RIA Money Transfer Reviews

Write a Review

WRITE A REVIEW
Rate it
 
Your review has been submitted !

Your review will be posted once you verify your email. Please check your email and follow the instructions. If you don't find it in your inbox, please don't forget to look for it in your promotions and spam folders.

Your review has been posted !

We thank you for taking out time to post a review on CompareRemit. We have posted your review however, the review will still be subject to compliance. We will also notify you via email, once the remittance company has responded to your review. You may want also want to check your promotions and spam folders, in case you do not find our emails in your inbox.

You are blocked

We regret to inform you that you have been blocked from posting reviews for violating our compliance policies, terms and conditions. If you think, you may have good reasons why you should be unblocked, you may use this form write to us.

USA INR

₹ 64.19

USA MXN

Mex$ 18.10

USA PHP

₱ 48.65

RIA Money Transfer Reviews

Azhar
Posted on May 28, 2017, 11:38 pm

I have used Ria money transfer several times since last year to Pakistan. They are awesome. They have the best rates and it is very convenient. The only issue I have is the limit on the amount that I can send,but I understand their reasons.

 
Bala
Posted on May 25, 2017, 08:55 am

customer service is pathetic, they don't know how to answer customers properly ..

 
Mal V
Posted on May 18, 2017, 01:30 pm

Ria money transfer to India is a good way to send money. The web(online) portal is simple and user friendly. It would be great if they good add a section "Transfer History" and also list out the exchange price sin the receipt. They are prompt and always make sure to send notification to the customers about the ongoing transaction. The prices they offer are competitive. They provide a $10 Amazon gift card for first time customer. I am expecting the same kind of service from Ria money Transfer for now and in the future too.

 
Gaurav
Posted on May 17, 2017, 03:41 pm

I referred a friend and my friend used that link to send money but I never received a referral bonus. When I asked they said your friend didn't use the link to send money. Which is completely incorrect. They simply do not want to honor the referral and save the $10. Very cheap!

 
Spurgeon
Posted on May 17, 2017, 02:48 pm

Horrible service. I tested this service by sending a small amount to my overseas workers in the Philippines. Then I sent a larger amount that was a couple of hundred dollars. They locked my account, because it was strange that I'm all of a sudden doing a large amount. I cancelled the transfer, but they still paid the recipient and refunded me back the money. I called them back because they didn't realize their own mistake. It was a hassle to get them their money back and I was late paying my workers. Never again.

 
Sushanta
Posted on May 04, 2017, 10:48 am

Didn't want to give 1 star also. I referred a friend and my friend used that link to send money but I never received a referral bonus. When I asked they said your friend didn't use the link to send money. Which is completely incorrect. Same thing happened to me when I got referred by someone and he didn't get the referral bonus.

 
Atul
Posted on May 04, 2017, 10:22 am

Excellent Service: I have been using Ria to transfer money to India and it is getting better day by day. My recent transaction was credited on the same day.....I am extremely satisfied.

 
Amish Shah
Posted on May 03, 2017, 05:48 am

Great service did my first transfer, while the amount was getting debited from my Checking account in USA at the same time I received the credit in my India account.

