USA IND

₹ 71.21

USA MEX

Mex$ 19.82

WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

Select Corridors

Your Alerts Are Set

M.M.y
Posted on November 30, 2018, 04:10 pm

The customer service is horrible. They made a mistake in their transfer, my recepeient wasn't able to receive money. When wanted to cancel, it took couple calls to do just that. Then the company didn't reimburse the transaction fee of 25 dollars. I will use different services, its no longer 1970s. Bye WU.

 
Ankit
Posted on November 20, 2018, 06:21 pm

I initiated money transfer. provided all required docs. Got email that transaction is approved. Never got any other email after that. After 15 days, they cancelled transfer without any notice. I have still not received my money back. worst service ever. worst service support. They should be banned.

 
Bob Clem
Posted on November 18, 2018, 09:49 am

We wanted to help a family member out with a gift of some money and to give them the ability to obtain it in cash - they are overdrawn and it would have been swallowed up by the bank otherwise. After registering and completing all of the details requested, the system rejected my debit card payment (I'm well in credit) and so I tried again with a different debit card. Again, this was rejected and that account is also several thousands of GBP in credit. I called their technical support people who urged me to use a different browser or preferably, their app for my iPhone. I followed their instructions and both cards were rejected. I tried a credit card with almost GBP20k funds availability. Rejected. Two more calls to support with a request for help or to delete the incomplete transaction. All they offered was to escalate the problem. As my relative needed the money, I drove to a WU outlet. The charges for my transfer amount were GBP44.95. I didn't send the money by them. I went home, collected my wife, went to the ATM, withdrew the money and drove to the home of the relative to give it to them. It was a 30 minute drive each way, I used about GBP6 of fuel. I used over two hours of my time trying to use WU. It'll be a cold day in hell before I use them again.

 
Rafi
Posted on November 15, 2018, 06:29 am

Not happy with WU. Sent money on 8th Nov, Not yet received in home country. in my view should not use WU if you want to send money immediately. They said 4-5 business days. today is 7th working day, not yet received money.

 
Sam
Posted on November 07, 2018, 10:25 am

I am not sure why there are so many bad reviews. But I used this service first time on Sunday (Nov.5th, 2018) evening, and within 2 hours, I received my father in law's text that he received a text from his Canara Bank in India that his account has been credited. I sent $1000 using Credit Card, so that could be the reason of expedited service...and their fee is only $2.99 to use CC while you earn more in points. Their rates are also very competitive. Thank you WU. Hope I receive the same service in future as I will be transferring more before our December '18 trip.

 
Avinash
Posted on October 27, 2018, 12:16 pm

Using WU since last 6 years but facing delay transfer since last one year. Most recently, got very poor service, Money was hold for 15 days and then transfer rejected. Stay away from this company.

 
Nilotpal
Posted on October 12, 2018, 06:19 am

I have been using western union from past 3 years and I would say to stay away from it now on. Their service has significantly deteriorated this year. During my last three international transfers it started taking more time and that time kept on increasing in with each transfer. During last 3 transfer one took 3 days, next one took 5 and now this one they are saying 7 days. Who knows one after that may take 9 days. If you call their customer care you will only get scripted reply like verifying my account even though over 3 years none of these information has changed

 
Shailendra
Posted on October 04, 2018, 02:08 am

Worst service compare to other, takes abt 2 week to transfer

 
Jainil Shah
Posted on September 28, 2018, 10:35 am

Looking to my last experience, I am using your services today. While completing the transaction, I saw that the money would be available in receivers account by 6th OCT, which means 8 days from now.... can you expedite and do the needful by tomorrow please? I have been a repeater user.

 
Mervyn
Posted on August 30, 2018, 02:16 pm

These guys declined my transfer and I never bothered to use their service again. 4 years on and will not use Western Union ever. My family needed money urgently. I have happily used other services and never had any problems.

