WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

Select Corridors

Your Alerts Are Set

WorldRemit Money Transfer Reviews

BG Lowrey
Posted on June 07, 2019, 01:56 am

BEWARE, AS OTHERS STATE, THE COMPANY TAKES YOUR MONEY THEN DENIES YOUR TRANSFER. I'M NOW FIGHTING TO GET BACK MY $500. ZERO STARS.

 
Candace
Posted on June 04, 2019, 12:41 am

Wish I could give no stars. This is a horrible company with zero customer service.

 
Oscar Morales
Posted on May 22, 2019, 06:28 pm

Didn't I tell you this is a scam?! Their default setting is 5-stars, which leads to a misleading characterization. Dumbfúcks at WorldRemit.com do not use this company, they suck bigtime.

 
Oscar Morales
Posted on May 22, 2019, 04:44 pm

0 stars This is a scam. They take your money first, then claim you do not meet requirements to be a customer. When asked about what's lacking they claim they are legally prohibited from telling you. This is a great way for them to hold on to your money for 2-3 days. They scam a few hundred people a day for a few hundred dollars each, and wham! all of a sudden it's real money. How stupid is a company that takes your money first and then "checks your application"? Quite stupid, in fact, because people that have been stung like I was will never, ever use this company. I have an elderly uncle that just moved from U.S. to Mexico to retire, and his family here in the U.S. will definitely NOT use this crappy company to send him money. Somebody else will reap the benefits, definitely not WorldRemit. You'd think they'd be smart enough to "check the application" first before submitting withdraw request to your bank or credit card account. If they're legit, they would reduce their pissed-off customer count to zero by using simple logic. But, nooooo, they put a claim on your money first, then "check your application". That's a scam. Fúck them all to hell.

 
Ana Martins
Posted on May 20, 2019, 04:25 pm

Me again. NO five stars...It was my mistake. 0 star for worldremit.

 
Ana Martins
Posted on May 20, 2019, 04:17 pm

They received my money and then closed my account. The money would be for my birthday's mom May 22rd, tomorrow and they said will refund it in "3 days". They are not legally. They take the money before verify the client. I am very angry.

 
Eulalia
Posted on May 08, 2019, 06:03 pm

WorldRemit… Terrible customer service, I am a new client my niece referred me to used WordRemit When I send money I forgot to enter the referral number to get the rewards, I call customer service if they can enter reversed to get the referral, He said fortunately they can’t do nothing about it, I request to talk there supervisor and I was on hold for 20 minutes, he came back he said there’s is no supervisor available, later I called back again the same excuse from the customer service that she said there’s no supervisor available. The huge difference for example between WorldRemit and Western Union is, that Western Union cares about their customers and you feel appreciated and if something goes wrong, they take very good care of you. Please....Stay away from WorldRemit bad company and customer service,

 
Jonathan James
Posted on May 07, 2019, 09:46 pm

I have just been scammed of my had earned money and this will not go down well with world remit, all I need is you either send my money to onward bank or you tell me how to get my refund, because your company advice my bank to suspend my Swedish bank account.Stop telling me that you have refunded my money to ghost bank account.

 
Nora Elena Burbano
Posted on April 28, 2019, 03:56 pm

Con este post quiero darle una mala calificacion al servicio de WorldRemit. Deseo contarles que tuve muy mala experiencia con esta agencia de envio de dineros. Hice envios de dinero con esta compania desde marzo de este ano, todo iba muy bien hasta que el 23 de Abril quise realizar un envio de dinero a Colombia, ellos recibieron el dinero y quedo la transaccion como pendiente. Generalmente los envios eran notificados a mi hija por tardar 15 minutos despues, en vista de que 3 horas despues, ni era notificado a ella el envio ni yo recibia notificacion alguna, me comunique con ellos que por cierto tienen un pesimo servicio al cliente, la llamada se queda en espera por mas de 45 minutos esperando conectar con un asesor. Una vez atendida , al averiguar por mi envio, la respuesta de la asesora fue que necesitaban les enviara a un link mi ID y el ultimo extracto de mi cuenta bancaria, lo hice y la respuesta fue que los documentos eran aprobados. Continue con la espera para que mi hija tuviera el dinero, con la sorpresa de que el 24 se me notifica que la transaccion habia sido cancelada y que tendria la devolucion de mi dinero en 5 - 7 dias habiles sin dar mas razon. Esta situacion fue bastante molesta para mi: 1. Por que razon si requerian documentos mios para realizar un envio de dinero, no enviaron ninguna comunicacion solicitandolos antes de que se realizara una transaccion?, 2. Por que reciben el dinero para luego bloquearlo y finalmente cancelar la transaccion?. Generalmente cualquiera de estas agencias de envios no reciben el dinero si hay algo que no esta bien. 3. Reciben el dinero, lo trabajan y se toman arbitrariamente 5 a 7 dias para devolver un dinero que se deposito al momento de querer hacer la transaccion!!!. Asi que tengan cuidado con esta agencia!!! Eso no se hace se debe respetar y atender al cliente como tal!, por los clientes es que la agencia o cualquier negocio esta en el mercado!.