 
Raj Al
Posted on April 30, 2017, 03:48 pm

I did first small transfer money with in March 2017 and it did go fine they did verified my account with two ACH small transfer before that. Next I did two small transfer and those again did go fine. When I scheduled the next transfer the Ria system get confused or forget that it has done a verification earlier using the two test deposits and also it has made 3 successful transfers. It send me an email shown below Order Verification orderverification riafinancial.com Your account has been put under review for security purposes. To reopen your account please follow these FOUR steps Step 1. Take a picture of whatever payment type(s) you plan on using on our site . Credit debit card Take a picture of the front and backside of the card being used. You may cover the first twelve digits of the card and cover the three digit CVV code. The last four digits expiration date and name on the card must be visible and the back of the card MUST BE SIGNED . . Bank account Take a picture of your most recent bank statement for the bank account you are using. Your name address and at least the last four digits of the account number must be visible. Step 2. Take a picture of an additional secondary proof of residency document (example utility bill cable bill telephone bill etc.). Please make sure this document is recent. Step 3. Email the above document images from Steps 1 2 to orderverification riafinancial.com. Please make sure all the documents you provide are actual photos of the documents taken with a smart phone or digital camera scanned copies of the documents will not be accepted. The step below is done separately Step 4. Take a picture of a valid legal ID (driver's license passport etc.) and new picture of yourself then click the link below and follow the directions for uploading the pictures of your ID and photo of yourself to the verification site https riamoneytransfer .netverify .com v2?authorizationToken=xyz xyzabcd locale=en Please make sure you take a new photo of yourself from today to upload with your ID and make sure the ID your are using is valid. If you are using a Driver's license our system is going to ask you for the front and back of the identification. Once you have completed these four easy steps our team will review the documentation and respond via email. Please be aware this process can take a maximum of 24hrs to be completed. If you have any questions please call (844) 278 1911. (Monday Friday 8 00am 5 00pm MST) We apologize for any inconvenience and we thank you for choosing Ria. Sincerely ORDER VERIFICATION DEPARTMENT Ria Money Transfer Ria don't know that 1. sending SENSITIVE information in email is not secure www elie net blog security how email in transit can be intercepted using dns hijacking or http its ucsc edu security internet.html 2. How did they allow first 3 transactions 3. If Ria wants it could use again the deposit verification but just like its place in the transfer industry ( 3rd) it chose a 3rd world method. I have never seen a financial institution asking for recent photograph . 4. Ria did not guarantee that it will keep the information private and will keep it secure. The information via email can be intercepted during transmission request to upload on https site may be ok but Ria has to understand that the customer base (India transfer) is 5 10 times wealthy than their other Latino customer base [ sorry saying this as Ria boasts its 3rd place]. So Ria need to understand that these new customer want privacy and do not want to be target of identity theft. 5. The items requested are already verified when Ria did first 3 transactions. Bank was verified by small deposits. The driver licence was entered when online profile was created. 6. Ria can confirm the address by asking utility bill credit card etc or Best is that it send a paper mail with unique code that if the person enter on its site then it is the person. 7. Before asking Copy of passport Driver license it should guarantee that the copy will be destroyed after review and its employees will not sell that information. 8. But in all it is too much hassle so I will send this by email and if they want to keep me customer I can stay bu there are other institutions also.

 
CK
Posted on April 26, 2017, 02:38 pm

They are worst .Dont do any transfer.

 
Mohan
Posted on April 26, 2017, 09:59 am

Nice and awesome service by RIA

 
Sagar Dhavali
Posted on April 20, 2017, 07:34 am

BEWARE!! 1. Ria deducts money in a day but do not deposit until it has been 5 days! They hold your valuable money with them and I don't know what do they do with it. 2. The website says 1-3 business days but when called up customer service agent, he said 5 days! Please don't fall for the false promises. 3. Customer agent do not answer you properly. He keeps on saying "The policy says 5 days". He doesn't even bothered to say anything else. If you want to go for best service, then go for Placid Express. They provide the best service of all. Hope you do not make a bad decision to go with Ria!

 
Jim W
Posted on April 19, 2017, 10:08 am

RIAMoneyTransfer.com: Not quite there yet I live in NY and my wife and I were trying to send money to the Dominican Republic which we already do monthly via Xoom.com but lately their fees (as well as USD to DOP exchange rate) are just not competitive. Like any company that's grown enough and captured ample marketshare, service and value go down. So we figured we'd give Riamoneytransfer.com a try. In short, you get what you pay for (or don't pay for in the case of these smaller players like Ria) and in our case we were never able to complete even our first transfer. Here's a summary; 1. The whole signup, initial bank verification process took four days. Waaaayyy too long. 2. Once we had verified our bank account using Ria's verification process (two micro deposits to our bank account), our first transfer failed. We received an email from their security dept. asking we call them. 3. OK, we called and the young man in Ria's security department asked all the usual questions to identify us. Then started asking what we were going to use the money for and when was the last time we traveled etc. Another poster mentioned it seemed really invasive and personal and I agree. Especially, "What are you going to use the money for?" HELLO? Of course there's all the US anti-money laundering laws now in effect but with other transfer services it was always about verifying the sender and recipients are legitimate (e.g., the Identity of person, whether they were a US Citizen/legal resident, whether they were the owners of the bank accounts etc.), not what you were going to spend your money on. The conversation had the feel of the guy we were talking to making it up as he went along. 4. The representative wasn't even aware of their own bank verification process using the two micro deposits. I tried to explain that they already verified my bank account but it was no use, he just didn't get it. Maybe a trainee or someone new but if so, that alone is telling about their internal processes that they would let loose someone who wasn't fully versed on their own internal processed. 5. In the end, he said I could send him a copy of my photo ID, passport with stamp of the last time I traveled to the Dominican Republic (not sure how this verifies a bank account-especially for people who don't travel), picture of my first-born, a bunch of other stuff etc! At this point I had serious concerns about Ria from this conversation as well as from other reviews on the internet that essentially said the same thing. Alternately, he said I could try to find a Ria storefront and bring in cash. He said if I brought cash into one of their physical locations he said it wouldn't be a problem. While I think that's a nice convenience, I'm not going to travel to Washington Heights, NY NY to visit one of their storefronts and then go walking with a bunch of cash etc. so I declined and will probably just stay with Xoom.com for now. ***The takeaways....? **** While Ria may offer slightly lower rate than Xoom there's a reason for it. They're not on the same playing field yet. Service-wise and sophistication of their transfer process seems to lag the other players such as Xoom or Western Union by a considerable margin. Everything I experience indicated the transfer would take [at best], days. Xoom (and I assume, WU) does it in minutes. There's clearly a big difference in the infrastructure Ria has in place vs.the other guys which probably accounts for the lower rates (it makes sense, lower infrastructure/overhead costs = lower rates). In the end, I don't have enough trust in Ria from the experience to make the switch. They're still trying to find their footing and the whole experience made me feel like so many decisions are done ad hoc and the processes still manual. Once they get themselves established and their processes smoother, maybe, but not today. BTW, while I mentioned Western Union in this post, I can't really vouch for their service as I've never used them. Their rates are WAY higher however as they've been around forever I assume they've got things down too. Hope this review helps.