 
Ranjith
Posted on August 24, 2018, 11:54 am

The mobile app was improved greatly

 
Venkat
Posted on August 07, 2018, 11:09 am

Worse and shocking experience, did the transfer recently around 3rd week of May, While setting up the transfer it says 4 to 5 days but after completing it system displays the funds availability as 5th June which almost 15 days. I prefer Ria than WU if their rate is little low in decimal points.

 
Pradeep Kumar Garlapathi
Posted on August 03, 2018, 06:45 am

Western Union is one of the finest money transfer services so far. I used it many times and have not faced any issues so far. They transfer the money at the time they promise. My rating is 5 for their service, commitment and delivery in time.

 
Jeff Leroux
Posted on August 01, 2018, 10:22 am

I have made multiple transfers with WU to my brother in Japan. Every time I fill out the form I place his full name - including his middle name. The form does not transfer the middle name to the money order. I tried multiple ways. Their software clearly has a bug. I have submitted multiple help requests and documented the problem extensively as they apparently could not figure out why this was a problem. I explained to them - multiple times - that the WU office in Japan requires the recipient's photo ID and name match exactly with the name on the money order. My work around was to contact their online chat and ask them to insert my brother's middle name in the money order. This worked and the money order turn around and availability to my brother was literally less than 30 minutes. I was impressed with the turn around for an international transaction. I sent multiple emails to their support documenting the problem and asking when it would be fixed - and received no responses. I looked up the global head of customer support and copied him in a complaint email. Now, instead of getting a quick response to my concerns my turn around time for a transfer has gone from 30 minutes to 7 business days. I also just received an email from them saying that they are reducing my WU points as they appeared to have been inflated in the past. Odd. I strongly recommend you find an alternate method for international money transfers. Western Union is as malicious as they are incompetent.

 
Elizabeth
Posted on July 30, 2018, 04:28 am

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY TO SEND MONEY TO CHILE, the agency there won't have the money to pay, I have used and sending 300 us dollar, and It took 4 days to be able to get paid

 
Sudhir
Posted on July 26, 2018, 01:30 pm

Title of your review :: Bad experience with Western Union Operations/Management in reference to case#34943399 MTCN 8333192999 From: Sent: Thursday, July 26, 2018 4:08 PM To: Customer Care - Customercare@westernunion.com; correspondence.desk@westernunion.com; executiveresolutionsdept@westernunion.com Cc: Sudhir Kumar [Software Engineer] USA Citizen Subject: Re: case#34943399 regarding $9.99 Western Union fee refund request 07/26/20118 Re: case#34943399 ((MTCN 8333192999) regarding $9.99 Western Union fee refund request To whom it may concern/Solutions Dept, Please investigate the case#34943399 to process $9.99 Western Union fee refund and update me via call and email. I got refund $379.15 back on the credit card except $9.99 Western Union fee. I have been calling all day long every day by spending over 10 hours if I send you my call history, but $9.99 Western Union fee was not refunded no matter how many Supervisors or representatives have been escalating the request for $9.99 Western Union fee refund. My option may be disputinging with credit card Co.

 
Lin
Posted on July 10, 2018, 06:32 am

Appalling....agent refused to pay out to receiver of funds saying you can only send money! But their windows all covered in western union promotional stickers! Next place of call staff extremely rude! Wrote to western union complaining ...no response....by the way the funds where to help the person to get urgent medication which was advised by doctor as treatment needed immediate! Eventually got the funds .... But could have been a very serious situation if not managed to get meds. Disgusting service, never use again!

 
Fred
Posted on June 07, 2018, 06:29 pm

Not a usual user of Western Union, I attempted to transfer funds recently through Money-in-Minutes, clearly a misnomer. I only discovered the transaction was canceled by calling them, and no explanation was provided. Will never use Western Union again!

