RIA Money Transfer Reviews

Write a Review

USA INR

₹ 63.70

USA MXN

Mex$ 18.13

USA PHP

₱ 51.10

WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
Your review has been submitted!

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted!

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

Currency Rates keep fluctuating all the time.
Would you like to be notified with the best rate?

RIA Money Transfer Reviews

Jayaprakash Joghee
Posted on February 12, 2018, 06:53 am

Last week I have given a worst review to Ria. I need to apologize as I have given wrong Indian bank account number. The only bad part from Ria is they have not communicated it to me. When I sent an email to customerservice@riamoneytransfer.com, they replied quickly saying some information is wrong. Then I verified the receipt and found that one of the digits in the account number got deleted by mistake. I have requested them to cancel the transaction on 10th February and today I have received the amount back into my US bank account. Thanks Ria for the quick responses and quick refund processing.

 
Jayaprakash Joghee
Posted on February 08, 2018, 05:12 pm

I have been using Ria for a long time and never faced any issues. But the last transaction was pending till date and I'm not sure whether I'll get my money back. When I tried to contact customer care the status says 'Ready for payment' and it is not allowing to speak to any customer service executive due to technical difficulties. I strongly recommend not to use this service for now. Note: I can see a few positive reviews in the name of Vikash Kumar, it may be one of their dummy user.

 
Ty
Posted on January 31, 2018, 03:16 pm

Will never use this service again. Messed my transfer up and my son was stranded.

 
Vikash Kumar
Posted on January 12, 2018, 12:22 pm

I have been using Ria for more than 1.5 years now. I thought of giving my review on their services today to help new users decide if Ria would suite them. My experience with Ria is excellent so far. The processing time went down to 6-10 hours for normal transfers after using it for 6-8 times. I think they give you priority to old/regular customers. The rates are always great compared to others. I have used 4-5 different remittance services so far but no one is as good as Ria. Request you to register with the link below. you will get $10 reward on your first transfer and i will be rewarded for sharing. http://mbsy.co/fpWnW

 
Naren
Posted on January 10, 2018, 11:44 am

I was using the Ria from a long time and now recently they have issues with the agent and they didn't transfer my money so far and they have cancelled the request after 7 business days when i was trying to reach them, now they are not answering the phone at all and have not returned my money. This is pathetic response from the toll free number and no response on further status. Next time i will think twice.

 
Raheelkhan
Posted on January 07, 2018, 01:01 am

Make sure if you have cancelled any transaction must remember to take back otherwise they try their level best to forgot and use your money and make money for them as much as they can frustrated service Not recommend any one use other service customer service useless

 
Central PA resident.
Posted on January 06, 2018, 04:11 pm

Worst service yet. Wanted to send birthday money to a friend in Philly from my debit card. It was initially approved then a few hours later cancelled. When I called customer care I was being questioned who my friend was and why I just couldn’t give him cash. What a bunch of idiots. The lack of understanding on the size of the State was mind blowing. For two they weren’t telling me what the security issue may have been - I guess they discriminated by not allowing me to send money but yet allows everyone else to send money. Why would I drive more than two hours to hand money if there’s a more convenient way. I asked them to disable my account. Use other services. Disappointed.

 
John
Posted on January 04, 2018, 11:48 am

They take 9 Business days to transfer 1000 bucks, Thats pretty much senseless transfer. Beware

 
Vikash Kumar
Posted on December 30, 2017, 10:33 pm

I have been using Ria for more than 1.5 years now. I thought of giving my review on their services today to help new users decide if Ria would suite them. My experience with Ria is excellent so far. The processing time went down to 6-10 hours for normal transfers after using it for 6-8 times. I think they give you priority to old/regular customers. The rates are always great compared to others. I have used 4-5 different remittance services so far but no one is as good as Ria. Request you to register with the link below. you will get $10 reward on your first transfer and i will be rewarded too. http://mbsy.co/fpWnW

 
7 days for money transfer to india
Posted on December 22, 2017, 04:13 pm

In the last 13 years, this is the first time i experienced (ria) a company who transfers the money in 7 working days from USA to india. This is the slowest

 
Vikash Kumar
Posted on December 21, 2017, 11:21 pm

I have been using Ria for more than 1.5 years now. I thought of giving my review on their services today to help new users decide if Ria would suite them. My experience with Ria is excellent so far. The processing time went down to 6-10 hours for normal transfers after using it for 6-8 times. I think they give you priority to old/regular customers. The rates are always great compared to others. I have used 4-5 different remittance services so far but no one is as good as Ria.