 
Sai Sankar Mohanty
Posted on April 18, 2017, 03:28 pm

This is the worst ever money transfer service i have tried so far. I transferred few money first time through Ria on 4/11 . Today is 4/18. It is still "In Process" , however they deducted the money from my account on the next day i did the transaction but even after 7 days it is showing still "In Process" . When i tried to call their customer service , i have been waiting since last 30 minutes .Don't ever try it

 
Yaya
Posted on April 12, 2017, 04:04 am

I used Ria for the first time and it went very food. Transfered money monday evening Tuesday tracking showed deposit to destination account Wednesday money available in destination account So far so good

 
Vineet
Posted on April 10, 2017, 11:47 am

Why are they still existing ???? By now these guys should have been out of business , had they not lured first timers and fooled them of the $ 10 or $20 rewards . Guys please stay away from transferring your money through RIA or you will have a suffer a hell of an experience . You can TRUST WESTERN UNION or BANK OR BARODA for once but nt these guys . follow ups followups and just follow ups and you will never receive your rewards , long holds minimum of 30 mins any day anytime no matter what . The time taken for your money to reach to your bank account is also atleast 60% slower than any other TOM , DICK and HARRY available in the market . STAY AWAY is all i can say - one word .

 
Pavan
Posted on April 09, 2017, 07:02 am

Worst of the worst service.Transfers will take few mins for sometime and nearly a week sometimes... Don't get cheated by referral offer. I referred my friend 2 months back. till now i did not receive amazon gift card. When i called them, they said "we have one person only in rewards department, he has to take every request, so you will get as per your queue". Not at all maintaining good relationship with customers. i am using Remitly & Placid for last one year, i never faced such type of issues.

 
Deependra
Posted on April 07, 2017, 08:44 am

I am using remittance services from Ria since 2 years and I never found any issue with them accept an initial transaction because during my 1st transaction it took more than the expected time due to the account verification etc. but onwards, I never had any problem with them. Now most of the time my account is getting in credited in less than 24 hours and I am fine with that. Thanks to Ria.

 
Matt
Posted on April 03, 2017, 03:25 pm

Terrible service. Account could not automatically verify. When I called and asked for another option, they were rude and unhelpful. I was able to send a lower $ amount, but when I tried to send a second transfer (within the rules they laid out online), it was denied. I called the number provided and was told they were shutting down the account. No real reason why except they don't send money for 'business'. Not worth the aggrevation.

 
Ismael
Posted on March 28, 2017, 02:00 pm

Terrible experience! The 1st time I registered for the site my information was not saved; I had to re-register. The process of sending money went OK, I received a confirmation e-mail with a confirmation number and PIN. I sent the information to the person receiving the funds in Mexico who went to a local WalMart. Once she arrived they told her no account showed on record. I called Ria "customer service" which was a nightmare. Long hold time, was disconnected 3 times; kept getting transferred to people completely incompetent which were not help at all. The person I sent fund to receive had to make 2 trips in order to get her funds. The entire experience was terrible, their staff is unprofessional, and poorly trained. I recommend you try another service to wire money; DO NOT use Ria.

 
mage
Posted on March 27, 2017, 02:31 pm

Money transfer went fine. But they have not sent me welcome bonus till now. Its been 3 weeks since my transaction is completed. The customer service is not friendly and they just keep telling me to wait. I do not recommend Ria

 
Suresh
Posted on March 16, 2017, 11:30 am

I really frustrated with RIa services, for the first time we are transferring money to an account , it will take 3-5 days this is fine. but what for all other transactions to same account they take min 5 days? what the hell is this?? I really frustrated, I have asked them 4 times for 4 transaction that , why it is so late. They will respond only after money is credited to our accounts that too after 5 days. I will never recommend to my friends.