 
Serg
Posted on May 08, 2018, 05:50 pm

My transfer was declined with no reason. I called twice on WU customer support hotline and first time I've been told that my bank declined transfer and I called to my bank and they said it is not true, they didn't even get a request from WU also I have enough founds and no restrictions on my account as prefer Ed client. Second time WU customer representative told me that some information doesn't match - and she cannot even explain what does it mean

 
Yaz Al
Posted on April 25, 2018, 05:59 am

On several occasions I had a problem with my transfer and their "customer service" was NO help NONE. The only thing they can do is give promo codes. and say Sorry.

 
pedro lins
Posted on March 29, 2018, 03:38 pm

tried to send money to brazil using western union on winn Dixie store on hiwasse with raleig st in Orlando fl. the cashier who did the transaction wrote a totally different name on the senders name and the receiver coundt get the money out so I went for a refund they made me wait in line for like an hour and made me call western union,had stay on the line for like 30 mins for nothing to be resolved, then they told me to call back after an hour,after an hour I called back then they made me go back on store to do the same thing over again,so I stayed there for another hour then western union wanted the call to be made off of winn Dixie phone,so they did and after waiting for so long and they asking me security question they finally said they would send me the refund money via mail after 7-14 business day,i was my first and last experience with western union n ill never recommended either winn Dixie store and western union company for no one in this world,so be carefull with this companies all they care is about your money and they will do everything to keep it n never refund to u!

 
pedro lins
Posted on March 29, 2018, 03:32 pm

tried to send money to brazil using western union on winn Dixie store on hiwasse with raleig st in Orlando fl. the cashier who did the transaction wrote a totally different name on the senders name and the receiver coundt get the money out so I went for a refund they made me wait in line for like an hour and made me call western union,had stay on the line for like 30 mins for nothing to be resolved, then they told me to call back after an hour,after an hour I called back then they made me go back on store to do the same thing over again,so I stayed there for another hour then western union wanted the call to be made off of winn Dixie phone,so they did and after waiting for so long and they asking me security question they finally said they would send me the refund money via mail after 7-14 business day,i was my first and last experience with western union n ill never recommended either winn Dixie store and western union company for no one in this world,so be carefull with this companies all they care is about your money and they will do everything to keep it n never refund to u!

 
kmohammed
Posted on March 21, 2018, 06:29 pm

Very bad customer service. They put people from third world who can't even speak english.

 
Mariya
Posted on March 21, 2018, 07:31 am

I've used Western Union for years and it was pretty convenient, with the exception of occasional issues which were usually resolved relatively quickly. This time, however, I haven't used Western for several months and when I tried to use it again I couldn't log into my account. I've talked to four different representatives, and no one was able to help me. Everyone had a different story: one said my account was blocked, another that my account has expired, and yet the third that their website is being updated causing technical issues. I've tried time and again to login, to change password, and to resolve the issue by calling Western. Meanwhile, a relative abroad in a bad situation is waiting for the money to be sent. 2 days of frustration, and 2 hours on the phone with representatives. Today when I mentioned to a representative that I will switch service, she said: if you do decide to use Western Union, we will give you 50 percent off your transaction fee. That's very nice.... but I feel after all this I should get all 100% off transaction fee, and for more than just one transaction! Anyway, I switched to another transfer service provider and do not intend to use Western again. It's sad that western union, with years of experience in the market, have such issues and hire staff who aren't able to resolve the problem, or don't train them enough to be able to resolve it properly.

 
Jackie
Posted on March 20, 2018, 12:46 pm

Every time I try to send money with the app or online I get error code c1992. Spoke with an agent on chat and they tell me it is because the transfer would be in violation of some countries sanction program but I can send it at a location. Why would it be possible to send it at a location but not the app or online? A sanction is a sanction right? If it is allowed one way why not all ways.

 
Lake punch
Posted on March 16, 2018, 03:02 pm

Western Union is the horriblest service I have ever had to all the customers that sending money or receiving money the easiest way fastest and friendless way start using Walmart to Walmart it is a lot cheaper and you have no issues Western Union is horrible I will never use this service ever again they expensive and you can't get your money when you need it I sent money at 9 a.m. and my receiver still at 5 p.m. can't get the money Western Union is horrible so I advise everyone to use Walmart to Walmart it's a lot cheaper faster with no hassle and give you outstanding service thanks walmart Western Union would not have got a star but u have to put a star

 
Michael K
Posted on March 16, 2018, 09:11 am

I could not send money to a friend in another country. The WU website is not working, I am getting an error message C1562. I made several calls to WE tech support, sent e-mail with a screen shot, but got absolutely no respond. I even suggested w the cause of the problem, but there no people even to listen. What a service!!!!

