DAYS not hours. The recipient of the funds will be waiting for at least several days to get the money. Find a better alternative. This firm is totally useless.

 
malex9051
Posted on June 13, 2016, 01:11 am

I used the app on my phone and it was great, very convenient! There's an £800 limit before you have to verify your id with them. So I attempted to do that and received an email just saying they would be in touch. So I phoned customer service next day and the guy told me where to email my id documents and what's required. So I duly did that that afternoon. I was told it takes 48hrs on working days. 11 days later and several calls and emails to Western Union and I am still no closer to getting my id verified online to use my online account. All they tell me over the phone is the obvious, that I can use any Western Union agent nearby. I knew that already! Talk about stating the obvious! So no, there customer service and id verification unit are absolute rubbish! Use the online service if you just need to send occasional money, otherwise don't bother. And I still have no idea when my id will be verified now after sending the right documents 3 times now! Utter rubbish!

 
lavstreykh
Posted on April 12, 2016, 07:49 am

I am looking for reliable alternative to Western Union. I have been transferring money through WU website for many years, transferring from the same bank account to the same recipient. I had an issue once before, 2 years ago. Then and now (April 6 2016) WU informed me by e-mail that my money transfer has been decline. No explanation. Calling WU is useless, they are very polite but do not explain what is the problem. They suggested to use WU agent location. The WU transfer charge at agent location is $68 versus $12 online and the promotion code that I was given did NOT work. I am looking for reliable alternative to Western Union. Please HELP!

 
shamdroid
Posted on March 31, 2016, 08:04 am

No use. Registered. Tried transfer of 2k, their website said, "Transaction can not be completed". Tried several times... same error. Tried different card...same error. Don't want to trust someone like this. If money gets stuck you will be constantly calling them... And besides you hardly ever see higher rate from them.

 
bkrishna87
Posted on March 02, 2016, 08:30 pm

Please do not trust Western union for Refer a Friend program. Its just the trap to create new users. I referred my friend and he made couple of transactions with WU from last few months but still no one got the referral bonus. Even after contacting customer care they are just giving date on date. The xoom is better option for referral option.

 
singla989
Posted on February 18, 2016, 08:44 pm

This site just sucks big time now a days. They never pay referral money, never. And this site used to be great couple of months ago. Now a days all the transactions are put on hold and rejected.

 
brahmendra.v
Posted on January 01, 2016, 07:46 pm

I would like to try WU. Can anyone provide a valid referral link to me. brahmadotcvatgmaildotcom

 
brahmendra.v
Posted on January 01, 2016, 07:42 pm

I would like to try USforex. Can anyone provide a valid referral link to me. xxxx@xxx.xxx

 
amisha862003
Posted on December 30, 2015, 11:34 am

I have been using WU since start of this year never had problems, but suddenly they started cancelling my transactions with out any proper reason, happened more then 5 times. they would deduct the amount from my debit card and would not send it to India. and return my money after 15 days. i called them several time and even talked to their manager but still they could not help. highly disappointed and would not use their service ever.

 
yhwang_y2k
Posted on December 24, 2015, 08:58 pm

I have been using western union for 12 years. I had been sending the same amount of money, to the same person, from the same location for about 10 times since last year, but suddenly they cancelled the transaction this time. I took time off from work again and picked up the refund and resent it, but it was refunded again. I called 7 times total, and even did the interview, explaining that I sent money to my parents in china, and I have done this for more than 10 years, but they said I could not use western union any more. They said it is internal decision, can't tell me why. My experience can't be any worse. Time wasted.

 
gandhe_ashish
Posted on December 12, 2015, 10:13 am

Western union cancels remittance without a proper reason. For more than 2 years, I have used Western Union services to send money to India. Every time, I have remitted a fixed amount to the Axis bank in the India. My last two transfers are cancelled by the Western Union. Customer service can tell you reason for cancellation but can't give anything in the writing. After first cancellation, I thought there may be some mistake from my side (Axis bank clarified there are no issues with my account), made two remittances, 1 from Western Union and another from Remitly. Remittance from Remitly was successful and once again verbal reply from Western Union is "your transfer is cancelled because recipient bank is not accepting money". On top of that, we can't give written explanation as it is against our policies. Western Union seriously needs to think whether they want to be in the business or not?

 
bobmeeta
Posted on November 16, 2015, 01:37 pm

ALL MY TRANSFERS GOT DECLINED AFTER THEY CHARGED MY DEBIT CARD !!