 
Sameer
Posted on March 15, 2017, 10:17 am

I hate Ria service and it has worst customer service . There is no consistency in transaction durations. some times they will credit to Indian account in few hours and some time they will take more than 5 days for the same account and for the same customer. They won't maintain good relationship with existing customers.

 
Mital
Posted on March 14, 2017, 06:20 am

Suck Service, I have Initiated one transaction on March 3rd. Till March 9th It was displaying only status "Sent to Agent". I kept trying following with them every day. then I got update from them money has hit back from exchange with no reason. I had to cancel the transaction to get my money back.

 
Abhishek
Posted on March 10, 2017, 02:45 pm

Customer service is so pathetic. Tried using Ria twice. Both times they cancelled it without any reason and they're not replying back to emails also.

 
Jay
Posted on March 10, 2017, 01:22 pm

Customer Service Sucks, They are open short hours and once you get a hold of them they sounds like rushing you all the time. Request for transaction saying 2 day and its more than a week now. no response from them. I called them and they are saying we cannot open your identification and i sent them few times even mention if they are having issue notify me right away but nada. I re-scan my ID and re-submitted my forms hopefully they process it this time.

 
Liz
Posted on March 10, 2017, 10:40 am

Terrible customer service. Horrible service in general. Trying to set up the account on line was a nightmare. It took an hour to get through to customer service. Agents had zero knowledge and were extremely rude. Finally thought I had completed a transaction but it was cancelled without my knowledge. I did not even receive an email or a courtesy call, Wish I could rate it as a minus 10. Keep clear of this company.

 
Vivek
Posted on March 08, 2017, 01:54 pm

Awesome service, first transfer took few days because of verification from there on, transfers take less than one day. I get the best combination of speed of transfer + exchange rate.

 
Sujith Surendran
Posted on February 28, 2017, 07:53 pm

It's a scam when these guys say there is a $20 amazon gift card for referring a friend. I have reviewed this information with couple of friends who have not received it and also other reviews with the same issue. You can't trust this company and hence I wouldn't mind giving a zero star but unfortunately that's not an option. I would not recommend this company as there are other companies which give better rate and have clearly outlined their policy and is not a scam like this company.

 
Claudia Delgado
Posted on February 22, 2017, 02:30 pm

After using Xoom for more than a year I decided to check the rates at Ria and they looked much better, so I decided to open an account with them and use their services, what normally takes 1 hour to be transfer by using Xoom is taking already 6 days since they debited my bank account and still the money does not reach the destination. Pesimo Servicio! Estafadores.

 
Mohan
Posted on February 22, 2017, 01:38 pm

Very poor Customer support and they can't provide valid information. Be careful because they can hold your money for a very long time and will not send it

 
Bhanu Makineni
Posted on February 20, 2017, 06:03 pm

Excellent service...No words to say..This is my first transfer..usually everyone will take minimum 3-4 days as they need to perform the verification before get into deposit the money..but RIA done the job very well and the money was transferred in an hour even though it is my first transfer...Good job..keep it up and i would strongly recommend to use this channel to send the money.

 
Rajbharath
Posted on February 20, 2017, 01:31 pm

Worst Customer service. I referred a friend for the 10$ gift card. They did not honor it by saying my friend never used the referral link to join while she actually used the link before me to join and transfer money. Will never recommend their gift card referrals to anyone

 
Atul
Posted on February 20, 2017, 10:34 am

They don't honor reward programs. Even after following up for 10 days customer service guys dany know when the rewards will come in? DON'T JOIN RIA

 
Kiran
Posted on February 16, 2017, 09:52 pm

Awesome Service???????? No words to explain... very good rate and fast transfer service! FYI>> first transfer may take approx 4 to 5 days as it needs bank verification .. as of today ria is standing first with best rate and fast service for free of service for any amount transfer.. I strongly recommend this service ????????????????????