 
Mano Kantipudi
Posted on March 08, 2018, 01:38 pm

I wish CompareRemit had the option to rate negative. WU deserves it. Its IT and Customer Support system is still in the dark ages. I used to be a regular customer of WU who sends huge chunks of money every month, until lately. Recently, I have started to realize that the app history of transactions, tracking system and customer support are totally out of sync with each other. Having worked in the money transfer industry before, I understand that not all transactions to a foreign country are successful because of various reasons beyond the middle agent's (WU in this case) control. But, what is in their control is that when a transaction is declined accurate information is made available to the customer as soon as it is available, either through email push alerts, tracking portal, etc. WU is an exception. First, it's email alert system won't work. It seldom sends any information to educate the customer of a cancelled transaction so that the customer can prepare to re-initiate the transaction or look for other means to send money, which is often time bound. Second, transaction history on the app and website displays 'Complete' status despite transaction is cancelled. Second, when taken to the notice of WU customer support, the personnel have no clue of the mismatch. When probed further, they blame it on the IT systems saying the systems updates only after a couple days. Come one guys, we are living in the age of instant money transfer service to thousands of miles. And last, when asked about where one could see refund status of cancelled transactions, customer support regretfully says there is no way one could check the status online without contact them. The bottom line is that one has to initiate the transaction and hope for it to reach its destination. If he/she is lucky the transaction will make it through, otherwise you will receive your refund in 15 working days from the initiation date. In the meanwhile, you're uncertain as to what has happened to your money. I know the feedback is a little lengthy but, I hope this clarifies how WU conducts its business and cares for its customers.

 
alexander
Posted on February 20, 2018, 08:54 am

western union money transfer service is getting worse.

 
Mini
Posted on February 09, 2018, 08:08 pm

I agree with many of the negative reviews. I put my request through first time and was told on chat it was wrong number that was in account holders information. No problem fixed and remitted. Got a call almost 1 hour later asking me the questions on the form I filled out, my email, my reason for sending, names and city... no problem. He Than asked me my date of birth which many of us are told not to give out on phone due to identity theft ( this was no where on form) so told him no. He said they were a financial institute and they had right to ask this... come on dude... where do you live??? So will not be using Western Union and make sure friends and family know of the rudeness and unawareness of employees to ask this information... as date of birth is asked for not on the site.

 
Tulsi Gurnani
Posted on May 30, 2017, 04:25 am

I sent money $ 200.00 to India to my account overseas to pay bank charges. Its is over one month they used money and have not refunded to me. To me it is fraud for using my money and not remitting to my account in India. This has happened to me along with others I believe so. They should close business as it pertains to mafia type activity.

 
Renato Kux
Posted on May 14, 2017, 03:18 pm

they will post a hold on your bank account but not complete the transaction. Tey tell you they are sorry but just cant solve the problem. They will ruining your day screw up your finances and they just dont care. The lies and misleading information is amazing. try money gram it seems to work better

 
Jonas
Posted on May 09, 2017, 11:17 pm

I sent money online yesterday and was received right away. Then I sent another money today to a different receiver and was declined. I called the customer service and he asked me tons of questions to check my identity and even asked me how am I related to the receiver and the purpose of sending the money??? Is this really needed - they need to know the reason why I'm sending money????? He refused to say the reason why he's declining it....POOR SERVICE AND INFORMATION TO CUSTOMERS!!! In case I answered some questions incorrectly he should have more ways to check my true indentity...sorry some of the questions were not clear due to his accent and even I asked to repeat it again still unclear.

 
Mahesh
Posted on May 05, 2017, 10:24 am

I'm using their service from past 10 months and I didn't experience any issue. Moreover, the money gets transferred in a day.