 
KC
Posted on April 16, 2019, 10:04 am

Signed up to send money to a friend in Jordan. Worldremit took my money and then canceled the transaction and closed my account right away. They claim that they are not "legally" able to tell me why. I believe that they are afraid to do business with the US because of the stringent anti-money laundering, anti-terrorism and FATCA regulations foisted upon them by the US government. It raises the question: is American free?

 
Leslie
Posted on April 13, 2019, 01:20 am

WORLDREMIT IS A SCAM, ALL THOSE WHO HAVE BEEN SCAMMED, LET US BOND TOGETHER AND BRING DOWN THIS SCAMMER...I WILL GIVE DETAILS LATER AND CREATE A SOCIAL MEDIA PAGE....

 
sheryar javaid
Posted on April 08, 2019, 01:18 am

worldremit is holding my money for a month i provided them everything they asked for all im getting is we will refund you shortly worst service in the world avoid al all cost

 
Evelyn Stevenson-Phillips
Posted on March 21, 2019, 11:14 am

I absolutely HATE this app. I was accused of perpetrating a SCAM while trying to send money to my soon to be daughter in law who lives in Nairobi Kenya. I strongly feel that there is a prejudice with regard to sending money to that country. They barred me from ever doing business with them and disabled my account. They have yet to refund my money to me, so they will have an even bigger problem with me if they don't. Please, if you live in the U.S., don't bother using this app to send money to Africa. I should have read the reviews first. I would give them less than zero if I could.

 
Handie
Posted on March 21, 2019, 12:51 am

Terrible customer service, they closed my account and could not give me any reason for closing it. Everytime I call customer service I am put on hold only to have the agent hang up or tell me the department that can solve the problem is closed. This is absolute nonsense and disrespect of clients. Over email they sound like robots, absolutely disturbing.

 
Dee
Posted on February 28, 2019, 07:49 am

Ditto on Vimal. Tried to send a measly $100 to a friend in Uganda. Transaction (my first with them) cancelled and account frozen. “Customer service “ says they can’t divulge the reason. I have bought things from a number of other countries without a problem—I’m now scared I’m going to have difficulty getting the money back. Should have taken negative reviews more seriously. This is seriously annoying and stupid. Have to give a one star—can’t give a triple zero.

 
Evelyn Inkoom
Posted on February 24, 2019, 03:26 am

I received a message from Worldremit that one Opoku Ware Clifford sent me am amount of 324.95 in my mobile money wallet in Ghana but I checked my account and the money has been created in. What I do

 
Shahzad Shah
Posted on February 08, 2019, 09:23 pm

Avoid WorldRemit. If you send money through them, you will have surprising and hidden charges by your bank such as CASH ADVANCE FEE, CASH ADVANCE etc. Worst experience with them.

 
Kelly
Posted on February 01, 2019, 12:17 pm

Someone just stole my information and use this site to transfer $209.99. Now thanks to these low life scambag, I'm having to get this situation taken care of.

 
Eddie
Posted on January 25, 2019, 08:07 pm

First time use = cancel transaction, disable your account, hold your money. Not to be trusted.

 
Vimal
Posted on January 07, 2019, 11:22 am

They abruptly closed my account when I tried to send my doctor, who lives in Turkey, a measly $200. I told them this was for a medical procedure and that I was confused what the issue was, especially since it's such a small amount. I mean, what is the red flag exactly? I even told them I could send him proof (ie flight itinerary, emails, chats..etc), but they said it's not needed. I tried to email them to do an appeal but at this point, I'm just going to say F*$K it and just go elsewhere. I have no idea what type of business they are running over there. Customer service is terrible and not worth the headache! I've never had issues with my bank, and I've sent over $30K to family member. And here, these guys are going nuts over $200 and disabled my account. I figured I'd just stay away and give my business to another company who actually knows how to treat their customers right.

 
lillian
Posted on December 21, 2018, 11:35 am

Terrible customer service, after years of using their service,they blocked my account when I tried to send money to uganda.customer service couldn't tell me why they blocked me and still puzzled. I now use Wave or Skyforex in deptford london to transfer to uganda

 
Brad Otto
Posted on December 13, 2018, 11:10 am

If I could give them a negative star I would. Worst customer service around and closed our account because of an email they said they sent to me to correct something. Apologized on the phone to me owing up to the fact that they indeed didn’t send such email but will still close my account anyway. I would have corrected if I would have know. Stay away from them!