 
Roy V
Posted on February 16, 2017, 12:14 pm

Please don't get fooled . It took initially 1 day for the some transaction after the first transfer and for a recent transaction it's been 6 days and still in transit and no response . Called customer care and they are saying the same what is there in the website . No help ... No Fast tracking ... Save your time and Save Money

 
Raju
Posted on February 16, 2017, 09:53 am

Its very worst service that i ever experienced. Website was showing very attractive rate 1USD = 68.00 INR with a $10 amazon coupon and 3 days transfer period. I just got tempted to try one transaction. I initiated transaction on Jan 13th 2017. Received message : "The money has arrived in your recipient's country" on Jan 20th. Received another message on 22nd that they could not transfer because of invalid account i provided. I called on Customer service to confirm what was incorrect account number i provided. Neither he was saying it nor i could check it online on their website. He said the he would call me back after checking with his supervisor about re-sending the money to the correct account, which is never happened. i called on the next day Jan 24th also, was hearing similar story from the other side. I felt like i am dealing with irresponsible persons. immediately i requested for refund back into my account. I got the funds back after 5 working days on Jan29th. As per reviews, i see that only one in 4 is good. Remaining 3 ppl are ending with disappointment. I suggest ppl not to fall for their attractive rate or amazon coupon.

 
Jhansi
Posted on February 10, 2017, 10:20 am

Very much impressed with the Service. First transaction took 2-3 days time. Rest all are fast, 2-3 hours.

 
Varun
Posted on February 09, 2017, 06:44 am

Don't use RIA Money Transfer for referral. They don't intend to honor it. I referred my friend. He signed up after my referral only and they come back saying "our Rewards Department had determined the link was broken or ended. That is why the Rewards Department has determined no link was found for the share". Their system generates the email with link. Why am I being denied my referral amount ?

 
Rahul
Posted on February 08, 2017, 11:57 am

I'm not impressed, very slow service. Website says 3 days but, it takes minimum 6-7 days for them to remit money. They never pay referral rewards even after multiple follow ups. Customer care is never reachable. There are various better services providers available in the market compare to RIA.

 
Kshitij V
Posted on January 27, 2017, 01:48 pm

Best exchange rates. First transfer took 2-3 days. But after that its transferred within 24 hrs.

 
NARESH BABU Badisa
Posted on January 25, 2017, 09:46 am

Very worst service.Minimum they do require 7-10 days to sent the amount to recipient.Customer care also very impolite.

 
GS
Posted on January 20, 2017, 07:48 pm

!!!! Ridicules Service, My order was placed on 13th and committed time line was 5 days, Though Im first time user Now the process showing I will get on 01/23 but that is also not a confirmed one. Highly dissatisfied on the timelines..

 
Samir Mehta
Posted on January 17, 2017, 11:11 am

Very Slow. I initiated my transaction on 9th January 2017 and so far the money is not deposited to recipient's account.

 
sekhar
Posted on January 17, 2017, 06:02 am

Ria is becoming worst service, first transaction will transfer with in a day, but if you do 2nd or 3rd it will take 7 days or more to get your money to the account. I suggest not to use Ria for more than 1 transaction for a month.

 
Ravi
Posted on January 12, 2017, 08:09 pm

Junk!!! It said transfer in minutes and I transferred money yesterday morning and the money did not arrive yet. I used Xoom 5 hours after Ria and Xoom credited my money yesterday evening itself. Don't fall for those additional 20-30 paise that theses guys give.

 
Mohan
Posted on January 12, 2017, 07:48 am

This is the worst money transfer service of all,Very poor Customer support. Money will not deposit on time as specified on website It will very long time to transfer money.

 
Mohan
Posted on January 11, 2017, 08:31 am

I was making few transactions Thorough Ria from past couple of Months with some amount of money to India and i did not face issues and moeny used to transfer on time. But recent Transactions are not processingg on time as commited [1- 3 busniess days]but its Taking 7-10 busniess days. I wanted to try a new service and I am terribly disappointed with their service. Please avoid their service and will never dare to try again

 
Sunil
Posted on January 09, 2017, 01:01 pm

best services and rates. I'm using it for an year and no issues so far. its getting better and better. now it credits the money to my India account next day morning.

 
Karthik N
Posted on January 04, 2017, 09:46 am

Ria has one of the most poor customer service. I had referred my friends for Ria and they followed the link and registered and then completed successful transaction. But all I got is nothing. They simply said your friend didn't follow the referral link. Even on sending multiple emails, got a standard default text reply from them. It happened with 3 referral I had did so far. So don't just get fooled by their referral bonus.