 
Kevin
Posted on May 01, 2017, 03:37 pm

I tried using Western Union to send money online and I got a call from their "digital review" personnel in Costa Rica who "interviewed" me "for my own protection against fraud" and the guy determined that I should be denied and so he cancelled my transaction. The "interview" about me, my personal background, my reasons for sending the money, etc. were all asked under the guise of protecting me, so he said. In reality, he was not a personable person and wielded around his power over whether he would allow me to send money. He asked very "leading" questions and made several false assumptions. He also refused to tell me why he was rejecting my transaction. I ended up speaking to his manager who was as incompetent as he was, as well as two others in their "customer service" department in the Philippines who were nice enough people but said that there was nothing that could be done since the original idiot had already cancelled the transaction - they said I would need to go back online and start over by making a new transaction. As if I'm going to bother with that! It's little wonder this is a dying business which deserves to die a slow agonizing death. Good riddance! If you try looking for their financial performance as a company good luck, they buried it in their 2016 annual report on page 158! No wonder, as they've had declining revenue and income since 2012.

 
Sai Sankar Mohanty
Posted on April 18, 2017, 03:38 pm

When i tried it first time , my money went immediately . After that whenever i am trying it is taking 1 week to transfer the money. When i am trying to do the transaction from debit card, it is not allowing me .When i spoke with their customer care , they told the process might be different from person to person without giving any valid reason . Not sure , why do people use these kind of services . It would be lot of tension when you send your money through this

 
Ganesh
Posted on March 24, 2017, 03:07 pm

I have WU for more then 5 times. No issues and amount credited to my bank's on time.

 
Kris Johnson
Posted on February 20, 2017, 10:37 pm

Honestly why does this company even still exist. What a freaking rip off. I haven't used them for five years and now I remember why. After spending half an hour on their broken web site I called and spent half an hour on the phone with their rep who took all of my personal info including name, CC number, DOB, 2 phone numbers, mailing address, yada yada and then they declined my card. They gave me a list of 5 "possible reasons" but would not tell me the actual reason. I tried another card and same thing. I have large credit limits on these cards - this is bullsh*t. I asked if I could do a bank transfer but no, you can't do that on the phone, but you can do that on the app or the website, but those are BROKEN, so she said I could get in my car at 1 am and DRIVE to some godforsaken WU location for the privilege of spending $13 to send $100 to my friend who is in need. About this time I started to remember something. I remembered that every freaking time I have used these people in the past, this same type of crap has happened! Why do I keep coming back for this abuse? Well in the age of smartphones I don't know why anyone would. My friend and I realized I could zap her the money on PayPal and she would have it on her phone and it costs ZERO. Stay away from these fools.

 
Chris debowski
Posted on February 13, 2017, 08:35 pm

Send money using any other service. These people gave away my $3000 to someone else!! Then had the nerve to do two investigations and tell me I picked up the money myself when I was NO WHERE NEAR the pick up location!!! They wouldn't even give me a chance to prove it!!! The second investigation paper was written, your transaction dated December 30th 1899!! It was November 26th 2016!!! They can't even get the year right within 100 years!! These people are a joke! They assume no responsibility and basically laugh at you for trying to recover your money!! They will not release the location where the money was picked up in the foreign city so I can't file an investigation there. After a month of asking for the signed paper used to pick up the money they sent me a photo copy of the paper with the signature whited out!! They won't release the video footage of the person picking up the money nor the photo copy of ID used. Forget the outrageous charges they have. They will just give it to someone else with no valid ID and then say it was your fault! Its a shame they make you put at least one star on this review! I don't know how they can legally get away with running a business like this. Whatever you do, do not send money with them!! Use any other company. I guarantee they will be better.

 
Raymond Gressley
Posted on January 26, 2017, 09:19 am

I have never been treated so poorly by a company as a customer. You advertise a service and as a customer I expect you to carry out my wishes. This exactly the opposite of what you have done for me. I just have one question. Who died and made you think that you are God Almighty to be making very poor decisions over my interests and wishes. You have the poorest most rude arrogant attitude towards the customer. You are discusting. Have a great day. You can either listen to what I have to say or I guarantee that if you don't you will lose a lot of business. What I have seen is the reality of a poorly run business.