 
Ahmes
Posted on December 12, 2017, 11:07 am

Worst service and customer care. I choose to send money using Ria over Xoom. Ria showed me the money will take 5 days to ready to be picked up where Xoom takes usually 10-20 minutes. Thus, I canceled the transaction, but it deducted the money from my account and has not deposited it back. Don't don't even bother replying my email. I have been trying to reach their customer service but the automatic voice saying "we are experiencing high call volume, call us later"! What's wrong with this company!

 
Anupam
Posted on December 05, 2017, 06:38 pm

I have been using Ria for last few years. Recently the service of Ria has become worse. They held up money for long time. No one cares from the customer service team to answer the concerns of customer. People should think twice before using Ria now.

 
Vikash Kumar
Posted on November 12, 2017, 10:22 am

I have been using Ria for more than 1.5 years now. I thought of giving my review on their services today to help new users decide if Ria would suite them. My experience with Ria is excellent so far. The processing time went down to 6-10 hours for normal transfers after using it for 6-8 times. I think they give you priority to old/regular customers. The rates are always great compared to others. I have used 4-5 different remittance services so far but no one is as good as Ria. They are also giving you $10 bonus gift card when you make your first transfer. Please use below my link to register. http://mbsy.co/dq3Qq I'll get a $20 gift card after you complete your first money transfer with Ria! and you will get better rate and a $10 gift card.

 
Madan
Posted on November 11, 2017, 06:46 pm

Previously Ria used to give competitive exchange rate compared to Remitly and Transfast. Now they are giving very less rate and not matching with others. No point to use this now.

 
Madhukarreddy kasireddy
Posted on November 01, 2017, 07:56 am

Horrible app, worst service. Least bothered about the customers.Firstly, the app doesn't work as expected which led to a duplicate transaction.As soon as i noticed that, i went ahead and cancelled the transaction the next minute and got the email confirmation for the same right away. The following day i still see 2 transactions on my account which lead my account balance to -ve. I called up and explained the situation and the customer service rep says it is system fault which did not get updated and he had to cancel the transaction which will take 3-7 business days to get the refund back to the account. My bank guys told they would charge me 30$ per day for the in sufficient funds. I explained them the situation he says all he can do is cancel the transaction. Who the hell will bear the 30$/per Insufficient funds fee until i get the refund?

 
Maya
Posted on October 26, 2017, 03:13 pm

Ria is horrible money transfer service.It's almost two weeks that I send money and still waiting.When I called them they put me on hold and long waiting.Customer services Is difficult to reach. Just awful.

 
ANJ
Posted on October 22, 2017, 05:26 pm

I have transferred money through Ria long time ago . This time I came back because I wasnt happy with Remitly's service . The money was transferred in less than a day without even charging me express fee.

 
Haider
Posted on October 21, 2017, 11:56 am

never use ria they hold money and transfer to account once you contact to know the status....they are cheats

 
SK-Memphis
Posted on October 09, 2017, 05:27 pm

Ria has been giving the best rate and the best services out of the many other services I have tried; like- Xoom, Remitly, Transfast,TransferWise. I have been using Ria for several years now.

 
Ansu
Posted on September 28, 2017, 06:32 pm

I have always experienced good service from Ria. Sometimes it goes faster like 2-3 hrs, some time it takes 2-5 days depending on the exchange rate fluctuation. If the USD-INR exchange rate decreases they transfer it quickly, if the USD-INR exchange rate increases they delay in transfer. Except express transfer all carrier having the same fundamentals.