 
Dhruvil K Patel
Posted on December 10, 2018, 11:14 am

Never Ever use this service. I sent 300$ from my US account to a Savings Account. Not only they sent a fake confirmation that the money was transferred , they even made me wait for 2 months just to let me know where my money went. After 2 months I recieved an email in Spanish saying we do not have any information about your money so we are closing the case.

 
Carolin
Posted on December 04, 2018, 06:05 am

Transferring money from Germany to Pakistan and trying something new. It did fail the first time because of Credit Card fraud prevention of my provider. So I released the amount at my provider and called WorldRemit. They resent the notifications again both to me and the receiver and a mail to the local partner. But the receiver did not get a message and couldn't pick up cash at the specified banks either with only the TransactionID. So I called WorldRemit again today, waiting almost 30 minutes in line. They sent me instructions by mail, resent instructions to their local partner and gave me a mail to which I could reply to get to my agent directly. The support was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. It finally worked, 24h after the money was transferred. Weighing the fair exchange rate vs. the trouble I am undecided if I would recommend the service or not. Depends on how fast the money is needed. I would say: If money needs to be there fast, better stick to the old players, but if it is not urgent, try WorldRemit.

 
ELAINE ELLEFSEN
Posted on November 30, 2018, 11:55 am

I completely agree with the previous very low ratings. Previous reviewer Ashley Jones, I had the same exact experience. I went on the website to send money to fellow church members in Uganda, Kampala and my account for no reason at all that they would share over the phone. But they did proceed to take the money out of my checking account which I will not received back for up to "5-10" business days. The manager was not concerned about how upset a BRAND NEW customer was with this terrible service, indicated that there was nothing he could do and then suggest I file a claim. Really? You just took several hundreds of dollars from my checking account after I was an honest customer wanting to use your service and I have to file the claim? PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT USE WORLD REMIT. THEY WILL HOLD YOUR MONEY SEVERAL DAYS, CANCEL YOUR ACCOUNT WHEN YOU HAVE DONE NOTHING WRONG AND THEN TELL YOU THEY CAN NOT DO ANYTHING ELSE TO HELP YOU.

 
Ashley Jones
Posted on November 19, 2018, 12:26 pm

Terrible experience trying to use World Remit. I tried to use the service for the first time, but my account was disabled with no explanation minutes after submitting my transfer. Customer service was awful. After waiting on hold more than half an hour, I was told my account didn't meet their criteria, and that they could not disclose why. I asked to be transferred to someone who could tell me why, and was told that department does not accept phone calls. The customer service rep put in an appeal for me, and the next day I received an email saying they had reviewed my account, but that I do not meet their criteria and they would not do business with me. Again no explanation as to what that criteria is, and no recourse for me to find out or dispute it. I've worked in the finance industry and understand there are a lot of regulations, but there is no excuse for not providing a valid explanation and for not disclosing this process up front BEFORE customers enter personal information and payment details. I ended up using Xoom (owned by Paypal). They had a similar issue with the payment not being approved initially, but when I called they actually answered the phone with no hold, and I was able to speak to someone with the authority to review my account and push the transaction through. Stay away from World Remit.

 
Jessica
Posted on November 18, 2018, 12:16 pm

Terrible customer service. Sent me an email saying they disabled my account because I did not meet their criteria. Called them and was put on hold for 35 minutes and was told that I cannot use their service and wouldn't give me a reason why. Literally makes no sense and all I tried to do was send $20 to a friend. HUGE waste of time.

 
Namor
Posted on November 14, 2018, 01:11 am

Earn 20 euros if you register with this referral link https://www.worldremit.com/en/r/HAKIMM19 And also dont forget to use this promo code : “FREE” for your first money transfer!

 
Timothy
Posted on October 29, 2018, 04:49 pm

Worst ever!!! Tried to send money to Uganda and at first they sent an email stating the funds were on the way. Then another email that states "account does not meet approval criteria." I called to ask what the "criteria" was and what went wrong and the rep restated that "account does not meet approval criteria." I asked what was wrong and they said the couldn't disclose the reason.