 
Kelly Sabens
Posted on January 08, 2017, 02:34 am

I am an Air Force Airman serving in SW Asia. My brother died in FL, my parents flew down from VT. I wanted to help with the financial situation, as they are short of money. I have tried NUMEROUS times, over a two week period to wire money via any one of 3 cc's I have. Come to find out one doesn't support wire transfers, OK. I have two other good cc's to use. I tried to wire to a checking account and to a location in FL. My credit company said that I was good to go, even had the out of the country provision on the one with the most credit available.. BUT, apparently WU's validation procedure wouldn't allow any transaction to go through. I checked with the cc co's and the transactions never even hit them. I am so disappointed in WU. They are supposed to be helpful in dire needs. There were not in any way helpful for me. I asked why the validation was not completed and they said that there were so many reasons why! Well, I cannot understand in the least, it hurts that I have great credit and cannot help my parents out in this time of need. FYI, my parents did have just enough cash to make it home to Vermont, yesterday, barely.

 
kip
Posted on December 20, 2016, 10:41 pm

Worst service ever. Tried to transfer money to India. It's been a month and the money still not deposited to Indian account nor returned back to my US account.

 
Jayan
Posted on December 08, 2016, 06:55 am

Worst site..... they are not giving the rate shown in compare remit site.....the actual rate they gave is much less than what they displayed in compare remit site

 
Babji
Posted on December 07, 2016, 08:46 pm

my transfer was declined stating i have to go through an interview. I said ok. They asked questions that are way too private and personal. I objected and their reply was 'federal regulations'. I asked if federal regulations specify this particular set of questions. The agent turned a deaf ear and kept asking me the next question. i declied to answer and rejected their service. i was a customer for 2 yrs. They ill treat people. worst service. no courtesy. Dont fall prey to their brand!!!

 
Sandeep Kumar
Posted on November 23, 2016, 04:52 pm

very worst service, my both transaction got cancelled and they are keeping money for 15 to 20 days and then canceling, after cancelling have to wait for 1 to 2 week, means for 4 week our money block. and very worst customer care service, I never ever suggest to prefer Western Union, they are making fool.

 
Naresh Babu
Posted on November 23, 2016, 11:51 am

I had given the rating 5 star for for the previous comment.I have faced the worst service by WU customer care. Money has deducted from my bofa account with out my authorization and When I called customer care to inquire about the disrupt ,customer care people didn't answer properly and disconnected the call while i was speaking.

 
Jayachandra
Posted on November 23, 2016, 08:20 am

Worst ever service .. NO proper support from his people specially when transaction status is reviewed they will cancel the transaction without proper reason and deposit back to my account after 2 tmes. this happened for 2 times. I never Prefer this again.

 
Shashank
Posted on November 22, 2016, 11:30 am

I have used western union for sending money to India atleast 5 times and it has been immediate transfer for the first 4 times when using direct deposit using debit card. But the fifth time, it has been about a week and I am yet to get my money deposited. I love the rate provided but a consistent service would have been great

 
Sriguru
Posted on November 18, 2016, 08:02 am

I opened account with Western Union on 14th of Nov. I was able to make a successful transaction. But after that everytime i try to send money it says transaction unsuccessful with Error Code C1974. Called the customer care and they are not helpful in troubleshooting the issue. supervisor told me to wait for 3 days before making a fresh transaction, but even after 5 days it is the same issue.

 
Shanmuganathan Manivannan
Posted on November 15, 2016, 04:28 pm

I initiated the money transfer through Western Union on 9th November 2016 and by then they mentioned number of days as 4. Today i got an email from them saying that we have received your money and will process it by 17th which is 5 days later than what they promised. This is real cheating and crap. Will never use this service again.

 

Partner With CompareRemit

The world’s top remittance companies have chosen to work with CompareRemit and are already reaping the benefits. You can too. View Testimonials.
Put your brand in front of millions of active remittance users, ready to send money using your services.
Contact Us