 
Harsha
Posted on September 25, 2017, 08:37 pm

I used to send money to India using Xoom which instantly credited to my Punjab National Bank. After few transactions I tried using Ria. It took a day first and after that it took 3 to 4 hours for the credit to my ICICI NRE account. I had been using Ria for the past 3 years and now if the transfer is done from 9am to 5 pm IST the money gets transferred in 15 to 20 min max. The source Checking account is debited only on the next day or a day after. I have no experience on calling a customer support for any of my transactions

 
Raghav
Posted on September 20, 2017, 08:37 am

Saw few reviews which are rated much lower than what actually i have experienced with, hence writing mine. I am using Ria from close to 3 years, other than initial one or two transactions which took some time like 3 to 5 days, rest all my transactions completed overnight. Exchange rate compared to any other company, i found Ria is competitive and reliable. This is totally on what i noticed with my transactions.

 
Anne D
Posted on September 19, 2017, 10:05 am

Bad experienced, never again!!! I should have check reviews b4 I do business with this company but too late now. My transaction was been since sept 15 and my mom can get it on the 21? It's deducted to my acct. this company is full of crap, BS!

 
Sanjana Sahay
Posted on September 18, 2017, 08:05 pm

I thought it was a good service. But now they've started charging for transactions. They're going to lose business because of this.

 
Ranjan
Posted on September 18, 2017, 07:42 am

I am using RIA since last one year. Since last 1month their service is worse. Its taking 30-40 minute to reach customer service. Every time money transfer is going on slow process. There system is saying it will take 3 business days. But actually its taking more. I will avoid any money transaction with RIA in future

 
Arjun
Posted on September 14, 2017, 11:59 am

I wish I could rate it a -5 (minus 5), but there is no such option. You can use this if you want to have your transaction remitted after a month or two. Customer service is even the worse part of it as it will take 2-3 hours to get representative on phone.

 
ronaldo
Posted on September 08, 2017, 07:26 am

it takes 6 days to send money to the Philippines... This company is a big joke. It will be my first and LAST time to use this service.