 
BRIAN
Posted on October 21, 2018, 08:30 pm

Don't even bother with this service. I signed up, sent money and within 10 minutes I was told I didn't meet their criteria with NO reason given. I called customer service and there was nothing they could do. My account was disabled faster than I opened it. Useless and POOR SERVICE!!!!

 
Vishwajeet
Posted on October 09, 2018, 04:43 pm

Hi, I have reviewed here at length- https://medium.com/@serendipitous11/is-worldremit-com-worth-trying-ac007a7d0cca Thanks,

 
Parcillah Piper
Posted on October 02, 2018, 01:47 am

Terrible Customer service! It has taken more than two weeks to get back my refund after my transaction not going through and too many phone calls and emails back and forward. I would not recommend anyone to use world Remit especially if you are in Japan. They do not have good Japanese representatives that can verify and review bank information.

 
CParry
Posted on September 27, 2018, 01:59 pm

Ridiculous. Took my money, wouldn't put the transfer through. Insisted on making me answer ongoing private questions, show multiple copies of ID, eventually rejected the transaction and will get around to refunding my money 'sometime soon.' Tried to send twice, both times was met by rudeness and ridiculous processes. Eventually they disabled my account so I couldn't track my refund. Insane.

 
Ifeanyi
Posted on September 26, 2018, 07:21 pm

This is my first time using Worldremit and this will also be my last time. Terrible service, poor communication, rude customer service reps, unprofessional. I made a money transfer to my home country for an urgent service. The website clearly states that you can transfer money in minutes. They took my money and didn't transfer it. I had to call them the next day and I was told that it's under review. They asked for my bank statements and I should give explanations to the deposits on my bank statements. And a whole bunch of other nonsense. I did everything they requested from me and they still wouldn't process my transaction. Stay far away from WORLDREMIT!!!!!!

 
Curt
Posted on September 20, 2018, 04:18 pm

I never write reviews. World Remit does not deliver as advertised. They have responded with 2 emails stating my transaction is complete however the funds have not settled to the account. "Technical Difficulties", delay, delay, apologies, blah blah blah. I will never use World Remit again. Avoid.

 
Dennis
Posted on September 12, 2018, 04:00 pm

This is the worse services I have ever had in my whole life. I tried to send money to a friend that is out of the country. I have seen the money in the morning time, it is almost dark and just now got in contact with them. Their answering services are not working properly and was a continues error on their end. Once contact was made by a rep, This person had proceeded to ask me, " Where did you meet this person". The headquarters may be in London, but the Laws of the USA must still apply to them. I told the Rep it was none of his business who I meet, where I meet them, and how I met them. The rep replied, " It is my business when you are using our services". On the contrary, It is not his business due to in america we have rights and laws that protect against "Invasion of privacy". My honest opinion and if I had my way about it, World Remit would be shut down for unlawful acts against the USA laws. Since the Transaction was waiting authorization, This means the transaction was not made, in which, by LAW, the money should be refunded immediately and it was not. Should Fraud be added to the charge as well?

 
Paul Clingerman
Posted on September 05, 2018, 03:32 pm

The worst service EVER! Rating NEGATIVE 5 STARS! They declined my wire transfer, then when I asked them why, they refused to tell me. I find this similar to being thrown in prison, accused of a crime, but then when you ask what crime you have committed, they refuse to tell you but they still tell you that you have to remain in prison with no knowledge of your crime. SO ASININE!

 
Keri
Posted on August 28, 2018, 06:30 pm

I have found Worldremit to be very dependable, people get the money with in minutes, exchange rate is excellent compared to Western Union and MoneyGram, and the fees for me are $.99 to $1.99 to send money via recipients phone to Uganda. I cant understand the slew of negative reviews received recently, One after the other,on this website. I’m wondering whether they are fake.I Wirly review anything but was looking online to see what reviews Worldremit got in was the price to see the two stars on this website. The only time I had a problem with WorldRemit releasing money to the recipient when the recipient gave me the wrong information as to his phone carrier and the name on the phone.

 
Muhammad Jawad
Posted on August 13, 2018, 09:39 am

Worst Company for money transfer.From last three days only replying me that we are looking for your information and get back to you tomorrow. I get this answer from 3 days. Even never apologetic.

 
Esther A
Posted on August 10, 2018, 08:51 pm

Bad customer services. They are thieves as they debit your account but the recipient doesn't receive the money. DON'T USE THEM!!!!

 
Brad
Posted on July 04, 2018, 02:03 pm

I just received notification in my email stating my account on world remit was disabled due to not meeting "standards" but the funds have already left my bank account. I called world remit`s customer service line for answers to be given very vague answers and no solution.