 
alberto
Posted on September 05, 2017, 10:55 am

WARNING! DON'T TRUST THIS COMPANY! DELAYS SENDING FUNDS WITHOUT ANSWERING! WARNING! DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY! this company practices false advertising. recently a transaction was made that was put on hold pending review. on its webpage the company states that funds are to be received in 5 minutes (supposedly within 15 minutes); however over 24 hours have passed and the transaction still appears as pending. When contacting customer service, they said that the transaction was pending verification of order and that it was being processed by their order verification department (a mysterious department indeed). received an email from said order verification department stating that "Your account has been put under review for security purposes." the email also stated that if one wishes to reopen the account that a photo of the account's owner needed to be sent together with a scan of an id card. after contacting the company's customer service i was able to speak to various representatives both in English and Spanish. they attended us well and informed that because it is a first time transaction that the order needed to be verified and that it will take up to 12 hours to process. i tried contacting the very order verification department and a very rude obnoxious representative by the name Justin spoke to me. this man was dishonest and not professional at all. although the account's owner was on the phone, he still required that the company calls her directly at her cell number in order to verify the account information. however as i informed him, a previous department had already verified that she was the account's owner by asking her a series of questions including her home address and name of the person receiving the funds. nonetheless this Justin closed the phone and never called us back. this somewhat dark unknown company is not like others that do same business of transferring money overseas. other companies like remitly.com and xoom.com (a paypal.com company) and paypal.com do not delay processing transfers that long. it is inexcusable and outrageous the company's long delays in transferring money. online at riamoneytransfer.com when customers are placing an order their webpage states that if you pay using a debit card (which carries a $5 fee) the transaction will take approximately 15 minutes or less. But clearly that is not true. if we had known that this company would be delaying sending funds overseas, we would surely never have performed any business with this company. personally i would have sent funds using remitly immediately! remitly is a better company that is secure and whose transactions online are done in 5 minutes or less. we opened a new account with riamoneytransfer.com only because it had advertised itself as being a good company that also provides a welcome bonus of $10 for first time customers. we have yet to see if such a bonus is awarded. they also advertise that anyone can refer persons to their company and after they have opened an account and placed the first order, the person referring them will receive $20 in the form of an amazon credit received via email code. again one has yet to see if they will fulfill such promises. i think that although the company is legal, it delays too much in processing transfers of funds. i also believe seriously that they profit in delaying orders. so if you have an emergency and need to send money fast so that someone overseas may receive it right away, YOU SHOULD NOT USE THIS COMPANY RIAMONEYTRANSFER.COM. save your headaches and avoid the troubles, instead go elsewhere. Google up "best online money transfer companies" and find out which one is right for you. Again remitly.com and xoom.com and paypal.com are better choices. With paypal you can send funds via friends and relatives and pay no fees (although such transfer is not protected by paypal's anti-fraud guarantee of up to $2000; paypal only protects purchases up to $2000 and not funds sent via friends and relatives according to company's statement). remitly has lower fees ($3.99 per transaction) than riamoneytransfer.com ($5). however i did find that riamoneytransfer.com offers more money than any of the other companies mentioned. Google up the exchange rate going for the country you are sending money to. riamoneytransfer.com will give you a higher percentage of funds but at the expense of having to wait a long time for the transaction to be finalized, and if it is ever completed. online i have read many negative reviews of customers who were forced to cancel their transactions with riamoneytransfer.com. Nevertheless, we had thought that this company riamoneytransfer.com would process funds right away within minutes (as remitly and paypal do), but we were wrong. Consequently, we had told our relative overseas to go to the bank to pick up the funds and she lost time, energy and money because the funds were not yet available. To this day September 5, 2017 funds are still not available and the order just shows as being pending. Yesterday another customer service representative of riamoneytransfer.com says that by the end of the day the funds will be available, meaning that we must wait until at least 12 hours have passed. Very stressful and inconvenient! After waiting more than 24 hours i am now forced to call the company's customer service a fourth time to see what will be done on their side. My honest advice is that people "should not do business with riamoneytransfer.com." Again this company engages in "false advertising and abuses its customers". I give this company 1 star only because they did have an attentive customer service that responds to calls. But i really wish i could give them 0 stars. Just that their process of sending funds is too tedious too stressful and too long. Seriously someone should file proper complaints against riamoneytransfer.com with the government authorities like the Attorney General's Office, the Better Business Bureau, and Department of Consumer Affairs, and local politicians council members and senators. Perhaps their offices can investigate this strange untrustworthy company called riamoneytransfer.com (A Euronet Worldwide Company). They have held our money and now we can't send to a relative overseas. Certainly, this will be the last time we do business with it ever. I hope this information was helpful to someone. Below you may some basic company information for those needing assistance: CUSTOMER SERVICE (877) 443-1399 ORDER VERIFICATION DEPARTMENT Ria Money Transfer Office (844)278-1911 NOTE: PRESENTLY i am in the process of reporting this fraud company to the proper authorities in california and other states for further action and possible penalties sanctions.

 
Simham67
Posted on September 04, 2017, 12:41 pm

These guys don't give the referral Coupons as promised. Every time you send an E-mail the answer will be the Referral link was broken and NO Customer service at all. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE BY RIA. -- Hi Lakshminl.hyd, We have received a response from our Reward department. The Reward department informed us that your friend did not qualified you for the referral. Unfortunately, your friend did not follow the link thread to complete their transfer. We apologize for any inconvenience. Best regards, Roxana G. Customer Service Advocate Office 1-877-443-1399 customerservice@riamoneytransfer.com -- This is the Standard Answer you get from them. Don't trust them by any chance and welcome trouble .

 
madhav
Posted on August 30, 2017, 04:07 pm

First the customer service is very bad. They are very rude in answering you when you call for their help. I referred my friends but as told by them I didn't receive referral voucher. When contacted they said that referral did not use my link. How ever that transaction was done in front of me and i had instructed them in signing in ,register with the referral link. Its a Fake and cheat program.

 
Pranjal Paranjape
Posted on August 24, 2017, 01:43 pm

I referred one of my friend in office but as told by them I didn't receive referral voucher. When contacted they said that referral did not use my link How ever that transaction was done in front of me. I wont recommend RIA to any one

 
Memphis83
Posted on August 21, 2017, 09:55 pm

RIA SUCKS and punishes customer because of their negligence!!! My 83 year old grandmother from Memphis,TN uses Walmart to Walmart to send me Money since I'm a college student in Ohio and the last time she tried to send me $100,I couldn'tpick it up and was told to have her call customer service where she was advised that she has been banned from ever sending money using Walmart to Walmart again, when she asked why they told she exceeded her limit, which is BS. Per your online policy you can send up to 7999.99 ever 30 days on. Rolling calendar and the max she has ever sent me is $700.00, which was a year ago and prior to that she will send me a transfer once a month varying in amounts from $40-$150., based on your "rolling calendar" the Annual amount doesn't even come close to $7,000. Not to mention she had done a transfer a week ago that was supposed to be picked up by myself in New Orleans but when I went to pick it up I was advised it had already been picked up and of all places in Memphis, TN! When I called me told her she went back to the store to let them know what had happened and after an investigation it was determined that someone had stolen paperwork from behind the counter in the money center, called Ria and changed the Pickup state from and location and even the name of the receiver. Walmart apologized for the inconvenience and refunded her money along with other customers that were affected by the crime because they had everything on camera and police even knew the culprit, however when grandma tried to use the service the following week Walmart allowed her to do the money transfer as usual in person and gave her the receipt but when I went to pick up the $150.00, I was told they could pay it out and that she needed to contact customer Service, which is when she was told the bad news I mentioned earlier in my review. I don't understand how Ria would ban the victim of clear identity theft at no fault of theirs and tell them "tough luck ma'am but that wasn't our fault either", which is not true since the criminal called your customer service number gave the ref number and was allowed to change the pick-up location to another Walmart in the same city that the original transaction took place in. Ria, when does someone send transfer money to someone in the same city!!!! Plenty of red flags but your customer service allowed the absurd changes and did it anyways and making an 83 year old suffer!!!! SHAME ON YOU????. I understand there are other services she can and has been using but it's the principal of what happened here needs to be addressed. The whole situation has upset her so badly because she has NEVER been banned from anything in her lifetime and you manage to make her feel like the criminal.

 
Karthik
Posted on August 17, 2017, 03:27 am

Very poor service.. I have been using Placid for a year and placid is good and for a change i thought i can use ria and its worst decision .. Good thing about Placid is when u create a transaction.they told me exact date and time of delivery .. In case of Ria they are not even informing what happened..they just deduct money from your.bank and you have to go to their site to check status and status is fraud too ..in my case they mentioned within 3 business day i.will get my money and i didnt get money in 3 businessbday and i dont know what happened to my transfer... Please stay away from RIA

 
Arun
Posted on August 16, 2017, 01:35 pm

They don't even respond for the complaints mailed. Refer a Friend is a fake promotion strategy.

 
Sanjana
Posted on August 13, 2017, 10:23 pm

This is the best service ever. The money always gets transferred instantaneously. Sometimes it has taken a day for me but most other times it happens within minutes. The best.