 
Inigo
Posted on June 22, 2018, 11:39 pm

Terrible service, accounts are disabled when the remittance is urgent. Nobody answers right away on problems and money is taken out of the bank and yet recipient doesn't receive money. Avoid

 
Pal singh
Posted on June 22, 2018, 07:19 am

Pathetic service, making their own rules in the name of regulation...when u ask for circular regarding regulation they say local agents are asking ...we gave u money, dealing with you n not with so called local agents...things worse u need to take off from your work just to call them as waiting is 30 mins... the staff they don't have any answers..can't confirm the status as now money is with local agent n local agent is not transferring money....bullshit...ripping people's pockets ...no customer service...it's been three days money is transferred in account even though all requirements fulfilled...they got huge base they don't concern about services ...I used this portal for 2 years but that was their initial days..services were good ..but I m done with them now ..no concrete reply ...u r chasing ur money ...everyday same revert money will be credited today but that's not happening

 
Ai
Posted on June 14, 2018, 02:00 am

Worldremit is an awesome website when it come to exchange rate. Although, it took time while making first transaction due to government regulations. If you like more benefits, you can use my referral code(VISHALK127) while signing up to get $20 or quivalent in your currency once you transfer $100 or more. Also, use 'FREE' in promo code for free 1st transaction.

 
Shah
Posted on June 06, 2018, 09:44 am

7 days and transaction is not complete. Tried to call several times with 30 minutes wait time but no answer. Worst experience.

 
Carol
Posted on June 05, 2018, 05:35 am

Horrible. It has been a week since I was told that the transaction has been completed for instant cash to be collected in Indonesia by my helper’s mom so that she could buy formula milk for her son. As it’s title, instant cash but it has been a week, the poor mother of my helper went to the bank every day since last Tuesday but was told the next day till now. I have since received emails from WorldRemit that the transaction is completed and the funds were collected but NO. My helper’s mother is still told by the bank that the mother is not available as yet. This is devastating and I lost trust and would NEVER give WorldRemit any chance anymore. And I would spread this to all my friends in Singapore who has helper and intends to use WorldRemit. Cannot be trust and response time is after a day with the same response that is not helpful at all.

 
Brian
Posted on June 04, 2018, 11:48 am

Terrible customer service. Very difficult to reach a live person. I feel 35 minute wait times are unacceptable. Communicating by email appears to lead in circles. They claim there was a problem - which I found and then fixed - but they have yet to deliver the money or communicate exactly why. AVOID this service. I've used many and never had as much problem as with this one.

 
Tarik
Posted on May 31, 2018, 11:38 am

I sent money to my sister who was urgently in need of money. They said my transaction would be complete in two business days, and I got confirmation saying that the transfer was complete afterwards. It has been three weeks, nothing has been deposited in my sister's account. I called so many times to get a refund. Whenever I call, they keep saying it will be deposited soon, they asked for a bank statement from my sister, an official confirmation from her bank confirming that she hasn't received the money, and so many other troubles. At this point, I'm sure I lost the $1000, which is apparently the case for so many other people. They're horrible thieves and you're rating them 77%, please decrease their rating further not to give the wrong first impression to other people who might need money urgently. If my sister needed the money for medical emergencies, she would have been dead by now.

 
Muzamil Shah
Posted on May 27, 2018, 04:52 pm

Worldremit starting cancelling transactions to Pakistan, recently it has cancelled my two transfers and other bad thing is that its holding up money for more than a week after cancelling the transaction. On contacting them by my clients they said, they are not sending money to risk places, so if such case they should remove Pakistan from the list of sending money there. This is not good to take money for 8 or 10 days of a cancelled transaction, if you cannot send through do not hold the money for nothing may be you are getting interest on that money from mediatory bank, for reference my two clients were from different countries one is from UK other is from USA.

 
Tim S.
Posted on May 24, 2018, 10:55 am

WORLD CLASS CUSTOMER CONTEMPT. Even if you email them and get a "case number", forget it. When you call in? "I'm sorry, I didn't get that... Don't worry, your call will be answered by the next... Our current wait time is... FORTY ...minutes." / Just a longer way to say, "Screw YOU, 'valued customer'". WHERE ELSE (non governmental agency) are you subjected to such contempt? It goes beyond "indifference". Gee, you could get the impression they want to discourage ph. calls, couldn't you...

 

Partner With CompareRemit

The world’s top remittance companies have chosen to work with CompareRemit and are already reaping the benefits. You can too. View Testimonials.
Put your brand in front of millions of active remittance users, ready to send money using your services.
Contact Us