 
Antony
Posted on August 10, 2017, 08:33 pm

Never transfer with this,even though your account once verified, next transaction with ria take long time.I prefer Xoom...your translation complete deposit with in 10 minutes

 
Logesh
Posted on August 10, 2017, 03:50 pm

I cancelled the transaction on 7/30 but its been 10days and my money is not yet credited. Whenever i called customer care, there is no proper response and they are waiting for approval. I have to wait for a month or more if cancellation is not approved. Worst Worst service from RIA

 
Ravi
Posted on August 09, 2017, 09:15 am

Worst customer service.I had referred a friend and he used Ria for the first time and followed all the necessary steps.I never got the referal bonus and when i emailed them about it,they said the link that my friend has used is either broken or expired.So,basically there was no fault from me or my friend's end. I will not recommend Ria to anyone out there. There are way better services out there.

 
Alessandra
Posted on August 05, 2017, 05:51 pm

I have not received my giftcards from 2 friends refer that I have made.My friends have correctly used my reference code! One of my references is my husband and I personally sent the email and I made the transaction for him, which is obvious that I used my code. RIA Suport said they could not find, it is not in their system that I used the code. They play with us, Certanly their system is failed or they just do not want to pay the friends referral to us.Terrible company!!

 
Pradeep
Posted on July 29, 2017, 05:42 am

I am using Ria money transfer for last few months. They are doing great in transferring to my India acct fast. Didn't have any problem till now. But the rate they offer is not that great. Ria need to comeup with a better rate.

 
Tushar
Posted on July 24, 2017, 12:23 pm

Worst service even after sending all documents they didn't verify my account and telling me to use other service... was using since long but recently stopped using as I am getting better service and exchange rate from others.

 
Shine
Posted on July 13, 2017, 08:59 pm

Great. After my first few transfers, it is crediting money in few minutes( (few times just after click on sent money , i got money ) and competing transfer rate . I cannt think of using another site to transfer now.

 
Chanchal
Posted on July 04, 2017, 10:28 am

I have been using RIA for over 2 years now for sending my money. I think its the best site out there to transfer money to India. never had a problem after the first time setup. Best rates and no scam like other sites for first user and what not.

 
Limuel S
Posted on June 30, 2017, 10:25 am

Service sucks..i made a transfer and wait 3 hours to confirm it but they cancelled it. They charge me the money.and now i have to wait 3-4days to refund it.. I realy need to send the money right away and now i need to wait days. Fuck

 
Gulzar Manuja
Posted on June 23, 2017, 09:40 am

Hi, Money transfer is fast. But as far as Ria's referral program is concerned, it's pathetic. I have referred Ria Money Transfer Services to at least 5-6 friends of mine and each of them sent money to India using my referral. In order to check if they have created accounts using my referral, I sat with 3 of my friends and made sure they completed the whole process in front of me but I never got my referral bonus. I reported this issue to Ria Customer Service team but I never got any satisfactory response. I sent an email to follow-up but they did not send any response. This is really disappointing !!!! If they don't want to give referral bonus to anyone, why don't they stop offering the same....

 
Adama
Posted on June 23, 2017, 06:33 am

This service sucks every time you sent money they have to go through some type none sense security review. l can understand that for the first transaction but every transaction it is bullshit it is not money in minutes. I think l will stick with WU even though it is more expensive.

 
sri
Posted on June 20, 2017, 09:34 pm

Excellent Service. 1st transfer took time but now my money gets deposited in less than 1 min.

 
Ramesh
Posted on June 19, 2017, 02:42 pm

The best service provider till now, i have been using from last 2 years and received the funds with in 3-4 days.

 
Saravanan
Posted on June 19, 2017, 10:03 am

This is the worst transaction agent which i ever seen when compared to others. Yesterday night around 10 initiated a transfer to india and till next day noon no change in the status. during initiation it was told maximum 3 hours its will be done. But its not. when i called help desk it was told randomly will pick a transaction to so security check and that transaction will take 3 to 5 days to complete. Till i submit the transaction it was not notified this info any where in web portal. I neither use this nor suggest to anyone. It looks luke stealing the money from customer and using for their purpose.

 

Partner With CompareRemit

The world’s top remittance companies have chosen to work with CompareRemit and are already reaping the benefits. You can too. View Testimonials.
Put your brand in front of millions of active remittance users, ready to send money using your services.
Contact Us